We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok ok Indian food place”
Review of Ashoka

Ashoka
Ranked #904 of 3,710 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ashoka has 2 locations :Ashoka I :Ashoka I is located at an intersection of Le Thanh Ton and Thai Van Lung Street, across to PHO 2000Ashoka II :33,Tong Huu Dinh (Street 53),Thao Dien,An Phu,Dist 2,HCM City
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Went in July, 2012.....

There is some lottery and got 10% discount. Food was ok. Nothing to write a lot about.
Roti was not good. Aloo gobi was ok. Pander was not good.

Not value for money place

Thank Rohitkilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok S, Manager at Ashoka, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2017

Dear Rohitkilam

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate all customers providing us with good and bad feedback so we know what needs to be adjusted for better customer service.

Kind regards
Ashoka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 102 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

Was in HCM recently and wanted to try some authentic INDIAN food. Asked few friends and most of them directed me to ASHOKA in Dist 1.

Ambience: is OK with soft light and tables placed a good distance from each other, giving you some privacy.

FOOD: believe me, this is one of the BEST Indian food I had outside India. Infact, I can say that not many restaurants in India too can match the quality of food which I got here. I had ordered for Mutton Rogan Josh, Garlic NAN, Chicken Tikka and plain rice, Papadam.
Chicken tikka was soft and succulent, Mutton Rogan Josh was out of the world, GArlic Nan seems to be their speciality.

Service is quick. Need not wait for a long time.

Do not forget to ask for discount as they offer anything between 10 - 30% on week days.

I am not sure, but they do offer Home Delivery too.
Keep it up guys!!

3  Thank Rajiv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok S, Manager at Ashoka, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2017

Dear Rajiv

Thank you for sharing your nice review about Ashoka. It is always very rewarding when our guests take the time to tell us about their experience specially when it is a good one. We hope that you are able to visit us at Ashoka again.

Kind Regards,
Ashoka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is one of the oldest restaurant in HCMC for Indian food and has branches too.. the place is very nice and staff is friendly. The food is excellent and services are good. The only factor is this place is bit costly then others but its worth paying the same particularly for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank GoldieMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok S, Manager at Ashoka, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2017

Dear GoldieMumbai

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our Restaurant, your comments are very much valued and appreciated. We hope you continue to visit us here at Ashoka.

Kind regards
Ashoka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Food was excellent and was the service had a homely feeling all the dishes were good

3  Thank Arshad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok S, Manager at Ashoka, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2017

Dear Arshad

Thank you for your kind comments . We do hope you have the chance to stop by Ashoka again we appeciate your support.

Kind regards
Ashoka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

it was okay....not that exclusive or somehting....wide range of indian food are there...i mean sort of okay

Thank tanakaislam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok S, Manager at Ashoka, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2017

Dear Tana

Thank you for sharing your review about Ashoka on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any feedback from our customers to help make Ashoka better.

Kind Regards,
Ashoka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashoka also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ashoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing