We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location! Lovely hosts! Nice rooms! Good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diep Anh Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 835 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location! Lovely hosts! Nice rooms! Good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012. We actually were in a spot on the same alley, owned by a relation of the owners of Diep Anh, rather than at Diep Anh itself. However, I think that the rooms are probably pretty similarly decked out, and the prices seemed the same.

Location

Its in the main tourist zone, but is on a little alleyway between Bien Vue and Pham Ngu Lao, and is much quieter and less manic than on the main drag.

Rooms

We were in a different hostel a few doors down owned by a family member as they were full. The room was big and clean and comfortable and quite tastefully decorated. We got a slightly discounted rate - at $22 / night for a double en suite we were pretty happy with it. It had a fan and aircon.

We were on the third floor and there was not much street noise at all.

The bathroom was one of the best anywhere on our trip, and was in the style that seems the norm for East and South East Asia, where the showers are designed to distribute water to pretty much every part of the bathroom, rather than being contained in a single shower.

Service

The owners of Diep Anh are a lovely caring couple. When we got in they sat us down on comfy sofas and - let's call him Mr Diep, I didn't get his name! - gave us a map of the city and traced out a good walking route for us to take in the main sights, including the War Remnants Museum (a must visit) and the Notre Dame.

Mr Diep also gave us a good overview of the tours available and seemed genuinely concerned that we got on a tour that would make the most sense for us given the time available. In the event we went with a US$17 tour of the Mekong that included a 2 hour bus ride, a trip on a large tourist boat up the river through the floating villages, a visit to a rice paper and candy "factory", bikes that were available to take for a spin after a tasty and pretty reasonably proced lunch, being rowed down the river for a bit by a fit old granny and a walk through the market, and the bus ride back.

Mr Diep also helped us get train tickets north at the official train office on Bang Lam Phu rather than being overcharged for train tickets like many who went through travel agents.

And they did several other nice things for us. And any time I came past, Mr Diep was doing the same for the other groups that came in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeiKaiWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    63
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
18
147
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed there for few days. Room was comfortable, nice and clean. Location is close to nightlife, but away enough from a main streets and noise. Owners are wonderfull - very friendly, caring and warm - it felt like visiting your own aunt and uncle.
When going to Saigon next time we would go to the same place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zgubidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Had a lovely stay at this guest house. The owners were extremely friendly, always greeting us and around for a chat. They helped us with everything we needed, from tours to laundry, food recommendations and sightseeing advice! Would really recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattnRia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here with my partner on my last visit and thought it was brilliant. It is in a great location to access cafes and walking distance to the market. The rooms are really clean with plenty of hot water. The owners are keen to help you with anything they can. I felt comfortable about returning to Saigon as a solo traveller this time knowing that they would be welcoming and supportive. Everything about my stay was wonderful and I look forward to staying again some time soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lildal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This guesthouse is wonderful. It is clean, well equipped, inexpensive and in a great location (We love the alleyway) but most of all it is the Diep and his wife who make the place.
They are so warm and friendly and happy to help. When we were leaving Diep walked with us to the taxi and organised a fair price.
This was my daughters favourite" hotel" because of their kind words and friendly smiles, much more impressive than flash lobbies and swimming pools.
Guesthouses like this are what travelling is all about.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMC1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We only stayed there for a day, because we had to fly home the next day. But I wished we would have stayed longer. The guesthose is managed by an older couple, very nice people. He even organized a cab for us to the airport and recommended a very good restaurant.
The rooms were nice, tidy, clean and bright, with A/C, a tv, everything was just fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fragee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed in this guest house during my graduation trip with my friends last year. It is very well located (walkable to many restaurants, bars, shopping areas, and the one of the best pho stalls in the area), and the couple who owned the guest house were extremely helpful. The room is very clean and spacious, with wifi, fridge and hot water, excellent condition considering the price you pay. They also do currency exchange if you need to change some dongs. You can get maps from their counter and ask them for directions and recommendations on what you can do in HCM. Definately going to stay here again if I'm visiting HCM.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dex_Sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#75 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#27 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#32 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#54 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#45 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diep Anh Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diep Anh Guesthouse

Property: Diep Anh Guesthouse
Address: 241/31 Pham Ngu Lao Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 835 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diep Anh Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diep Anh Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diep Anh Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing