We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but charmless” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Ranked #56 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Darmstadt
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean but charmless”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Not bad, but not great either.

Good: it's clean, good located if you want to stay in district 1 and the stuff is friendly.

Bad: charmless rooms and view, horrible breakfast location (restaurant), mediocre breakfast

Where are the rooms from the pictures ?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonAlfonso01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    207
    47
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
287
72
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good location in the heart of district one, close to sights and sounds of HCM. Easy to get a taxi from the airport ( mai link or vinh hung taxis are recommended). Room was clean, big bath/shower, decent breakfast selection. Can book trips via the hotel if you want to and staff were friendly. A good base to explore this busy city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great location, clean, decent breakfasts. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that there must have been construction on the wall opposite our bedroom, because I woke up to machines several times. Also, it could do with more soundproofing, but I fear that's just HCMC. Very reasonably priced, didn't disappoint.

Room Tip: As to be at the back or side of the building, but definitely not on the 7th floor at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13inky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is in a good location in district one.The room I stayed in was ok size,very clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable.Breakfast was good as well.The staff went out of there way to help you,very friendly.They also sell tours which were unbeatable in terms of price and quality.The owner speaks excellent english having studied abroad.I highly recomenend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brendon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on two separate occasions in January and February 2013. The hotel is centrally located and airport pick up at $18 can be arranged directly through the hotel. The rooms are large, quiet and clean. The staff are very helpful, although the English speaking skills of one or two aren't great which may prove tricky to some travellers. Some staff are essentially fluent, however. Breakfast is chosen from a menu provided. Fresh fruit and juice are also available. We took advantage of the extended checkout due to food poisoning picked up in Halong Bay! The rate was half of the room rate and we checked out at 5pm. The staff will help you get a street taxi for transport to the airport. This cost us 140,000 dong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The best thing about this property is the location. Lonely Planet and Nat'l Geographic both offer walking tours of District 1 that go right past the hotel, it is that convenient to the sites. Notre Dame, Reunification Palace, Rex Hotel, riverfront, War Remnant Museum, and more within a short walk. It is just off of the busiest streets, which helps with noise.

The room itself was clean and simple. It has AC, safe, modern bathroom, and a reasonably comfortable bed. We stayed here twice, in different rooms on different floors and the rooms were about the same. There is not a lot of extra room but enough room.

The staff was pleasant and offered a good dinner recommendation (Lemongrass on next block) one night and also the second time. I mostly stuck with the fresh fruit at breakfast- watermelon, dragonfruit, and pomelos with tea. The cooked items did not do much for me but the wife thought the pho was OK.

For the price that we paid, $45, we got a clean room in a great location. Works for me. The also offer late checkout (4pm) for a half day rate.

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th and 7th floors and both were fine.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank soprisorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

When looking for a hotel Cleanliness, location, price and service are the criteria I search for.This hotel ticks these boxes.
I stayed there for eleven nights whilst having some dental work done at Westcoast international dental surgery (Also excellent). I felt welcomed and comfortable here and thought this hotel would be difficult to beat for what is offered.
It's not a five star hotel but it is very good value for money.
A warm thanks to the staff for a job well done.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bayshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#24 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#53 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#40 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#4 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#34 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
#64 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Hoang Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Property: Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Address: 84 Mac Thi Buoi | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tan Hoang Long Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is at great location and offering pretty good values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tan Hoang Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing