We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is well below par”
Review of Green Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Suites Hotel
Ranked #62 of 986 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2012

While, individually, these points are not major, in total they represented for us, an attitude where service was second rate:
1. We were given two bottles of fresh water on the first day of our 5 day stay. Buy your own thereafter. All hotels, with this one exception, on our 7 week, 9 city trip, provided fresh water daily.
2. I brought home a bottle of cold beer one evening - the brand and price in the room's mini bar were not to my liking. No bottle opener in the room. Room service were not able to locate a bottle opener in the entire hotel.
3. Operation of the room safe was a mystery - no written instructions were provided, and the very friendly security guy who demonstrated its operation spoke no English whatsoever - so questioning him about aspects of the safe was challenging.
4. The toilet seat was not properly attached - so kept sliding off
5. There were two drinking glasses provided in the room - for the duration of our stay they were neither replaced nor washed. This also is out of kilter with every other hotel.
6. No hand towels provided. Again this is not normal hotel practice.
7. A bathmat was provided - for the first day. We never saw it again after that.
8. Boiled eggs for breakfast arealways hard-boiled. Despite requests for soft boiled eggs, this appeared to be beyond their culinary capacity. In addition both coffee and orange juice are available on the breakfast menu but, if you want both, you have to pay extra.
9. I'm obviously not alone in being uncomfortable at my passport being held. I can certainly sympathise with the need to sight, and take details of the passport, but to use it as security for possible non-payment tells more about the hotel's attitude towards its guests than anything else.
10. Due to an early flight we needed to leave the hotel at 6.15am. The previous night we arranged with the two receptionists at the front desk that they would provide a packaged breakfast for us. Breakfast was an included part of our accommodation. In the morning 'Sorry, the restaurant does not open until 6.30am'. The promises and assurancesof the previous night were empty.
11. The final straw - we enquired at the desk about a taxi to the airport. $15US. Further investigation revealed that the two major taxi companies in HCMC, Mai Linh and Vinson, do the same trip for between $6 and $8. We encountered some language difficulties in explaining the date/time etc of pickup to one of these companies, so requested assistance from the desk in terms of interpretation. They flatly refused as they "did not have a deal with those companies".

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 276 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

the alley way is very busy down to the hotel and it was a bit tricky getting the bags through. The hotel is nice though,room was nicely decorated. Our problem was the heat! The sun must have shone on the wall all day so the heat in the room was incredible, even the bedhead has warm of the touch. And the ac took so long to cool the room down, it also automatically switches off when you remove the key so you always walk in to a hot room.
The breakfast room on the roof was lovely as was the breakfast, although the view was a bit grim, the rooftops of Saigon are just not that pretty.
Just round the corner to all the restaraunts and bars - very lively and so cheap. (Food not the best I have had in Vietnam tho.)
The staff were very helpful, went out of their way to get us bus tickets on the next part of our journey.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Craggscrazycaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Four of us stayed here as part of trip around SE Asia. Our initial impression of the hotel wasn't great. This was mainly caused by the man at reception on the night we arrived. We were used to handing over our passports and having to ask for them back, but he really pushed it too far by insisting we all hand over our passports for the entire stay! We said we'd never had to do this before and he tried to claim that it was a police requirement. Funny how no other hotel in Vietnam tried this with us. I'm aware that it's a police requirement that hotels take their guests' passport details, but not hang on to them for a few days like that!

He also tried to insist that we give him credit card details and allow him to put a charge on the credit card in advance, not as payment for the hotel, this would be separate. We refused this again as we were just not getting a good impression so far. It wasn't mentioned by any other staff member during our stay, nor was keeping the passports.

There was one towel each in the room, with no hand towels in the bathroom. I had to ask 4 separate times to get a hand towel for the room and they were removed again the next day. I've no problem with hostels not supplying hand towels, but surely any hotel does this as standard?

Breakfast was fine, it was in a nice open room at the roof, but it wasn't a restaurant by any stretch of the imagination. The rooms were also good, comfortable beds and small but clean bathroom.

A major problem for us was a tour organised by the hotel to the Cu Chi tunnels. We paid $100 for a driver and guide for the day. The guide, who told us to call him Charlie, was very friendly when he arrived the next day and chatted to us in the car too, filling us in on general information about Vietnam. We couldn't understand the change when we got to the tunnels. He seemed very interested in showing us things that he could physically demonstrate eg weapons, traps etc. When it came to various locations around the place he just told us the name, that we could take some photos, and walked off to the next spot. We were listening to other tour guides fill their groups in on very interesting facts along the way, but we didn't get anything like this.

I didn't go into the tunnels as I felt it would be too claustrophobic for me. I tried to ask Charlie some general questions while I waited for my friends but he just told me to walk down the path to meet them at the tunnel exit. He went off talking to staff working there. I walked down on my own, again hearing great details from other tour guides on my way.

When we got back to the hotel we did complain about the trip but the most they would do was refund $20. I felt this was very poor service, and reflects extremely badly on the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bookworm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinhuynh, Manager at Green Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

First, we would like to thank you for your stay with us. Second, we are grateful for your review that gives us a chance to explain what happened

1 Basing on our policy, we kept your passport because of two reasons. First, we need your identification information to report to the local police according to Vietnamese police regulation. Second, your passport is a means to secure your payment during your stay at the hotel. If you want to get back your passport, we have to place a hold on your card by verifying it. We will release that hold after you settle your bill. Releasing holds can take some time, so we prefer having your passport until your payment is cleared.
2 We are careful with tour companies. Delta Tours Company has been working with us for a while. Everything had been fine until your complaint was brought to our attention. We called the travel company to request them to solve the problem. They came to our hotel to apologize you. They also gave you a partial refund. Moreover, our manager had a meeting with the owner of that company to discuss this problem further. She promised that it would never happen again. Even though the problem was not caused directly by us, we would like to apologize for your unpleasant experience. Necessarily, we will pay more attention to tour services which the travel companies provide for our guests.

Kevin Huynh (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

excellent clean hotel .good location .good security and amennities .I was dissapointed with a tour brought thru the hotel by me with delta tours .I paid 2 nites in mekong .1 homestay +1 in floating hotel .homestay excellent ,tour guide charged me for room which was already paid for plus supposed to get a dinner at floating hotel never got that either wasnt happy

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steamwharf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Had a really nice stay here for our one night. We had a massive triple room which had a really nice bathroom.

The staff were really helpful recommending where to eat, what to see and also about our onward travel. W also arrived early they kept our bags for an hour and still let us check in 2 hours early which is really nice and we got a cold bottle of water on arrival.

Breakfast was really nice we all just had egg and toast and you get jam. Best cup of tea so far in Asia and a banana.

The triple room was $38 which was fine between the 3 of us. You can get cheaper but this was a really nice western standard room.

We had no problem Down the alley. When we came back after eating the alley was still bustling with people eating at a few of the street restaurants.

Thanks green suites!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

For price, location and service, Green Suites is an excellent deal. The location is great for being in the heart of District 1, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. I really liked the rooftop restaurant and surprisingly good complimentary breakfasts. If you're on a budget, I'd highly recommend this place. I came for 3 days for a mix of study and sightseeing reasons, and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank Sage_HHue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a small hotel, but the location is great, and just away from the busy roads, so quiet for the city. Great little breakfast up on the roof, nice and simple but better than anywhere else we tried. The reason to write this review though is to mention the outstanding service from Thuy Anh who works there, she had this happy smile all day long, and nothing was too much trouble for her. She helped organise our tours and sightseeing and made our trip to Ho chi minh very memorable, so thank you for this, we hope to come back one day if just for the great service and warm welcome!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yzcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.3 mi away
Ngoc Minh Hotel
Ngoc Minh Hotel
#230 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#102 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#4 of 986 in Ho Chi Minh City
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Funny Guesthouse
Funny Guesthouse
#33 of 986 in Ho Chi Minh City
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Suites Hotel 2
Green Suites Hotel 2
#381 of 986 in Ho Chi Minh City
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Suites Hotel

Address: 102 / 1 Cong Quynh, Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 986 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $21 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Green Suites hotel! We understand that there's an increasing need for tourists and business travelers alike to stay where the community is. All in all, it's about comfort. It's about convenience. It's about privacy and personal preferences. However, it's NOT about high cost. With that as our mission, Green Suites Hotel, as a newly built hotel, located in the bustling centre of backpacker community (Cong Quynh, Bui Vien, De Tham), was born to serve the lodging needs for YOU, demanding a convenient access to the central district's facilities, tour operators, restaurants, bars and shopping centers with bustling activities all day and night long as well as a peaceful and comfortable accommodation. Furthermore, the hotel is within a walking distance to the Ben Thanh market, the Saigon river, as well as many other tourist attractions such as the War museum, the Notre Dame cathedral, and the Reunification palace. Green Suites Hotel offers 18 cozy rooms with modern facilities and nice decorations, which we're committed to give you an enjoyable stay during your visit to Ho Chi Minh City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Green Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing