We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay again. great location and good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Ranked #62 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“would stay again. great location and good service.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

room was clean, bathroom was nice, and staff were friendly and prompt both on email responds and face to face. requested for a late checkout due to our flight time and they obliged immediately. breakfast was good. my partner and i enjoyed the beef fried rice and beef stew. despite being on a busy street, our room was quiet (6th floor). one bad thing was there was a slight gap btw our door and the doorway. unsettling as we weren't sure if people could look in? we could look out so probably. location was great- could walk to ben thanh market, war remnants museums etc (about fifteen mins) and didn't need to cab at all to the sights. costs about 150,000 -200,000 vnd from railway station to cab here (if i rmb right), and about the same amount to cab to airport. recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellosailorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    218
    47
    8
    6
See reviews for
41
298
75
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This small hotel is right in the centre of HCM, so it's a good spot to base yourself. The price was excellent value, and I'd recommend this place for a short stay. It was an easy walk to the night markets, to the river, and was right in the middle of the shopping district.

My room was comfortable, with a well fitted bathroom and the mod cons one expects in a business-style hotel. It had air con, free wifi and a comfy bed, also a good tv and an in-room safe. The view from the window was onto other buildings; not very pretty, but it was interesting in a way. My room was at the back and, despite HCM being a very noisy city with all the motor scooters whizzing about and tooting, the room was relatively quiet.

Breakfast was included and was good (you're given a menu and they cook it specially for you).

I booked my transfers through the hotel. This worked well going from the airport, as my driver was waiting when I arrived. Heading back, I'd been out for a walk and arrived back at the hotel about 5mins before I was due to be picked up (having got a bit lost walking back). By then -- even though it was early and I'd already paid for my transfer -- the driver had gone off in a huff, leaving me stranded. The hotel sorted it out by hailing a cab and paying it in advance, but it meant I paid for a limo transfer and got a dirty taxi instead. That was my only gripe -- and quite insignificant.

I'd recommend this hotel as a good quality, good value, place to stay in HCM/Saigon.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atheoretical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

After sorting through many hotels on TripAdvisor in Ho Chi Minh City we settled on this one and it was a gem. The price was very reasonable and the location couldn't have been much better. The staff was very friendly and our room was exceptionally clean and quite nice. The hotel is small and we thought the smallish dining area might mean a poor breakfast, but were surprised to see that we could order from a menu, a really pleasant surprise. The central location couldn't have been better

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boulder-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located on Mac thi Buoi street which is near to HBT Street on one side and also very close to Le Loi Street on the other side. Also just next to Sheraton Saigon. Very convenient to get a taxi and also a 7 am to 10 pm money exchange outlet next door. 

It's the standard four rooms to a floor mid priced hotel. The rooms are fairly compact with a queen size bed, a table, a single seat cushion chair, and a cupboard. I found the suitcase rack fairly small, which was a tad inconvenient, which the hotel staff replaced with a larger one the next day. I also needed an extra quilt which the hotel again provided, which was good.

I found the complimentary water provided a bit inconvenient. The bottles offered are 300 ml, which is just about a large glass. A suggestion to the hotel -  If you are offering this, then you should also offer a clear pricing system for additional bottles which is at market rate, and not at the mini bar rate. It is inconvenient to go to the supermarket for your daily stock of water. 

Bath - The bath area is fairly large with a lot of space. The hot water tends to stop after 10 am, so have it early.
The wifi signal was quite powerful through out and also in the bath area . 
The breakfast is menu driven where you order for a specific course - English breakfast or a host of fried rice/ chops type. The English breakfast seemed the best of the lot especially if you are used to loading up in the morning. The fruits and sponge cake are on the buffet. If you are used to trying a variety on the breakfast platter, you may find the system here a bit restrictive. 

The lobby area is nice and cosy with comfortable seating. It also has 2 computer terminals for surfing. 
The elevators tended to be quite slow. 
A tip for the hotel - for guests arriving late at night, have the bell boy to deliver food or have a stock of ready to eat noodles available. Restaurants tend to stop serving post 10:30 pm in HCMC

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajiv_Gopinath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was such a great hotel. Centrally located in District 1, exceptionally helpful staff and very clean. We splurged and booked the luxury master suite which was huge. I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel next time I visit HCM.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tikifiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

we had a funtastic stay at this hotel! staff were all nice, attentive, helpful and friendly.
location is just excellent! good value for money and very clean! highly recommended!
***********************************************************************************************************

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iconzef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I spent 1 night here. Everything was ok. Big room, clean, nice decor. Staffs was friendly, helpful. The most impressive is the location, very near convenient store and other famous place. Definitely recommend this hotel to our friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#45 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#51 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#55 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
#46 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#49 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Hoang Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Property: Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Address: 84 Mac Thi Buoi | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tan Hoang Long Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is at great location and offering pretty good values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tan Hoang Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing