We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable rooms, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Halo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halo Hotel
Ranked #22 of 835 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The rooms were a bit small but nicely designed, comfortable and clean. Plus, the staff was attentive and helpful, and the hotel itself was only a few minute's walk to Ben Thanh market. I only wish the free breakfast had more variety. Also, the rates we paid were a bit expensive for what the hotel had to offer, but it was good enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cami A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    88
    32
    12
    8
See reviews for
33
52
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights. The room is nice & clean but too small. The bed is comfortable. We have good sleep. The staff is nice, friendly and helpful. The location is convenience, closed to Ben Thanh Market in few steps. We just love the location.

Room Tip: DO NOT take a taxi in the airport, to the city. They All Over Charged about 10USD ! Take a taxi from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Location: hotel is easy to find, it’s 5 minutes walk to Ben Than Market, near to the famous Pho 2000 noodle house where former US President Clinton ate. Many nearby cheap restos, at night there’s booth set ups outside Ben Than for the night market, they sell cheap clothes, souvenirs, local delicious food etc ranging from 15,000 -70,000 Vietnam Dong.
Frontdesk: Very accommodating and speak English very well. We have no problem checking in and out.
Room: The room is too small for two people (we booked this a month ahead), you have to keep your luggage under the table/bed otherwise you can’t walk around the room. The bathroom is small too but NICE with the “shower rain” and the cute floor made of rounded stones. Breakfast is no buffet, NO RICE bread only (note to rice-eater), it’s more on American breakfast style but no cereal.
Thumbs-down-note: “Weird” hotel policy: it’s mandated for the hotel to HOLD/KEEP your passport until you check out, “for safety purposes”… hmmm said they all do this in all the guests. What if when you’re out, the hotel burned to dust including the passports? Note: if you don’t want them to “keep” your passport in their vault, then think. They put the shampoo and body wash into small thin pot, very fragile and not practical, it’s very easy to slip in your hands when wet, I accidentlly slipped and broke one actually, and have to pay it with 120,000 Vietnam Dong, “policy”. They didn’t change the bedsheets that’s looks soiled even you requested them to.
Thumbs-up-note: it’s in the city center, nearby to almost tour spots, you can visit Golden Dragon Water Puppet Show theater, Reunification Palace, Notre Dame Cathedral, Post Office, City hall, opera house by FOOT, a 4-7 minutes motor ride to Zoo, botanical garden and War Remnant Museum. Take the bus 616 going to Dai Nam Theme Park at the bus terminal in front of Ben Than market, also a walking distance of 7 mins. The first bus will pass by between 6:40AM to 7:30AM, only one bus at a time so be patient.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catbearkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We paid USD30/nite for a Superior Double (with window city view) and we r happy as it was what we had expected for the money we paid for. Although breakfast is not buffet style but a simple american bfast or Vietnamese pho, noodles with a cup of coffee/juice, is actually adequate for us as there r lots of good street food just few steps away at the Ben Thanh Market.
Staff there were friendly & we are always greeted with a good morning/Afternoon/Evening accompanied by asweet smile everytime when they see us walking in & out after our shopping.
Wi-fi is also strong in the room too with good shower water pressure & big shower head to ease off our tiredness after the heaty hot Day. Cheers to them

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystall_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My mum and I checked into this hotel for 2 nights, and she was very satisfied with the "ergonomically" designed bathroom, with anti-slip floor tile at the shower area. The shower water pressure is great, heated water supply from the heater is working perfect, to your adjustment. The mattress is comfortable to rest on too.

Its across the street close proximity to the Ben Thanh market is another plus for checking into this hotel.

The only shortfall is its small room, which I had understood before the reservation. Overall, I will still highly recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking for a simple accommodation with quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyborgmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I'm back again at this hotel. Excellent customer service. Please do try a night. Tho it's a little small but very cosy. One tip to save you money call the hotel for reservation its much much cheaper..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu, Philipppines
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We reserved a deluxe garden view for USD50/night, inclusive of breakfast for 2. What we got was a room on the top floor with a view of rooftops that held laundry, plant pots and generally terrible scenery. I thought that Vietnamese gardens were pretty. What a joke. Noisy in the morning, A/C not working properly, ratty towels, breakfast that was just edible, dirty outside the front door. What saved the day is the staff. They were genuinely nice and tried to please. Serves me right for thinking I would be okay in a hotel that cost less than half of what I usually pay for. Oh, and we were charged a 3% bank fee for paying by credit card.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchs1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel 2
City Hotel 2
#31 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charner Hotel
Charner Hotel
#77 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xavier Hotel
Xavier Hotel
#43 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
K Central Hotel
K Central Hotel
#73 of 519 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vuong Tai Hotel
Vuong Tai Hotel
#133 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thien Hai Hotel
Thien Hai Hotel
#5 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halo Hotel

Property: Halo Hotel
Address: 23 Thu Khoa Huan Street, Ben Thanh | 1st District, Ho Chi Minh City 848, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 835 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Halo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halo Hotel, a building designed in Far Eastern style, located majestic, lovely throne next to Ben Thanh market of Ho Chi Minh city HALO HOTEL has 31 rooms fitted to the highest standards with all the necessary accessories supplied in each delightful room, we made you feel at home during your stay with this friendly family run boutique hotel s located in the heart of Saigon (just walking distance from local fruit stalls, local craft shops and cafe's). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Halo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing