We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Ranked #57 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
271 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

After sorting through many hotels on TripAdvisor in Ho Chi Minh City we settled on this one and it was a gem. The price was very reasonable and the location couldn't have been much better. The staff was very friendly and our room was exceptionally clean and quite nice. The hotel is small and we thought the smallish dining area might mean a poor breakfast, but were surprised to see that we could order from a menu, a really pleasant surprise. The central location couldn't have been better

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boulder-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    212
    47
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
294
73
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located on Mac thi Buoi street which is near to HBT Street on one side and also very close to Le Loi Street on the other side. Also just next to Sheraton Saigon. Very convenient to get a taxi and also a 7 am to 10 pm money exchange outlet next door. 

It's the standard four rooms to a floor mid priced hotel. The rooms are fairly compact with a queen size bed, a table, a single seat cushion chair, and a cupboard. I found the suitcase rack fairly small, which was a tad inconvenient, which the hotel staff replaced with a larger one the next day. I also needed an extra quilt which the hotel again provided, which was good.

I found the complimentary water provided a bit inconvenient. The bottles offered are 300 ml, which is just about a large glass. A suggestion to the hotel -  If you are offering this, then you should also offer a clear pricing system for additional bottles which is at market rate, and not at the mini bar rate. It is inconvenient to go to the supermarket for your daily stock of water. 

Bath - The bath area is fairly large with a lot of space. The hot water tends to stop after 10 am, so have it early.
The wifi signal was quite powerful through out and also in the bath area . 
The breakfast is menu driven where you order for a specific course - English breakfast or a host of fried rice/ chops type. The English breakfast seemed the best of the lot especially if you are used to loading up in the morning. The fruits and sponge cake are on the buffet. If you are used to trying a variety on the breakfast platter, you may find the system here a bit restrictive. 

The lobby area is nice and cosy with comfortable seating. It also has 2 computer terminals for surfing. 
The elevators tended to be quite slow. 
A tip for the hotel - for guests arriving late at night, have the bell boy to deliver food or have a stock of ready to eat noodles available. Restaurants tend to stop serving post 10:30 pm in HCMC

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajiv_Gopinath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was such a great hotel. Centrally located in District 1, exceptionally helpful staff and very clean. We splurged and booked the luxury master suite which was huge. I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel next time I visit HCM.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tikifiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

we had a funtastic stay at this hotel! staff were all nice, attentive, helpful and friendly.
location is just excellent! good value for money and very clean! highly recommended!
***********************************************************************************************************

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iconzef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I spent 1 night here. Everything was ok. Big room, clean, nice decor. Staffs was friendly, helpful. The most impressive is the location, very near convenient store and other famous place. Definitely recommend this hotel to our friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a lovely hotel which is spotlessly clean, in a great location and with fantastic friendly staff. The rooms themselves are small, making this a good place to stay if you are planning on not spending vast amounts of time in the hotel; it suits people who plan to spend 2 or 3 days in Ho Chi Minh City exploring. It's a 15 minute walk to the Unification Palace and 20 minutes to the Remnants War Museum. In the other direction it's 10-15 minutes to the river and the ferry moorings. Breakfast is more focused towards south east Asian food but there's just about enough variety for Europeans for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is in a great location near the Opera House and it's very clean. Cleanliness was a top priority for me when booking a hotel in Saigon and this hotel met my expectations. The owner and staff are very friendly. They will ask to keep your passport when you check in for registration purposes, but I got them back the next morning. If this is something you are worried about, they might accept a copy of your passport if you have one on hand, which I usually do when I travel.

The rooms were simple, but that fine since we weren't really in the hotel during the day. My sister stayed in a larger room on the same floor, so if you would like more space, I would pay extra for the larger rooms. There are movie channels in english so that was nice when we wanted to relax in the room. Only had breakfast once, don't expect a crazy spread, but it did the job when all we needed was fuel to get the day started. Everything is made to order. Booked a few tours through the front desk and everything went smoothly.

When the cleaning ladies start in the morning, it can get a little loud due to thin walls, so if you are a light sleeper, I would suggest earplugs if you want to sleep in. There's an ATM located right outside the front door so that was very convenient. We ended up booking our last night in Saigon at the Continental because the website said they were sold out for our last night. I never thought to ask if there was a room available, but there was. When they only have one to two rooms available, it will list as sold out on the their website. I had already paid for my room at the Continental so we had to transfer, but I will say that our stay at Tan Hoang Long was much more comfortable than the Continental.

Will definitely stay here again when I return to Saigon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susieho23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#37 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#53 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#46 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#47 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
#67 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#49 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Hoang Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Property: Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Address: 84 Mac Thi Buoi | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tan Hoang Long Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is at great location and offering pretty good values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tan Hoang Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing