We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
1
7
12
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1
7
12
6
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 33 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed at this hotel because it was convenient to a friends house in District 8. I would not recommend for foreigner on holiday - stay closer to City Centre. If you do choose to stay here you should know that staff do not speak English. They also tried to charge me for 2 beers I did not drink and room cost although I had prepaid. They did not push to hard though and accepted that I owed them nothing. I chose City View room that was quite large and ok. However, upon turning down the sheets I discovered hair of various types insitu! Two dodgy looking massage joints occupy lower floors but did not cause me any grief. Free wifi but I did not stay for the included breakfast.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Really don't stay here. It's the noisiest hotel I have ever experienced and I have slept in shared dorms. It's an old building so I literally heard everything, not that there was any effort made to be sensitive by the staff. My mornings started with games of move the furniture around in the rooms above, wooden beds on tile floors-horrible sound! Next, the staff have no qualms of shouting down the corridor at each other, often right outside my door, I could hear everything. There was also a staff telephone on my floor which rang ever morning, which no one was in a hurry to answer. ALL THIS BEFORE 7.15am!! It continued this way every morning without fail until 9am. Just to make sure your awake house keeping comes knocking - this morning it was at 8.36am. Don't stay here if you want a decent sleep. Aside from all this, it's actually in a terrible location, it's a 30minute walk to Bui Vien (the happening bit!) and the walk is very seedy when its not the motorway! I have also yet to hear the reception say a word to me other than 'passport' when I checked in. Don't stay in this hotel, it's definatelh not 3 star!

Date of stay: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lking186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Our stay for a family of 5 arranged via a number of prompt replied to emails with Hank at the Universe Hotel exceeded all expectations.Met by Hank at the airport we were transfered to a hotel that is well located clean with spacious rooms and friendly staff all excursions ( The Meekong, the Cu Chi Tunnells and a night tour of Ho Chi Minh ) plus a great haircut arranged by Hank were well organized and good value and our guide Phong was friendly and informative.
We were so inpressed that we returned to the Universe for our final night in Vietnam again met by Hank at the airport to ensure we located our driver and van ( Hank was on his way home and made the effort to come to the airport )

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Though this a relatively clean hotel it lacks friendliness or professionalism. We had finished a long weeks work and looking forward to a lie in, we were really disappointed when building work started at 9 in the hotel. When i called to reception I was told that unfortunately the drilling I was hearing was coming from outside the hotel and they had no control over it. Got back in the lift only to meet a man with a drill and a hammer heading to the next floor to work. What relly annoyed me was taht after repeated requests for them to hold off the work for an hour or two they would agree to sort it but not bother do anything. To me it showed a complete disregard for customer care. Breakfast is poor and the only thing it has going for it is a comfortable bed...but only if you can find a quiet room to sleep in.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skatones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room tip: どーせ景色は街並みだけなので、移動しやすい下層階がいい。
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews