We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't recommend highly enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diep Anh Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 850 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Couldn't recommend highly enough”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Diep Ahn is a great family run guest house located on a quiet lane in the main backpacker area. We booked a double room and ended up with a room with two doubles and a balcony for no additional charge. The bathroom facilities were modern and clean, the bedroom was spacious and bright, overlooking the buildings between Bu Vien and Pham Ngu Lao (we were on the fourth floor). The rooms on the opposite side of the building don't have balconies but do have windows overlooking the other side of District 1.

The owners were lovely and looked after us well, pointing us in the right direction for train bookings and other queries. Unlike some other guest houses in Vietnam, they were not pushy with the tours and were more concerned that we got the best price for what we were after. The drinks they sold at reception were also very reasonable, which again was a refreshing change. We ended up staying two nights more than we planned because we liked the place so much. We also loved HCMC and found the place relatively harassment free and cheaper (as a tourist) compared to the other stops on the main tourist trail. Even though the guest house is located in the backpacking district there are some great little street stalls that pop up at night in the surrounding streets - it's just a matter of watching where the locals go.

We are now close to ending our time in Vietnam and this was by far our favourite guest house. I couldn't recommend this guest house highly enough!

Room Tip: Try the room on the 4th floor with the balcony
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank clare_nz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    63
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
18
148
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We recently stayed at Diep Anh Guesthouse for 4 nights and had a wonderful experience. The owner, Anh, was full of helpful, free information about the city and he and his wife always had a friendly smile and greeting for the customers.

The room was large and very clean, and the drinks in the guesthouse were a bargain. Our room was on one of the top floors, so there were a few stairs to climb and while we had no problem with this, those with limited mobility may find it an issue. The location is great, right in the heart of all the action, but because it's in an alley it's still nice and quiet. Free wifi in the rooms, and computers to use downstairs in the lobby, as well as a collection of books and magazines to read.

We booked two tours through our guesthouse (Cu Chi tunnels and an overnight Mekong Delta crossing to Cambodia) and were very happy with the service and price of both. Laundry service was well priced and prompt. It was a pleasure to stay at Diep Anh and we were sad to say goodbye, but hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Owner of the guesthouse and his wife could not be more welcoming or helpful.Thoroughly enjoyed staying here. Rooms are spotlessly clean and really comfortable, not to mention great value for money at 16 - 20 USD per night. Great location in district 1, down a lovely little alley way.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laethantasaoire76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2011

These were the nicest people to stay with and they were beyond accommodating for any of our needs and help with booking of other trips, plus helped with any questions or concerns we had traveling throughout the city. SO cheap, and nice and clean! Would absolutely recommend this to anyone traveling to HCMC.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandafair80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Imagine a hostel where everything is perfect. Add a warmhearted owner and his wife. Place it in the center of a big city. Multiply by 10 and you got Diep Anh!

In a charming side alley in the center of Saigon lies this hidden gem, it's only 2 years old! When entering you'll be greeted by the extremely and genuinely friendly owner and his wife. He makes you very comfy, immediately takes your bags, brings you water and sits down with you to explain to you the city, the different attractions, the do's and don't's etc. Wow, if only other guesthouse owners would know that good service! Hardly seen anyone running a hostel who has such a clear concept and experience of a city (the owner is obviously a very smart man as well as his wife of course, they just think of everything you could possibly need).

After explaining the city you get your free map and are guided to your room. The proud owner explains to you every feature in the room, i.e. ethernet, different colors of the lamps etc.

Rooms are ridiculously big (26 m2) with a high ceiling. Where other hostels put in 3 rooms on one floor, he only has two - and it's even more affordable than most others (20 USD for a dbl. room). We have never seen a more modern and clean room incl. bathroom than the one in Diep Ahn.

Tours are 30% cheaper than in the tourist offices around town and again he chose them carefully.

All in all: after 3 months of travelling and many good hostels, Diep Anh stays unbeaten in every area. It's the ultimate definition of a gem and has become our benchmark for hostels and hostels up to 150 USD.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vir2l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at Anh's guesthouse for three nights. We were taken aback at how welcoming we were made to feel and how lovely the place was. We paid about $20 per night, and were right in the middle of District 1. On arrival (after being scammed by the HCMC taxi's...) Anh looked after us, recommended a nearby Pho joint (awesome) and let us settle in and then provided us with maps and tips etc. He also helped organise a taxi to take us at the end. He was helpful, and nothing was a bother. He even waled us to the train ticket office as we just couldn't find it (even though we walked past 4 times).

I highly recommend this place if you are after a safe, welcoming (cheap) place to stay in the middle of all the action. And I would stay here again if I visited HCMC.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tantell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2010

really good place to stay. even offered us a shower after we booked out and returned from hot bus trip to mekong delta. clean rooms. good air con. free coffee. fast internet. felt like home away from home!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#77 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#27 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#33 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#59 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#45 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diep Anh Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diep Anh Guesthouse

Property: Diep Anh Guesthouse
Address: 241/31 Pham Ngu Lao Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 850 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diep Anh Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Diep Anh Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diep Anh Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing