We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steps away from Shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alagon Western Hotel
Ranked #84 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Steps away from Shopping”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my husband frm 10th-12th April 2014 and it's fall on my birthday. As we are a Muslim couple, hotel is located to most of Halal certified restaurants & cafes. Check in was a bit problem as we arrived the hotel earlier at 9.00am which the reception only allowed us to check in on 2.00pm. We paid VND 250K for early check in. Unlike others countries we have been travelled, the hotel allowed for early check in. We were upgrade to so called Suites which was actually small.. A bit old but as long it's functional. Need a revamp.. Room only have minimal lights but we are fine.. Clean & neat room. Eventhough the hotel surrounded by shop houses & illegal pushcarts, the noise was quite controlable.Breakfast was ok. The hotel serve basic breakfast with one non-Halal dish separate from other foods. Staffs are friendly and able to speak English.

Only few steps away from Ben Thanh Market, Coffee Beans & Tea Leaves, Mini Marts, Baskin & Robbin, Cafes & shoppings. Saigon Square is 1km away from the hotel which you can shop in peace without touting unlike Ben Thanh Market ¦(

High ends shopping malls like Parkson & other designers brands boutique located 2km away. Cathedral & Saigon post office only 15mins taxi ride which cost USD$3-USD$6. The hotel also provides land tour but we skipped it. I will recommends this hotel if anyone don't mind the location. We will choose this hotel if we have chance to come back to Saigon.

From the airport to the hotel took.us 30mins & cost us USD$10-$12 which we took.Vinasun taxi. .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sueyiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_hhl2, Manager at Alagon Western Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your honest review. I really appreciate your positive comments.
We have been working very hard to make sure that we provide good quality for every guest in every time. In fact, as soon as possible we have room available, we will let guest check in early. On the day you arrived at 9:00 AM, the occupied room had have been in house until noon and of course we need time to set up your check in. I am really sorry for your waiting.
I would like to thank you for putting our hotel in good location and we look forward to serving you again soon when you back to our area in Ho Chi Minh City.

Best Regards,
Chuong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    132
    68
    21
    12
See reviews for
94
92
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Met at the airport by a taxi from the hotel which is a good start to a trip.
Hotel is very centrally situated in a very busy noisy suburb of hoi Chi Min City. Hotel has a few computers in the foyer which guests can use free of charge which I thought ws good… only problem was whilst we were there, there were a number of power cuts which can be very frustrating when you are in the middle of doing something on the computer and the power suddenly goes. I was worried a few times because I was signed into web sites and I was unable to sign out! Also linked to the power cuts were the lifts, I was worried that I might end up stuck in a lift if the power went off! So I used the stairs, only problem being I was on the 8th floor!
Room was ok with a television with a sprinkling of the usual channels.
The hotel made a good base for exploring different parts of the city. Buffet breakfast was fine. Inexpensive hotel providing good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i_tasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_hhl2, Manager at Alagon Western Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Mr I_tasker

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We really appreciate your comments regarding to hotel's facilities. We already upgrade and change new components for the computer at the lobby. We also really apology for the power cut of the lift. At that time, We have the sudden electricity cut by the Electricity Department of City and of course we started right away the sub electricity power in the hotel.
We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and show you how the hotel have much improve all facilities for much better services, and once again, thank you for your valued comments!
Best Regards,

Chuong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My son and I arrived early from the train trip from Da Nang at about 6 a.m. and it was no trouble to book in at that time though it cost us a bit more. The outstanding feature of this hotel is the staff and three are particularly memorable and an asset to the hotel, Angela, Lucy and Herbert. Angela was particularly helpful with printing new e-tickets when our domestic flight schedule was changed back in Australia plus some personal help interpreting Vietnamese writing. She also booked my train trip north and obtained an aged persons discount which was a considerable saving. Other staff were extremely helpful in finding a dental clinic and ensuring they spoke English before making an appointment for me. Staff on the door always gave a friendly greeting. I have absolutely no complaints regarding this hotel. Yes, there are some guests who have no consideration for others and allow their children to run up and down the corridors but I don't blame the hotel staff for this. Apart from a little of that noise I did not find the hotel noisy at all. I consider this a great value for money hotel and would certainly stay there again when in Saigon.

Room Tip: If you require a window view make sure you ask for a room with windows. I only require a hotel room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_hhl2, Manager at Alagon Western Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Rob

Thank you very very much for your kind feedback and great commend.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the our Hotel and you remarked all perfect things for the hotel. We’ll transfer your feedback about the staff to them. With your great commend, it’s very important to us. Besides, We really appreciate for your sympathetic about the noise in the hotel.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again soon and are looking forward to your next visit in Saigon

Yours sincerely

Chuong FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I originally booked our stay for 3 nights and ended up staying for 7 nights. The front counter staff could not be more friendly and helpful if they tried. They helped book train tickets, plane tickets and print out tickets for our flights. We booked a day trip to Cu Chi tunnels which was great from the travel desk. Bellboys would run up the street to get taxis for you if requested.
The rooms are good although you can hear noise in the hallway pretty easy but that would be my only complaint. The breakfast was good and a buffet style with plenty of choices even halal if you so desire.
I would stay there again no problem at all and would recommend it to other people looking for an affordable place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_hhl2, Manager at Alagon Western Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Davidlord

Thank you very much for spending your time to give us a kind feedback.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. We are so happy that you appreciate the breakfast and the tour booked in the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in our hotel and hope we can prove our high standard of hospitality again.

Sincerely yours
Chuong, FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel rates itself as 3 star on it's business card; but I am not convinced.
We stayed on level 5 and the rooms are tired, poorly lit and poorly ventilated. Also the breakfast buffet wasn't ready at 6am which is disappointing if heading out on an early tour or departure.
the reception staff are most welcoming and very helpful. There seems to be a bazaar or private market going on in the lobby which takes up a considerable amount of room and makes the lobby uninviting if you want a place to sit & relax rather than being boxed in your room. The street outside is teeming with traders and half a block from the night market. The area seems to cater to Malaysian tourists.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before checking in. Check the aircon in the room and the bathroom before checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lathkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_hhl2, Manager at Alagon Western Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear lathkill

Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight feedback.

We express regret for the space in the lobby which have a few group check in at the same time. The location of our hotel is in the center of the City and next to the Ben Thanh Market. It is really exiting and crowded on the street in front of the hotel, specially after 6:00 PM.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Ben Thanh Market area and hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service.

Sincerely yours

Chuong, FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The room was not sound-proof at all. You should expect to be waken up in the middle of the night and very very early morning (free morning waking-up service there) because of the noise in the hallway. It is highly recommended to wear ear plugs if you want a good night sleep (or get very drunk the night before). We could hear anything that was on the hallway from people talking, people walking, kids running, kids screaming to people showering in their rooms

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmy_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_hhl2, Manager at Alagon Western Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to apologize for the noise, that you experienced during your recent stay. We always try and provide the comfort and quiet environment for the guest. Honestly, When you were staying in our hotel, We had some family group stayed with their children running on the floors. I would also like you to know that we will take steps to make sure that our hallways are better supervised to prevent this from happening again.

Best Regards,

Chuong, FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in December 2013. This hotel is not the most 'elegant' hotel in Saigon but definitely meets all the criteria to ensure for a great stay in Saigon. If you are looking for a budget hotel with adequate facilities then definitely consider this hotel!

SERVICE: All staff members were polite and spoke fluent english. The hotel also offers day tours for a great price (we did the City and the Cu Chi tunnels tours). Our stay there also included a buffet breakfast. The wifi speed was good enough for us to FaceTime back home in Sydney.

VALUE: definitely!

SLEEP QUALITY: The bedsheets were clean with comfortable pillows (I thoroughly inspect hotel beds prior to sleeping on them). The hotel rooms were fairly close to each other with thin walls. I was able to hear people talking along the hall way in the early hours of the morning.

CLEANLINESS: The entire room was very clean. The only thing that bothered me was the plant sitting on the vanity as there were tiny bugs crawling out of it…

LOCATION: From the hotel you can easily walk to Ben Thanh Market to get delicious cheap food and clothes. There are heaps of Vietnamese ice coffees just outside the hotel. At around 7pm, there is a long strip of night markets selling lots of imitation products! Make sure you bargain as the locals WILL try and rip you off!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trayseeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_hhl2, Manager at Alagon Western Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Trayseeee,
Thank you very very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate your kind words,wonderful suggestion and positive feedback.
All staffs and hotel management work very hard to give the best services to all guests staying in the hotel.
We look forward to your next visit to the Ben Thanh area in Ho Chi Minh City, and would like you to know that we truly value your staying!

Best Regards,

Chuong, FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
#99 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
713 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#55 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Luxe Hotel
The Luxe Hotel
#82 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#53 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#51 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anpha Boutique Hotel
Anpha Boutique Hotel
#26 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alagon Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagon Western Hotel

Property: Alagon Western Hotel
Address: 28-30 Nguyen An Ninh Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Hoang Hai Long 2 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagon Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alagon Western Hotel is centrally located in the midst of Ho Chi Minh City, and within walking distance of major centres of commerce and entertainment. It takes only two-minute walking to Ben Thanh Market, more three minutes to Saigon Opera House, Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral Basilica, etc.., The hotel is the perfect place for business and leisure tour Hoang Hai Long: a place of great hospitality. You will be pleased with the state-of-the-art convenience, and the most wonderful services that Hoang Hai Long has to offer. "COME TO ALAGON WESTERN - COME TO THE PERFECTION". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alagon Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing