We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good but Very expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarine Restaurant Saigon

Mandarine Restaurant Saigon
Ranked #139 of 3,104 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Mandarine Restaurant is an old time favorite of companies entertaining guests as well as travelers visiting Ho Chi Minh City. It's a fine dining restaurant serving Vietnamese cuisine tailored for non-Vietnamese nationals. What is unique is that the dipping sauces are homemade mostly from beans which give flavor acceptable to foreigners. The food is created with a story itself of Vietnam being a destination which can be reflected in the traditional decorations served together on the plates. Mandarine is known for its taste and beauty on the dish.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Good but Very expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

chose this restaurant to te=reat our friends to a 20th anniversary meal and it did not let us down. The restuarant is really beautiful and the staff were faultless - attentive but ot over the top. They suggested one of the set menus and the food was spot on - paticularly the lobster. Be warned wine is v expensive and the final bill will not be cheap so give it a misss if you are on a budget. However, if you have a special occassion to celelbrate then this is a great place

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    101
    28
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Saigon
Level Contributor
200 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Top end”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very upmarket and slightly too pompous, still I really enjoyed the dinner. An impressive wine list can skyrocket your bill but if you are planning a visit there I am sure it's not just because you are hungry.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BlitzSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pubordee K, General Manager at Mandarine Restaurant Saigon, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valuable customer,

Thank you very much for your visiting to our Hoi An restaurant and also your valuable reviews to our restaurant on your point of view,

We would love to serve you again soon with the commitment on our high quality products and services consistency with pay attention on your expectation details by our service staff's personal touch, We promise

Hospitality Regards,
PK.Ohm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not as good as it claims to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This restaurant fell short in many ways, service, lack of food options on the menu and poor service does not make this restaurant one of my favorites. I will not go back when I visit HCM. This restaurant is overpriced and not a good value for the money. They did not have salad I wanted, messed up on dessert order and just missed the mark over all. Pretty place, but not great service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pubordee K, General Manager at Mandarine Restaurant Saigon, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Elizabeth S.
Thank you for your review for our Mandarine restaurant, We will consider what we can do to improve it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Enjoy a meal in HCM City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This restaurant is tucked away on a side street and was recommneded to us by our guide or we would have never known about it. The Hotel staff had not heard of it.
Very good food, great service and was within walking distance to the Sofitel Hotel.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MrDCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Luxery after backpacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had some mony left before gooing home from our 14 days eating most in streets kitchens. And this was the place for us - Lobsters, white wine and some real Vietnamese disches. And fine and helpfull service. A lovly night before going back to hotel Rex and home to Denmark the next day. Sory to tell you it is some years ago but on the internet it looks like then.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogens-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarine Restaurant Saigon also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Mandarine Restaurant Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing