We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“normal hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Central Hotel
Ranked #88 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed August 13, 2014

upgraded to signature deluxe. feels like a 3 stars hotel. everything is like a 3 star except for the 4 star pricing. they have a policy of not bringing viet girls to the room after 10pm but of course you can sort of book another room saying you are staying separately. limited nice breakfast and great view.

Room Tip: not much difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank KeLe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 835 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

We decided to stay closer to ben thant market this occasion of travel so we choose Golden Central.

Located like 5 mins away from Ben Thant Market, it is also centrally located from most of the local must see Landmarks - War Museum, Opera House and etc...

The staff were very friendly, efficient check in. We booked a room with 2 single beds but they advised on an upgrade for $30 USD per night with additional single bed including breakfast.

Breakfast spread was decent, more on cookies and cakes then the usual. Nothing spectacular.

The pool is on the 16th floor which brings in colder waters than the usual.

If you are choosing a room, please choose further from the lift lobby as the noise pollution travels easily beyond walls in this hotel. We stayed on the 6th floor which is non smoking but the corridor was filled with occasional cigarette smell.

The bath is much spoken off in the reviews for this hotel, The shower cubicle does leak bath water and floods the floor if not used properly.

The room lighting is somewhat dim, our room lack ceiling lighting. The power points available were limited too, 2 points only.

Overall a great stay, efficient check in and check out. Great bell hop service and front desk too. We were looking for a salon with hair braiding and they manage to source one within minutes for us located 10 mins away from the hotel.

Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose away from the lift lobby rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank carolchalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Decided to stay within walking distance of Ben Thant market this visit. Our choice was Golden Central Hotel, very conveniently located near to major attraction sites other than the market.

We stayed in Signature Deluxe Room, with upgrade to triple share for $30USD per night.

The rates we painful comes with daily breakfast, the spread is reasonable with extra choices of cookies and local cake delights.

The rooms are fairly compact, avoid rooms near lift lobby as the noise level sometimes can get noisy transferring into rooms situated near this area.

There are limited power sockets available in room. Lighting in room are slightly dimmer than the average hotel as our room had limited ceiling lights.

The shower cubicle are state of the art but some mastering of usage to avoid entire bathroom floor soaked in after shower water. Basic toiletry necessities are provided.

Overall check in and check out is smooth and front desk is helpful in all our queries.

Definitely a good choice of stay when visiting HCMC, well worth the price.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have just experienced 4 days in this supposed 4 star hotel. BEWARE-its not. Although a friendly welcome was received on the first day the rest was frustrating and disappointing. Perhaps a new manager who could whip the rest of the staff into action. My main issue was the non-existent gym and very very ordinary roof top pool. Broken chairs, dirty cushions, old dilapidated rusty gym equipment were what you will be met with (lucky the photo's were done at night). The positives- breakfast and an upgrade after complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location within Saigon, an abundance of shops, markets, restaurants and landmarks nearby. The price and value for money is great and my personal favourite is the shower. After a long flight, these new age showers with steam sauna, lights, spa jets, various water heads and even a radio were my highlight haha

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Luke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The view from the hotel window and from the outdoor pool on the the 17th floor provided great views of the city. The room itself was quite small although provided everything you desire, and the housekeeping was very frequent and welcoming. The free breakfast wasn't the best quality.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Cinnamon_Bunsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Very good hotel with reasonable prises. Room were quite small but very nice and clean. The bed was very good to sleep! Rooftop pool is also quite small but still spacious enough to cool down. Sunbeds were also great. Location were perfect - close everything. Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tiinakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#27 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#20 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
547 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Hotel Ho Chi Minh
Bay Hotel Ho Chi Minh
#85 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Boutique Hotel
Millennium Boutique Hotel
#42 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
A&Em Signature Hotel
A&Em Signature Hotel
#217 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Ho...
#50 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Central Hotel

Address: 140 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $64 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing