We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ho Chi Minh City Tour”

Ho Chi Minh City Urban Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ho Chi Minh City Urban Adventures offers unique and authentic day tours around Ho Chi Minh City. They range from 2 hour to 1 day adventures and uncover back streets, hidden gems, and fascinating sights. Step into the lives of locals, find out what makes the city tick, and get acquainted with the local food, culture, and traditions of Ho Chi Minh City. A local expert guide will provide the knowledge and lead you through a fantastic urban experience.
Zushi-shi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ho Chi Minh City Tour”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a great trip. I recommend that you take it early in your visit. My friend and I spent 6 days in Saigon (HCMC) and we booked this for day two. It really helped to orient ourselves with the customs and the whereabouts of some of the tourist spots that we wanted to return to (the market). Our guide was wonderful (Le Huong). She had a wealth of knowledge about the local area hot-spots, the history of the city, and I was especially appreciative of her unbiased approach to the American/Vietnam war. Other tour guides made us feel bad for being American, but she was especially unbiased. It is truly a great tour to start your visit to Saigon. I highly recommend!!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Japandrea02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,287
    331
    22
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mekong delta & City Cyclo tour with Intrepid Urban adventure tour - Tour guide (Gem)”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My partner and myself really enjoyed the tour. Our tour guide, Gem, have been very friendly, knowledgeable, and most importantly always looking out for our safety throughout the tour. I would strongly recommend that you engage her if you want a safe and fun trip!

Helpful?
Thank OWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ho Chi Minh Discovery - city day tour”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We chose to do a small group city tour, and while more expensive than the large tour bus groups, it provides a more relaxed and intimate experience.
We actually rang Urban Adventures in HCMC on the day before to get on the tour, we did not go through the hotel or a tour agency.
We had seven people on the tour (they have a maximum group size of 12) which meant we could all sit at the same table at lunch and chat.
Our guide Houng was an excellent and knowledgable guide, she has a sense of humour that helped the group relax and enjoy the day.
The mini bus was painted with the company logo, and was comfortable and air conditioned. The 8 to 8:30am bus pickup from our hotel in the backpacker area was on schedule.
We visited:
the Reunification Palace (our guide took us through this),
War Remnants Museum (guides are not allowed, so do this at your own pace, it's confronting in places, especially the Agent Orange legacy),
the central church (outside only),
Post Office (inside for info on Viet telegraph history, photos and souvenirs, stamps even),
central market area for good lunch at Pho 2000 (lunch included, but pay for your own drinks, the tour lunch is advertised as "Pho" / Noodle Soup (the large serving is very generous), but there was flexibility re personal diets.)
Chùa Bà Thiên Hậu (The Pagoda of the Lady Thien Hau)
then an hour (by common agreement) of shopping/wandering by ourselves at the Chinese wholesale markets in Chinatown (you are ignored here, not like the Ben Thanh Market - personally I love wandering the food sections more than clothes/hardware, as there are plenty of colourful photo opportunities).
Back by about 4pm to our hotel.
They are pretty flexible on this tour, depending on the desires of the group to spend longer or less time at places.

Obviously you could do this all on your own, particularly if you had a written guide to the Reunification Palace, etc, but it provides an opportunity to not worry about getting from a to b, and you can ask questions of the guide about other aspects of Vietnamese life, and learn about what the others on the tour have discovered in their trips.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MalsBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gem (our guide) was a real Gem!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This trip is a must see! So incredible what the local people achieved. Our guide from Intrepid Adventures was really excellent and went above and beyond to accommodate al her guests. She was very understandable and knowledgable about the trip. I would definitely recommend Intrepid.

Helpful?
Thank Mrtracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best tours in Vietnam!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We was picked up at the hotel lobby with a smiling face and a good sign of great customer service. We spend a little time to go around and get more people from other hotels is easy to understandable. Tour stopped at local family, the owner is so hospitality with very interesting stories. Cu Chi tunnels with good explanation from our guide helped us realize 2 sides of a war story and knew lots more about Vietnam War. I would recommend this tour to anyone want to see a real Vietnam. Well done!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaikaToursGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho Chi Minh City Urban Adventures also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ho Chi Minh City Urban Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing