We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alagon Western Hotel
Ranked #84 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel is good value for money, across the road from the banh tahn markets is a bonus... Breakfast is included but Pho at the market is too great a temptation for a great start to the day..access is easy by taxi with the market as a easy guide for taxi drivers

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fender1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    133
    71
    21
    13
See reviews for
98
95
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
stockport
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Taxis stop outside the hotel as well as the pedicabs for easy touring or going somewhere special. The taxi fare from the airport to the hotel is around $25 and takes about 40 minutes.
Close to the hotel are good eating places and the prices are reasonable. There is also a large market two or three minutes walk from the hotel where you can buy everything from souveniers and clothes to fruit & veg, as well as meat and fish. A great place to browse, but keep your wallets safe.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StockportNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntexas
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The staff has very low experience with English fortunately our OAT tour leader was often available to assist with translations.. Rooms are very nice. Breakfast is a zoo even though plentiful It is 3 hotels so you must call out to get a room in next hotel. Staff are very friendly but have trouble with English. Very poor on wakeup callls.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockwallTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

If you come to HCMC to shop, this is one of the best place to stay. Very near to Banh Tahn Market. If you are muslim, there's a muslim restaurant about 150 meters from the hotel.

The room was standard. The bed was comfy and as we were located on the top floor and facing the back of the hotel, we had some view of the city. However, the room was not sound proof. For me it was ok that you can hear some noise from the next room but it was very annoying when we were awaken early in the morning as they were arranging the the hotel restaurant, which is located above our room, for breakfast. As early as 6am you can here loads of heavy footsteps, table moving, and lots of talking. Really really annoying. I can't sleep after that.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor under the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zalss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Overall we were satisfied with the hotel for the price that we paid though the rooms are not very sound proof as we could the next door people talking and furniture being moved in the room one floor above us. In addition, when we checked out, we were told we had to pay for one face towel that was missing. We refused as we certainly did not take and I remembered we were given only one face towel instead of two!

So check that you are issued with the correct number of towers!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Just one of the seemingly thousands of small hotels in central HCM. Great location if you like to watch the local people and shop the night markets in District 1. We had one of the suites, with a window that faced the street in front of the hotel. GREAT views. Windows open so you can hear the street noise if you want. The room itself was large, and very very clean. There are cheaper places to stay, but the hotel staff was FANTASTIC. I found best hotel rates by using Agoda.com. We used the hotel as a base of our travels, and venturing out for three days at a time before returning. The hotel kept our extra luggage secured while we were away at no charge. A nice perk, and so glad we did not need to drag everything with us on the bus trips. I highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely stay there again. BTW, VietNam is a fantastic place to travel.

Room Tip: I love experiencing the culture...so asking for a room which faces the street were great for that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Baru Bangi, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Good location, facilities. Try their best to fulfill our requirements, but only with the help of our local tour guide.
Their porters are good, easy to throw their smile away, BUT NOT their front desk waitress.

Room Tip: Front and back rooms are with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#56 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
#95 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Luxe Hotel
The Luxe Hotel
#82 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#55 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anpha Boutique Hotel
Anpha Boutique Hotel
#27 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#41 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alagon Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagon Western Hotel

Property: Alagon Western Hotel
Address: 28-30 Nguyen An Ninh Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Hoang Hai Long 2 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagon Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alagon Western Hotel is centrally located in the midst of Ho Chi Minh City, and within walking distance of major centres of commerce and entertainment. It takes only two-minute walking to Ben Thanh Market, more three minutes to Saigon Opera House, Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral Basilica, etc.., The hotel is the perfect place for business and leisure tour Hoang Hai Long: a place of great hospitality. You will be pleased with the state-of-the-art convenience, and the most wonderful services that Hoang Hai Long has to offer. "COME TO ALAGON WESTERN - COME TO THE PERFECTION". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alagon Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing