We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, modern, but very compact and noisey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saigon Sports 3 Hotel
Ranked #208 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Immaculate, modern, but very compact and noisey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Hi,
Just stayed 3 days at this hotel and it was a good stay.

Got hotel airport pick up which went smoothly. Check in was quick and easy.

The room was immaculate and modern, but very small. The twin beds covered the wardrobe, so you had to move the bed to open the door.

There was simply too much furniture in such a small space, (3 large chairs and 2 tables) for a room for 2 people?

Bathroom immaculate and new, except the shower curtain was 2 feet not wide enough and 3 inches not long enough, so water went every where.

Staff were helpful, except spoke no English.

Breakfast was a good selection.

Wi-fi internet was very fast and reliable.

When we were there people were turning up, and were being sent to Sports 1 and 5, (which are not as new and modern) and they were really unhappy.

I do wonder if the 2 really bad reviews of this hotel was because they were actually sent to the wrong hotel by the staff as they had overbooked number 3, which seems to be quite a common occurrence in Vietnam, and they do try to trick you into the wrong hotel.

So check carefully which hotel you have actually been put in.

At $38 this was the most expensive hotel we had stayed in, and the smallest space (tripping over our suitcases every morning) so i think value wasn't fantastic.

Location great, in heart of the back packers streets / cafes / bars.

Though this made the hotel very noisey, asked for room at back of hotel, which we got, this overlooked a building site instead...

Overall lots of little things that could have been improved easily.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    83
    44
    20
    11
See reviews for
34
52
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

Good overall hotel. The staff tried to move us to another Saigon hotel nearby to accommodate a bigger group, but in the end let us stay after we stood our ground

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friedbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

We read a lot of reviews for this place and thought it sounded great. However we were soon disappointed and checked out early finding a much better place at the same price.

We organised a pick up with the hotel at 15USD and then made a friend at the airport and so said they could share with us. However the hotel rang me before leaving the airport and said we would have to pay an extra 5USD for this person (even though the car had empty seats!).
On arrival we checked into our room and it was a twin but should be a double. They said they would move us but we were not impressed with this room. The aircon did not work at all, the sink had ants in it when we arrived, there was a funny smell, the cold water did not always work.. and generally we were not impressed and could not wait to leave. We went for breakfast (free) in the morning at 9.15 and it was a joke, there was no hot cabinet so everything was cold (including the chips/eggs/rice etc) and no room to sit. We had a piece of fruit and escaped quickly!

We are not quite sure how this hotel has got such good reviews on hostel bookers etc. Is there fraud going on? Having travelled for 6 months in hostels we know what we should get for our money and this was not it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

We loved stating at Saigon Sports 3 Hotel and would definitely go back there. Wonderful service of Saigon Sports 3 Hotel. The level of friendliness, interest, helpfulness and exceptional service makes it a great choice. Staff care about your safety and always remind you to hold your bag close to you and advise on taxis etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hero121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

We arrived late on the first night and were put into the downstairs room. It had no air conditioning, no bar fridge and peeling paint on the walls.

The next day we requested a room change, the other room was nicer however the air conditioning would not make the room cool enough. The cable TV would occasionally cut off for a while and then turn off.

The location of the hotel is great however, and very close to the backpacker/party district.

Another concern of ours was that this hotel was very overpriced, we paid 30$US per night, and expected a much more furnished hotel. The rooms are outdated and our air conditioning also leaked. Overall we were very unhappy with our room and this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lgaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

The best hotel experience!!
Arrived after a long trip , and was welcomed like kings. The service is simply the best, rooms very clean, and location great.
Buffet Breakfast was really nice, you can choose between different ala carte items, so for sure one will find someting to enjoy.
If going to Ho Chi Minh highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piti121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

A me who has been travelling for the last 3 years... this was truly a remarkable experience, the staff at the hotel ensure every bit of detail was well attended to, the tours booked through them was worth every penny......

I have stayed at other hotels in the past in Vietnam during my earlier trips...but nothing compares as being value ..............

Kudos guys

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorenson788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Kim Hotel
Kim Hotel
#129 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hong Vina Hotel
Hong Vina Hotel
#147 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dinh Phat Hotel
Dinh Phat Hotel
#174 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Silverland Yen Hotel
Silverland Yen Hotel
#75 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#153 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gia Vien Hotel
Gia Vien Hotel
#29 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Sports 3 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Sports 3 Hotel

Property: Saigon Sports 3 Hotel
Address: 175 / 21 Pham Ngu Lao Str,Pham Ngu Lao Ward | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 848, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saigon Sports 3 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saigon Hotel Sports 3 belong of Sports Hotel Group is located in the Ho Chi Minh city Centre. There many tourist attractives nearby such as: Ben Thanh Market, Sai gon River, Church, Post office, Bank(ATMs), booking office, bars and coffee shop,... Saigon Hotel Sports 3 has 28 spacious, Clean rooms with Full Facilities: Air-conditioner, Minibar refrigerator, IDD telephone, Free ADSL cable/Wi-fi internet in room, Electronic safety box in room, Electronic key Security system, Hairdryer/Slippers. Bathroom with shower/bath tub and hot-water 24/24. Elevator, Cable TV with many Chanels: TV5, HBO, Star Sports, Star Movie, ESPN, CNN,..Daily changed bed sheet, towel, shower gel,...Tour desk/Currency Exchange, Same day Laundry service, Major credit cards accepted: VISA, MASTER, JCB Express check-in/check-out,Airport transfer and pickup service/Car rental service,Air ticket booking & reconfirmation 24 hours room service.We accept payment by VND, USD,EURO, Visa Card, Master Card, JCB Card,… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saigon Sports 3 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing