We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best miso soup”
Review of Kasai

Kasai
Ranked #2,082 of 3,353 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best miso soup”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We had heard that we could get very good Japanese food in HCMC and Kasai did not disappoint! Don't be fooled by the ambience as it tends to be a little dingy. The miso soup is the best I've tasted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angelinecheah81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“standards have been maintained”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I only intended to have some grilled fish, but when I saw how fresh the sashimi was, I couldn't resist ordering a portion of Aji, as well as a portion of sea bass..didn't regret it at all!

Service is always superb

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dato' Ainuddin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“very consistent..excellent service”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I've yet to be disappointed dining here: very fresh Aji, which I had as sashimi as well as shioyaki..generous wakame salad, which was perfectly seasoned..sashimi wasn't sliced as generously as usual, but I'm a greedy fella! ocha was stronger than usual, which I preferred..freshly grated wasabi was much appreciated..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dato' Ainuddin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“excellent sashimi and sushi, fresh wasabi..”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I eat here regularly, and was happy to bring some friends for dinner: sashimi was very fresh, very generously sliced, the rice in the sushi was perfectly seasoned and well assembled..I was particularly pleased that they had fresh wasabi that evening as they'd run out a fortnight earlier..the service was hilarious, our waitress had clearly overdosed on sugar! miso shiru was good..all in all a very satisfactory meal

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dato' Ainuddin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kasai also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Kasai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing