We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located but slightly impersonal hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Central Hotel
Ranked #82 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well located but slightly impersonal hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you only have a few days in Ho Chi Minh City and want to see all the historic sites, this is a good hotel to choose. It is close to the main tourist market and about a 15 minute walk from the Reunification Palace and War Remnants Museum.

The rooftop pool is small, but being on the 16th floor has a great view over the city. The "fitness centre" consisted of a small number of machines next to the pool, most of which did not work.

The rooms were modern and comfortable, but might be a little small if you were staying there more than a few days. There is a good, free wifi connection throughout the hotel.

We did not eat in the restaurant, but it looked a little overpriced compared to those outside of the hotel. The buffet breakfast had a good range of Asian and western food.

Overall, a convenient city base but don't expect a lot of character.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom131986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    375
    163
    40
    35
See reviews for
117
343
62
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in May this year, whilst it was clean and well located, it was very basic no luxuries at all.
Very impersonable do not remember a smile or greeting from any member of staff.
Handy for market shopping but beware of the BUSY road outside, try to cross with other people for safety.
The pool was adequate but not wonderful, breakfasts were a little cramped and seating very close together, you had to time it to avoid rush hour, which was difficult as we were out site seeing all day, and left first thing.

Room Tip: I only saw my room so could not advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amusedDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of the Ben Thanh markets and many of the key Saigon attractions which made it a great place to stay to explore the city. The rooms are clean and tidy with quick internet access for those needing it.

Service was ok but not fantastic however with the tour desk was very knowledgeable and helpful. The rooftop bar, restaurant and pool have excellent views over the city which is great and the food was also varied and delicious. Definitely recommend this hotel for the location and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeremyNeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We feel on reflection we made a good choice in selecting Golden Central, on arrival at Tan Son Nhat Airport, we had to wait a while for a taxi, but now with hindsight we have the following advice for other European travellers arriving at the airport.

On arrival and having collected your bags, ignore everything you see as you exit the airport doors in arrivals, you will be deluged with offers of taxis to district 1, simply ignore them politely, and head over to the very far left hand side of the airport concourse, you should look for the VinaSun rep, he is in green shirt, you will see them hanging around, they speak english to a relative degree, tell them the hotel, they will pass that on to your taxi driver, the Vinasun taxi company is trustworthy, they put on the meter and they drivers help you with your bags, also, they are well dressed, collar and tie, the fare to Golden Central should be about 130,000 VND you can change your Euros, Dollars (Not POUNDS STERLING - Our advice is to have US Dollars on arrival, buy before you leave Europe).

To change USD 200.00 is bout 4 Million VND, the taxis are plentiful and cheap, a ride to the Golden Central takes about 20 minutes to 30 minutes depending on time of day, traffic etc, its between USD 7 and USD 8 depending on issues I can't explain here.

You can also use the Mai Linh company, we found them also to be trustworthy, well dressed drivers, and use the meter also, no hassle about cost of fares, and the Royal merry go around and we dont speaky any kind of english.

On arrival, Golden Central has 2 or 3 bell boys outside, and security guards, they also speak reasonable conversational english, they will help you with your bags, the hotel is a high rise block, with 17 floors, we were given 2 rooms on the 15th floor, the rooms are fairly large and spacious, the shower cabinets are certainly something of an attraction in themselves, multi use jacuzzi, massage jets, and rain head drench shower, and second shower, nice cabinets, but most of the gadgets bells and whistles in them you will not use, but its their if you can figure out how they work, the sad thing is, the Hotel has not bothered to put any instructions for english speakers there, so its pretty Useless however, lets not moan, they are there if you need them.

The T.V. in the room is pretty good, large flat screen t.v. with plenty of channels, most are in the Vietnamese language, but you've got AXN and a few others to watch, so your not bored in the late evenings.

The Beds are comfortable, their is room service if you need it, their is a nice small pool on the top floor with great views of Ho Chi Minh city, its welcome in the afternoon or evening after a day out sight seeing.

Breakfast is on the 16th floor, its a little cramped at rush hour, my advice is not to wait until 8.30pm, or after, get yourself in early, around 6.30 am to 7am, then you will get your choice of table, plus your not queueing at the Egg and Omelette station, the food is fine by me, Pork Siomai, bacon is sort of streaky, American and Canadian type, not Danish for your Danish bacon loving Brits, rice, other asian foods, plenty of toast, breads, salad, hams, tomatoes, and juices, coffee and tea on demand, its a buffet style, and I think its fine, although others have said on here its not great, thats probably because they have stayed in other Ho Chi Minh hotels, which we have nothing to compare it to, as its our first trip here, as far as I am concerned the breakfast was nice, and you can stay as long as you want.

The staff at breakfast were attentive, they do speak limited english which is helpful, reception also speak good english, which you would expect in a Global city hotel, the hotel is very close to the attractions such as the Re-Unification palace, the war remnants museum, the Notre Dam, also the main shopping district, Bitexco Tower, and the People's Committe (Hotel De Ville), its very safe there downtown as well, their are plenty of guards arround and their is a good presence of the Vietnamese Police.

We met an Australian lady who said, a Motorbike driver passed by her on the street and tried to grab her necklace, but she managed to protect it, our advice is, its all pretty safe, but ladies don't wear your expensive necklaces, and jewels its too much of a temptation, although Ho Chi Minh City looks prosperous, Vietnam is still a poor country, and temptation is always there, having said that we had a great time there, and the Golden Central is a good location, I would recommend it, the service, attentiveness of the door staff was fine, and they recommend Vinasun taxis, which there are plenty of them outside the hotel when you want to go anywhere, just tell the door men where you want to go, they will tell the driver.

Good Hotel, Good location, Good Staff, Good facilities, recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ginapeterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

It was finally a good choice. Favourite spot of the hotel - the roof top terrace with an amazing view over the city, has a pool, and some fitness stuff so managed to work out at 35degrees and chill out music looking over Ho Chi Minh away from all the traffic and honcking (dont raise expectations, the treatmill is pretty shaky and run down) - but overall a feel-good experience. Getting chatted up by drunk Russian tourists was not a highlight - but not the fault of the hotel in any case. The breakfast restaurant also shares a splendid view - all in glass, you seem to be sitting in the sky. Otherwise room ok, no luxury, just ok. location - the way we like it - just in the heart of things - busy street full of locals a block or so away from the main market. great place to visit almost anything in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bagy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had much, much higher expectations for this based on other hotel's in Vietnam, 4* rating and the price charged (think it was £55/night) . Expected a lot more so disappointed and we moved after one night

Pluses
Location spot on - very central.
Can walk to all main district 1 attractions.
Nice dipping swimming pool to cool off in.
Great views from the swimming pool.

Negatives
Didn't compare well to other hotels we stayed in in Vietnam in terms of price/facilities. Much better value/experience elsewhere
Dated rooms, breakfast not great.
Staff not as good as other places - you get used to great staff & service everywhere in Vietnam
Concierge tried to push trips on us as we arrived, showed us to our rooms and continued, phoned later, asked us the next morning...
Wanted to move after one night as we thought the hotel was poor for what they were charging. Hotel didn't make it easy to do this and required 3 conversations to avoid "penalty charge". Overall not great and much better value/experience elsewhere for a lot less money.

We had a walk around after one night to find another hotel - if you have time I'd do this, there's loads of choice and you get negotiate good prices and check out rooms/facilities.

To give perspective to my review we stayed in the Hanoi happy hotel, Hotel Eden (Saigon), Hoi An Chic & the Boutique Hoi An resort whilst in Vietnam & we had a great time at each.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thekingcanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The shower is amazing. Location is great and the staff are friendly and attentive, if there is nightlife in the area I wasn't able to find it but for a location for day time activity it is great. Breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liamskennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#30 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Ho...
#44 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#20 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
EdenStar Saigon Hotel
EdenStar Saigon Hotel
#53 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#37 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#33 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Central Hotel

Property: Golden Central Hotel
Address: 140 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing