We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Ranked #55 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed a couple of nights in this hotel in July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Its in a great location near the riverside in central Saigon. The breakfast was a delight, the room was nice and clean and the staff were extremely helpful. The hotel is also within walking distance of most of the major tourist attractions, including the war remnants museum, reunification palace, several markets and shopping centres, and there are plenty of nice restaurants and cafes nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    207
    47
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
287
72
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

For the price that we paid, we were not expecting the rooms to provide us with any 'wow' factor. And indeed, the hotel delivered pretty much according to expectations. Yes, the room was on the tiny side and you would have to carefully navigate your way around the room if you have more than one big check-in suitcase as floor space and storage space is quite limited. If you are out most of the time, as we were, the smallish rooms would probably not bother you too much, but if you are looking to spread out and relax, then this is not the place for you.

The one thing I couldn't really understand was the bathtub. The bathtub was not sealed to the bathroom walls (as bathtubs usually are). This leaves a gap between the tub and the walls, so that some water from the shower flows down the walls, under the bathtub, and onto the bathroom floor before draining out. This makes the bathroom floor wet and slippery. Forgivable for the price we paid? Perhaps.

On the plus side, the (free) wi-fi is very dependable and a boon. The location is excellent, with nice art galleries and high end shops within a stone's throw and the Ben Thanh market a 10 minute walk away. There is a nice foot reflexology place just down Mac Thi Buoi Rd from the hotel which provides fantastic foot massages.

Would I stay here again? Probably.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurtoz, Owner at Tan Hoang Long Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Firstly I wish to thank this reviewer for complimenting our hotel itself.

We decided to not have the bath-tube attached to the wall since we would like to have bath-tube movable to be able to clean up underneath the bath-tube to prevent any possible smell or dusts.

Consulting with our engineer and we will come with a solution to solve this problem. Once again, we would like to thank for this review and we would gladly welcome this reviewer back to our hotel anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed here mid July 2011 (last week) and was more than pleased with this hotel. The staff are really nice and helpful and the rooms are clean and more than big enough.

What really blew us away was the location, right round the corner from the opera house and 10-15 minute walk from most of the tourist locations.

Great place to stay you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

This hotel is great value for money, located away from the backpackers area and in the real CBD close to major players like the Sheraton etc. The rooms are still fairly new though they are small. However, they are great value for money considering the area that it is located. In terms of cost, while the rooms are cheap, all the extras in the hotel are expensive such as mini bar and laundry which is very overpriced.

The only negative comment I would make is that the cleaners are very noisy in the morning so don't expect to sleep in. They are constantly chit chatting to themselves and even made a nasty comment about us (I travelled with a viet speaker though the cleaners did not realise). This somewhat soured our stay but we tried to ignore as best we could.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skeeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurtoz, Owner at Tan Hoang Long Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Please accept our apology for our these unacceptable behaviors of our cleaner staff. They have been warned and we guarantee it will never happens again.

Once again, we do apology for this inconvenience and we glad to welcome this reviewer come back to our hotel at anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

I don't think you could ask for much more from this hotel for the money you pay. It was clean, air conditioned, reasonably quiet apart from some traffic noise, which isn't too bad. The manager spoke very good English which he attributed to his many years spent living in Australia.
The breakfast was fine, some fruit and crepes were available, or you can order some vietnamese dishes or bacon and eggs.
I can't say too much for the location as I didn't enjoy my time in HCMC, but it was close by to a Pho 24, and a short walk to the market.
The staff were all lovely and helpful. There are computers for guest use in the lobby which were free to use, or they have wifi, however it will not allow access to Facebook, so I just connected to a nearby hotel's wifi.
Overall I would return given I had the same budget, however I doubt o will ever return to HCMC.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicheleE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is a perfect hotel with perfect staff. Fantastic price. We would highly recommend it.The location is great, close to all amenities. Service is amazing, this hotel definately deserves 3-4 stars. The rooms are very comfortable, superb clean with free wi-fi, TV, air conditioning, bath tube/shower with hot water, kettle, mini bar and complimentary drinking water. The dining area is small but there are plenty restaurants close by. Staff is super friendly, well spoken, extremely helfpul with organising trips.
No complaints. Just a big thank you for making our trip to HCMC so pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld, australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

had a recent stay here staff so delightful, very helpful and manager spoke very good English and helpful.Great value in good area, breakfast very basic but morebthan enough to start the day as there is plenty to eat outside hotel. Thanks for a warm welcoming stay, would def recommend it

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniepotts66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#24 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#51 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#41 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#4 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#35 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
#64 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Hoang Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Property: Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Address: 84 Mac Thi Buoi | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tan Hoang Long Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is at great location and offering pretty good values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tan Hoang Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing