We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great owners”
Review of Ly Loan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ly Loan
Ranked #56 of 1,001 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Ly Loan guesthouse is down one of the many alleyways housing lots of guesthouses where the open tour buses drop you off.

The location is great and it is easily within walking distance of all the central sights in the city. There are also lots of touristy and some local restaurants very nearby.

The description on the website that I booked through said that i'd be getting a double room with balcony. What I actually got was a basic reasonably clean ensuite twin room with no sign of a balcony.

Although the room was basic and very dated with old damp patches on the wall, strange picture tilling in the bathroom including a cartoon and a nude lady and only one working power point my stay was made lovely by the great owner. She was friendly and very helpful and was not pushy with selling tours etc.

A great base for a couple of nights in saigon.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyDays32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 92 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

Very clean room, fast Wi-Fi connection, TV satellite, fridge, good air con, huge bathtub, hot water, very large room for Saigon... We usually do not write reviews, but this guest house is fantastic. Huah and her family are really hospitable, we felt very welcomed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The roof top room # 5 is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zibeline_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We initially booked our first night through hostels.com and arrived to our booked room no problem. It didn't take long for them to hand us tour brochures and we stayed a couple more nights, paying daily for our room. Every day we were asked where we are going and what we were doing-maybe just being polite? We attempted to pay for three nights at once and we were told to come down each morning to check for availability due to online bookings. On the third night we were told they had no room the following night. I guess if we would have used the Internet in the lobby we could have booked our room as either online bookings take priority overall, or we weren't making them enough money on tours. She took us to her friends guesthouse the next morning where we had bedbugs. Oh and they have two yappy dogs so try to stay on a high floor.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bunnysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Huah and her family at Ly Loan Guest house are outdtanding!
This was our first stay at HCMC and from our arrival to our departure we were made feel very welcome. The room was spotless, fairly quiet and the a/c worked very well. Huah ensured we weren't "ripped off" so to speak with taxis and tours etc. This was not just a place to sleep because admittedly after a few nights felt like a home.
Ly Loan was a little hard to find but was well worth the 10 minutes we got lost.
We can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casper9030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Good location, nice clean large room, very nice and helpful owner and staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oznam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Highly recomend the roof top room. Huah the owner will help you get the "right" price for everything taxi, food etc. not sure how to describe this family, comrades or as she says family. very clean, fresh towels. loved our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niffy_donaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

This guesthouse is located in the tourist center of HCMC. Nevertheless it doesn't look like being there since it's a very quiet place. Staff is very very friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and clean with air-con, wi-fi and hot water. The only problem is that it has the prices of HCMC.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepitopulpito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#56 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kien Hotel
Kien Hotel
#36 of 1,001 in Ho Chi Minh City
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Leaf Hotel
Banana Leaf Hotel
#60 of 1,001 in Ho Chi Minh City
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SAIGON B&B HOSTEL
SAIGON B&B HOSTEL
#16 of 1,001 in Ho Chi Minh City
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town House 373 Saigon
Town House 373 Saigon
#28 of 763 in Ho Chi Minh City
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#5 of 1,001 in Ho Chi Minh City
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ly Loan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ly Loan

Address: 241/11/2 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 1,001 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $14 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ly Loan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ly Loan Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing