We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparkling”

Nha Hang San Vuon Son Ha (SH Garden)
Ranked #1,302 of 3,246 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
HCMC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sparkling”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We were introduced this restaurant by the manager of our hotel. We booked once landed and had a really lovely evening at the SH. In general, that's absolutely amazing to be here.
Its all open air and the tables at the front have a glass barrier so you can sit and watch the world around you. HCMC was very nice at night with a lot of sparkling lights. We loved very interesting old elevator that took us up/down from the street.
We would go back again without a doubt.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Local Food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Came across this place while walking around and decided to book a table for that night.
We where not disappointed at all. Fantastic choice of food, great service by local people who went out of there way to make our night special. We would go back again without a doubt.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DnBzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ideally situated to watch the Xmas celebrations!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We happened to spend Xmas in Saigon and found out about this restaurant on the flight there. We booked once landed and had a really lovely evening at the SH. It's all open, on a terrace atop a building facing the Rex Hotel and overlooking the plaza. You get there thanks to a lovely old fashioned lift, which bode well for the evening. The choice is almost overwhelming with no less than 200 different dishes on offer, from the 3 main regions of Vietnam. Vietnamese fare only, but they have some decent international wines also. Our starter was quite a portion but main courses are simply a little bit larger than what you would get in Europe but don't forget that you will add rice to that. Prices are fair and the quality was good. Overall, a good experience and a restaurant we would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Swisscheese_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice new central location”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Situated on the rooftop of the building at the corner of Nguyen Hue and Le Loi, SH garden has a prime location. The cute antique lift that takes you up to the restaurant adds to the experience. The food is traditional Vietnamese, the dishes are quite pricey (compared to the old location) but are meant to be eaten in a communal manner. The menu looked delicious (provided in photos on an iPad) and so we got over excited and ended up ordering way too much.

The serve beer and wine (by the bottle at decent prices) and gin. No other spirits are available. Its all open air (with roof) and the tables at the front have a glass barrier so you can sit and watch the world go buy around the Mayor's house. We were a party of 20 and they provided us ample space and it was really relaxing and comfortable.

I would say it is great for a special occasion or group dinner every now and then.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice views of city hall with authentic Vietnamese food”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Over 200 dishes are served here. The tofu is homemade and absolutely delicious. The staff are friendly and even escort you to the top floor in a charming old elevator. I love old buildings in Saigon that are charming inside and this is one of them, right smack in the middle of the city with beautiful views. Some of the seats are a bit low, but that did not bother us, I suggest coming here at night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Attila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nha Hang San Vuon Son Ha (SH Garden) also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Nha Hang San Vuon Son Ha (SH Garden)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing