We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alagon Western Hotel
Ranked #93 of 465 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed June 17, 2012

stayed at this hotel from 15-19 june 2012 siince its just 2-3mins walk to ben than market which is just across the road!!! so for those people who is into shopping..this is the hotel you want to stay at..get the 304 room which is rather large compared to the price paid and sufficient space with en-suite bathroom..wifi is available in the room (";)..and great staff who speak fluent english and able to help with directions..and to muslim..the halal shop Basiron is just outside the front door..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank byetzhourha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 350 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had 4 nights at this hotel. We had a suite which was up front. So we had a window. We believe that some rooms do not have a window at all. The room was clean but only single beds. Bathroom was ok. The staff were nice. The WiFi was not available in the room only got internet in the lobby on the the hotel's computers. Very slow. The buffet breakfast was not very good. Not a lot of Western style food to choose from. They had one small toaster for everyone to cook toast in so that took a lot of time also the Orange juice was cordial... not good for diabetics. Coffee was terrible.
The bonus of staying at this hotel is it is close to the Market and also only a few mins walk to the Bus Station. Heaps of restaurants in HCMC in many pockets so finding a place to eat close by was not a problem. It was comfortable enough but have stayed in better places on previous visits.The corridors were tiled and noise carried also the walls were thin and so you could hear people in the next room if they had children crying or the TV loud. Probably would not stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can request a large king bed if it is required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0J057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We booked here because the Lavender (which we stayed at 2 months earlier) and other budget-priced hotels near the Ben Thanh market with higher TA ratings were full.
Room 802, termed a "suite", was about a 15' X 20' bedroom area plus a bathroom. Bed linens were clean but the wife saw a few long hairs on the floor that weren't hers. Noted a few black mildew spots on the bathtub caulking along the wall but no musty smell. After breakfast one morning the wife saw a few ants on her corner of the bed. She lifted the corner sheets and there were hundreds on the mattress. She promptly got a wet towel and started scooping them up and washing them down the sink while I called front desk. A young man came immediately, saw the problem, pulled the sheets off the bed, pulled back the mattresses and returned quickly with fresh linens and a can of Raid. He wanted to spray the top of the mattress and headboard/floor area. We said NO and just had him take the old linens and leave. We got rid of the ants and wiped the area with soapy water. We left for the morning and upon return no ants. However the next morning there were a few ants on the mattress. We were told we could move to the suite next door which would be available in the afternoon. We asked for something further away and got room 602 two floors below - identical layout but the door used a key instead of RF card - and no mildew spots around the tub but a bit of peeling paint near the floor - and, thankfully, no ants.
Buffet breakfast was on the 9th floor accessible only by stairs from the 8th floor. We enjoyed the selection/variety including the chance to sample the many Halal designated items (we saw and spoke to several Malay or Indonesians who we assumed were Muslims as the ladies wore scarves over their heads).
We loved the hotel location for it's proximity to the Ben Thanh market (closes around 5pm and the surrounding streets become a night market) and the short walking distance to the Reunification Palace and War Remnants Museum (two must see attractions).
The hotel staff were apologetic and accommodating. In a pinch we would stay here again because of the staff but it wouldn't be our first choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UWHusky1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Booked thru agoda website. Not a bad hotel afterall. The guy n gals receptionist all can speak english. So no problem interacting with them. Bellboys very polite and hardworking. Cleaners are doing their wrk. Overall thumbs up. Breakfast not that fantastic but still exceptable. Aircon in the room was not strong enough.. Water not hot enough.. Mosquitos found in the room.. Killed 2! The noise effect from closing doors etc was bearable.. This building highest floor is 8th n 9th floor is the cafe where u hav breakfast. Lift at times no ventilation so it will be warm. 2 pc for surfing internet at the lobby. Their sister hotel hoang hai long is just a 5mins walk away which provide more facilities like tours.. Massage etc.. Night market n ben thanh market just few steps away. But selling price extremely ex. Its either u bargain by half else just go away. They wont stop u. Opp this hotel selling delicious seafood! Must try! Taxi ez to get. U can ask hotel staff to call for u. Meter start from 11600 vnd or 12500 vnd. Remember to get hotel name card for ez access back. Try places either by taxi or walk like saigon centre.. Saigon square.. Water puppet show.. Vincom centre.. Etc which are near to this hotel. Or get 1 day tours from sinhtourist. Lastly.. Dun walk home with hotel slipper.. They will make u pay for everything lost.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannongzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Very convenient and nice location. Front desk staff very helpful and the bell boy was recommended alot of local famous places to us. Must try their massage, cheap and good. The room was ok and we dont expect much from the room coz we paid USD30++/night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovediving123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this place for 2 nights. Hotel was really nice, room was really small and dont have any windows but comfortalbe enough. Clean. Didnt like breakfast so much. And they didnt have water at the buffet. Hotel has a very good location. Next to the main market place and many restaurants & coffee shops. Walking distance to the river side. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed here as part of a tour. The hotel is fine. It is very large with 2 towers. Breakfast was a bit boring. The service was fine. Overall, I felt I could have been anywhere in Asia, there was nothing that really set it apart or made it special. the bathroom was a bit tired looking, but the bed was comfortable. Free use of computers in breakfast area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristinahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#53 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
#101 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
758 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Luxe Hotel
The Luxe Hotel
#87 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Diamond Hotel
Blue Diamond Hotel
#89 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anpha Boutique Hotel
Anpha Boutique Hotel
#34 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#48 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alagon Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagon Western Hotel

Address: 28-30 Nguyen An Ninh Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Hoang Hai Long 2 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 465 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $36 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagon Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alagon Western Hotel is centrally located in the midst of Ho Chi Minh City, and within walking distance of major centres of commerce and entertainment. It takes only two-minute walking to Ben Thanh Market, more three minutes to Saigon Opera House, Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral Basilica, etc.., The hotel is the perfect place for business and leisure tour Hoang Hai Long: a place of great hospitality. You will be pleased with the state-of-the-art convenience, and the most wonderful services that Hoang Hai Long has to offer. "COME TO ALAGON WESTERN - COME TO THE PERFECTION". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alagon Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing