We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alagon Western Hotel
Ranked #98 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Great location, about 3 mins walk to Ben Thanh Market - a place for souvenirs, coffee, etc. The hotel is about 20 mins ride from the International airport. You can approach the counter to arrange for airport taxi to the hotel which cost a flat fee of USD10. Do negotiate the taxi price before proceeding. Booked the hotel via Agoda for the deluxe room. But the hotel staff upgraded us to the Suite room located at Room 103. The hotel staff are friendly and service is excellent. The room was spacious with windows and had a bathtub for bathing. Clean toilets especially, the only thing is the walls are not sound proof, other than that, the hotel is really a good one to consider.
The hotel has also arranged local day tours to both Cu Chi Tunnels & Mekong Delta (floating market). The price for the half day Cu Chi Tunnels are at USD11 inclusive of english speaking tour guide, return bus pickup trip from hotel to Cu Chi and vice versa. It excludes the entrance fee of the Cu Chi Tunnels which cost 80,000 VND per pax. Great experience to the Cu Chi Tunnels. As for the 1 day Mekong Delta (floating market), it cost USD19 which includes small lunch, return bus pickup trip from hotel to Mekong Delta and vice versa, english speaking tour guide. There are no other extra costs, except if you would like to order a la carte dishes during lunch time. Other than that, the trip was a great one!
One thing that is commendable about the hotel staff is they are really efficient in getting a taxi for you and opening the doors of the hotel. I enjoyed my stay in HHL 2 and will definitely consider staying in the same hotel if I were to re-visit HCMC again.

Room Tip: Booked the rooms with Windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinkmartini88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 350 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel has a great location. I had room 905 which was good size with a small window with a view of rooftops. It was very clean. Bed linens were a little tired with some rips. There was good a/c and Cable TV with 80 stations . The room shares one wall with another room and you could hear some noise. The room also had a large wall clock.

I peeked into surrounding rooms when they were being readied for the next occupants. Room 902 was smaller than mine (905) and room 901 was a mini-suite that faced the front of the building and had lots of natural light.

The bathroom is one of the nicest I had in a standard hotel in Vietnam. A large triangular spa-style tub, good water pressure and a Toto (Japanese) toilet.

It is disappointing that housekeeping keeps their carts right outside this room which ruins some of the classiness of this hotel.

The two towers of the hotel share the same breakfast area and it gets crowded. There are 7 computers in the lobby split into two areas.

Surprisingly some of the reception staff do not speak or understand English. So if you have a problem, keep talking to people until someone understands what you need.

The hotel is walking distance to the Ben Thanh Market.

I was on a group tour and stayed three nights. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Take a look at a few rooms, especially the mini-suites. The windows and natural light will be worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Good hotel, perhaps slightly expensive. My room was very small with no windows but very compact and everything worked. The hotel is very well located near the main tourist market

Room Tip: do better than me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is in a perfect location for shopping. Ben Thanh market, night market and Saigon Square is all near the hotel. Its value for money. Would recommend this hotel for the location if you intend to do a lot of shopping and not spending much time in the room.

Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. However, there were mosquitoes in my room and later found that the mosquitoes are breeding in a potted plant from the bathroom. Its also noisy as the walls are terribly thin. Avoid rooms near the lift, you can hear every conversation from the guest that are waiting for the lifts.

We booked for a day tour to Mekong River (wanted to see the floating market), but when arrived, was told that the floating market usually ends at about 9/10am+. The tour starts at about 7.30am and with no delay, there is no way we can arrive at the destination before the floating market closes. So, why advertise it in the itinerary? We were not too happy with this, but the rest of the tour is good. Also, when we board the bus and when the tour guide brief us on the itinerary, we noticed a few item being left out. We have to keep asking him on when will we get to do this or go there. Not sure if it is being left out intentionally or not.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun_kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Hotel is located close to Ben Thanh market. If you light it on at the hotel lobby, once you reach Ben Thanh entrance see your cigarette only burn half!. Surrounded by many shops, convenience shops just few meters from lobby. Easy to get taxi especially Vinasun. Ask the bell boy nicely they will assist you even in the rain!. Don't rude to them as they will never entertain you as you wish. There is one lady receptionist, short hair, age 30 to mid 30's with poor english. She's like hate guest to ask her a lot or have a suspicious on her. Other hotel staff are OK as long as you talk to them nicely. Hotel lobby is just small. Free internet using at lobby. No FACEBOOK in Vietnam. My room was clean (4017 if I'm not mistaken), simple but nice deco, nice bathroom, flatscreen on the wall. Most of the room wall is separated using gypsum board, so you might hear your neighbours talking but not too loud. You can turn on your favourite channel, the annoying peoples talking will dissapear. Breakfast are mediocre. I just had cereals for breakfast. Please expect everything is like 2.5-3 star service. For muslim, halal food is just located 5 minutes walk from hotel lobby. The most interesting is the WiFi connection in the room is at 16Mbps speed. I think it is because the WiFi router is placed near my room so i get full speed! Overall OK for stay. Reasons to stay there again for my next visit is because the value, overall service OK, distance to attractions, Taxi to airport only USD$8 one way per 1 car (Toyota Innova). Cheers

Room Tip: If I'm not mistaken my room was 4017. Room is facing shop house dwellers. Close to WiFi router s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is a nice hotel by Saigon standards, and pretty good value for money. I opted for the Superior/No Window room and must admit it was small and claustrophobic, though very clean and nicely appointed. During my second stay there, I went for the same cheap room option, but got something slightly larger and more comfortable (I think the key is to avoid any room number ending in -01). Bathroom was fine, though the water in the shower backed up and flooded the entire bathroom a half inch before slowly draining away. Breakfast was good, though there wasn't much variety. The staff was excellent, and helped me a lot with tour and bus bookings. I felt very comfortable leaving the bulk of my luggage at the hotel in the week between my two stays there. There's a taxi stand right outside the hotel, operated by one of the more trustworthy of the cab companies (Vinosun, I think).

The location of the hotel is just perfect -- right next to the Ben Thanh market, and virtually inside the Night Market that surrounds it after 6pm (so close, in fact, that the first night there I had trouble getting back to the hotel because the small street it's on was hidden by all the Night Market stalls that had been put up while I was out exploring).

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in -01 (201, 301, 401 etc.). They're tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Best hotel if you are looking for good location. Ben Tanh Market just 25 steps away, VN Halal Restaurant (for Muslim) just 20 step away, Saigon Square just 45 steps away, and also Night Market just 10 steps away from hotel. Taxi can be taken at the hotel entrance. Internet access with two computers provided at the lobby. Not so many variety of food during breakfast especially for Muslim traveler.

Room Tip: Choose Suite Room because its big and cozy. Do not take room at upper level e.g. level 5 and above b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salman f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#55 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
#93 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Luxe Hotel
The Luxe Hotel
#89 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Diamond Hotel
Blue Diamond Hotel
#85 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#52 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#50 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alagon Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagon Western Hotel

Address: 28-30 Nguyen An Ninh Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Hoang Hai Long 2 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $41 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagon Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alagon Western Hotel is centrally located in the midst of Ho Chi Minh City, and within walking distance of major centres of commerce and entertainment. It takes only two-minute walking to Ben Thanh Market, more three minutes to Saigon Opera House, Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral Basilica, etc.., The hotel is the perfect place for business and leisure tour Hoang Hai Long: a place of great hospitality. You will be pleased with the state-of-the-art convenience, and the most wonderful services that Hoang Hai Long has to offer. "COME TO ALAGON WESTERN - COME TO THE PERFECTION". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alagon Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing