We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel to stay at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Central Hotel
Ranked #81 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good hotel to stay at”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It is located one block away from Ben Thanh Markets. It is a four star hotel and the service is good. Staff speak limited English but we seemed to get by quite well. The rooms are good and very clean. The breakfast buffet was included in our price and it was also good. The pool on the roof is quite small but very clean and refreshing after a long day out walking. The room we stayed in had only one accessible power point so charging up various electrical devices became a bit of a shuffling act. The hotel has wifi in all rooms and this worked well most times although on occasion the service seemed to drop in and out randomly. But all up, a good hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    386
    168
    42
    36
See reviews for
125
353
63
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Staff are very friendly with good English. The room was spacious and clean although the view from the room was not pretty, looking out onto a wall. Great central location Ben Tahn markets , shops, reunification palace and many other attractions were all in walking distance. Nice dining room and breakfast and meals during the day were reasonably priced and tasty. Great views overlooking the city day and night from the roof top restaurant. I didn't enter the pool but it looked very clean , although a little small. If you are going to do any tours then XO tours is a must. It's the most amazing experience of my life time. Girls pick you up in full Vietnamese costume on the back of a motor bike and show you the city, either with food or without. It was that good I did the foodie tour and then chose the city tour two days later. This hotel is such a delight , very high standards, value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smoggy-boy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Pleasant hotel within easy walking to Ben Tanh market, Reunification Palace, cathedral and other sights around town. Very small pool located on the roof with an amazing view over the city and Bitexo Tower, beautiful lights of the skyline at night. Hotel is reasonable with rooms that are fairly large and clean, bathroom is very spacious. Staff are pleasant and generally have good basic English skills. Breakfast was very poor both on quality and choice for this standard of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frogoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nice room, good views, good Wi-Fi, state of the art showering system. Courteous staff and good shuttling service. If you prefer to stay in for dinner, the restaurant upstairs serves good food and has an excellent 360 degree view. However the inclusive buffet breakfast is one of the worst we have had during our 2-week tour of Vietnam. Skip the inclusive breakfast! You are at the heart of the city and there is plentiful of good places to eat. The in-house spa/massage facility provides good service at reasonable price if you don't want to get it outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hanh800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

WoW, what more can I say

This Hotel is one of a kind, 4 Star hotel offering 5 star service and quality.

I highly recommend this Hotel, everything was perfect
Great Service - some staff even have reasonable english
Awesome shower in bathroom
Spacious room
24 Hour friendly and helpful security
Great Views from RoofTop
Really nice American Buffet Breakfast with plenty of choice

Walking distance to many attactions such as Reunification Palace, Museum, Ben Tahn Markets etc,

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Tip for HCMC, avoid CYCLO - they appear to be a rip off, take a taxi - they are cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Limer_Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Spent five days at the Golden Central Hotel while site seeing in Ho chi Minh City and we were very happy with the service & facilities available to us. The rooms were large & clean. The double rooms came with two single beds that were comfortable but set apart & was not ideal for a family or couple. Although there was coffee available in the room there was no tea & when tea was ordered from the room service it came without milk. You need to ask for milk specifically or they send you the tea without it. The toilets were large and clean but not enough toilet paper is provided may be because there is a bidet in the toilet. The rooms are cleaned well every day and all supplies (except toilet paper) was replenished.
Breakfast was ok. As we stayed for 5 days it was the same old every day. The scrambled eggs were great but the cooked food like spaghetti & curry tended to be a bit dry. The bacon was crispy!!' There was not much choice of food in the restaurant but the food there was adequate.
The pool was small but clean and a good place to relax.
The location was great. Close to most of the city attractions & about 3-5 minute walk to Ben Thanh market. There were loads of shops on either side of the hotel to browse & there was this one shop Hoi An run by a young girl that had some really good clothes. The service there was great. they do alterations while you wait & will accept any currency Dong, USD or AUD. There is a taxi stand right in front of the hotel so there was plenty of taxis any time you wanted.
The service is excellent. The staff are all smiles & will go out of the way to do that extra bit to make your stay so much better. I had to check out at 12 & wait till 1 in the waiting area to take the cab to the airport & during that time i was offered tea, water & numerous inquires of whether i wanted any thing.
I recommend this hotel for any adults on a trip to Ho chi minh city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chut2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is as they say central for most things .Close to the day and night market .
The reception area is quite small but the staff are very helpful.
The rooms were smallish but clean and comfortable
Breakfast on the top floor was good but the views from the restaurant as the sun came up were wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeswallow01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#29 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Ho...
#54 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#15 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#31 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Boutique Hotel
Millennium Boutique Hotel
#42 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Hotel Ho Chi Minh
Bay Hotel Ho Chi Minh
#92 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Central Hotel

Property: Golden Central Hotel
Address: 140 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing