We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, but some flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Universe Central Hotel
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Spacious, charmy, and nicely decorated rooms (we booked the deluxe rooms).. BUT .. If you want a nice nights sleep.. well .. forget it.. at 6am everyday the cleaning ladies are coming, and they are not quiet.. Furthermore, as someone already stated.. you can hear people moving furniture, dropping money on the floor or talking as clearly as it would be your room. I am not a light sleeper, but woke up several times by other people in the apartment above. We wanted to get up early during our trip, but 6am is generally to early for personell to start shouting to eachother, especially with these thin walls.

Breakfast was awesome first 3 days (More like a lunch with noodle soups, spring rolls, meat, eggs, salads etc). After the 3rd day, they removed all items except some bread and butter. Seemed like not a lot of people were staying, therefore saved expenses on breakfast.

Last day, me and my father received the bill which was about 60 USD for 3 items from the minibar and some laundry. For being Vietnam that's a complete rip-off (especially since the items in the minibar were 50 cents each according to the in-room list, and the laundry about 80 cent per item). We both went down, they corrected the bill by $ 20, and I choosed not to argue about the remaining details. The bill should have been about $10-20, but as they claimed prices in in-room pricelists were old etc, I considered those $20-30 goodwill instead of arguing.

One of the girls in the reception was the light of this hotel. She spoke english (which not alot of "regular" people in Ho-Chi-Minh do), was always smiling, helpful and really tried! Hank was also a good guy/businessman, even though we didn't see too much of him.

A big plus for the area around the hotel. It's about a 5 min cab-ride to the market, 10 minutes to port, but still in a non-touristic spot. Around the corner (turning left cross after KFC), there are a bunch off street restaurants, with plenty of good food where the locals go. We went into the "nice parts" of the city 2 evenings for dinner. Rip-off prices, and low quality food is what we got. I would definitely go back to this area.


To sum up this hotel:

Plus
- Good Area
- Good price (we paid about $30 / night)
- Good breakfast

Minus
- Noisy mornings
- Breakfast was not really served last two days
- The last day rip-off

I would definitely be ok with staying here again considering the price, though not removing anything from the minibar nor asking for additional services, and requesting a top-floor room.

Room Tip: I would choose a top floor room, since it probably is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikeswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 31 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed at this hotel because it was convenient to a friends house in District 8. I would not recommend for foreigner on holiday - stay closer to City Centre. If you do choose to stay here you should know that staff do not speak English. They also tried to charge me for 2 beers I did not drink and room cost although I had prepaid. They did not push to hard though and accepted that I owed them nothing. I chose City View room that was quite large and ok. However, upon turning down the sheets I discovered hair of various types insitu! Two dodgy looking massage joints occupy lower floors but did not cause me any grief. Free wifi but I did not stay for the included breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Really don't stay here. It's the noisiest hotel I have ever experienced and I have slept in shared dorms. It's an old building so I literally heard everything, not that there was any effort made to be sensitive by the staff. My mornings started with games of move the furniture around in the rooms above, wooden beds on tile floors-horrible sound! Next, the staff have no qualms of shouting down the corridor at each other, often right outside my door, I could hear everything. There was also a staff telephone on my floor which rang ever morning, which no one was in a hurry to answer. ALL THIS BEFORE 7.15am!! It continued this way every morning without fail until 9am. Just to make sure your awake house keeping comes knocking - this morning it was at 8.36am. Don't stay here if you want a decent sleep. Aside from all this, it's actually in a terrible location, it's a 30minute walk to Bui Vien (the happening bit!) and the walk is very seedy when its not the motorway! I have also yet to hear the reception say a word to me other than 'passport' when I checked in. Don't stay in this hotel, it's definatelh not 3 star!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lking186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Our stay for a family of 5 arranged via a number of prompt replied to emails with Hank at the Universe Hotel exceeded all expectations.Met by Hank at the airport we were transfered to a hotel that is well located clean with spacious rooms and friendly staff all excursions ( The Meekong, the Cu Chi Tunnells and a night tour of Ho Chi Minh ) plus a great haircut arranged by Hank were well organized and good value and our guide Phong was friendly and informative.
We were so inpressed that we returned to the Universe for our final night in Vietnam again met by Hank at the airport to ensure we located our driver and van ( Hank was on his way home and made the effort to come to the airport )

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Though this a relatively clean hotel it lacks friendliness or professionalism. We had finished a long weeks work and looking forward to a lie in, we were really disappointed when building work started at 9 in the hotel. When i called to reception I was told that unfortunately the drilling I was hearing was coming from outside the hotel and they had no control over it. Got back in the lift only to meet a man with a drill and a hammer heading to the next floor to work. What relly annoyed me was taht after repeated requests for them to hold off the work for an hour or two they would agree to sort it but not bother do anything. To me it showed a complete disregard for customer care. Breakfast is poor and the only thing it has going for it is a comfortable bed...but only if you can find a quiet room to sleep in.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skatones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: どーせ景色は街並みだけなので、移動しやすい下層階がいい。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ゆきびー
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: LAN環境はなかったです
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saiki-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.8 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,535 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,692 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#40 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#38 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universe Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universe Central Hotel

Address: 549 Tran Hung Dao Ave, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 686 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $39 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Universe Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Universe Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing