We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable staying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Central Hotel
Ranked #88 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is situated perfectly, and the staff is very friendly. If I have to say something that could be better, the room was rather small, although we were there only sleeping instead of spending a lot of time. I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tikati1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for Golden Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 782 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over Christmas. The location is perfect, you can walk to all the major sights in district 1 from here. Our room was fine, very clean but the biggest surprise was the bathroom- kitted out with the latest modern shower and bath which had lights, jacuzzi, 2 shower heads, steam and even a radio. The pool is very small, and strangely very cold! However, it's still good to have a quick dip at the end of a hot days sightseeing. The view from the rooftop pool is outstanding and lovely to watch the sunset from. The breakfast however was the biggest downside, the buffet was all cold with strange options such as spaghetti bolognese obviously left over from the night before. This didn't matter much though as we just ate at the market for next to nothing. It was very quiet and we slept very well so I think this hotel is good value for money in HCMC.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with a window.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A great location for the Ben Thanh Market, Reunification Palace and War Remnants Museum. Good rooms, if a little cramped, and a nice rooftop pool and bar, with stunning views over the city.
A good breakfast buffet from the rooftop restaurant.
Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

As a young couple, we stayed at Golden Central for a week in December, 2012. On arrival, it did not seem like they were expecting us, and got confused with our room booking twice before they got us into our room. I think, however, this is a one off occurance and we were happy to wait on the gorgeous couches in the lobby anyway.
We had a standard room, but I think we were extremely lucky to get one of the front rooms of the building on our level, so the room was naturally bright in the Saigon sun and we could people watch on the city. The building's on this street are all very tall, but very narrow, therefore most rooms on each building would not get the natural light or even many windows, as they back onto other rooms on the level and the window view would be of another tall hotel.
The rooms are designed with modern vietnamese elegance and the bed is firm and super comfy. Yes, the rooms are not very big, but I will never understand why people complain about this in a city hotel as if they expect it to be like back at home. The size was great for our needs.
Breakfast is pretty average however, they need to change the variety of their hot foods, as it was the same all week which got boring. Fresh fruit is always a plus in asain countries!
Room service and food/bev prices was actually ridiculous... Way overpriced when there is even better food literally on the doorstep outside the hotel. The same beer in the hotel was (not even sarcastic) 5 times more than the same beer from a street stall downstairs at the hotel entrance. Even if you are the richest human in the world, why bother???
The rooftop pool was tiny, but perfect for a hot day exploring the city. The "fitness centre" is actually just equipment next to the pool - so for me, the hot humidity made it difficult to work out however fitness junkies will have to make do with the very outdated equipment.
This was a nice hotel, with prime location next to Ben Tanh Market where you couldn't ask for a better location, but I would research all the hotels on Ly Tu Trong and compare prices before choosing this one again, as all the ones next to Golden Central seemed very beautiful as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street of Ly Tu Trong for a warm, bright, sunny and natural light experien...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MELYU_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here four nights in November. The rooms are nice and clean. However we could hear everything going on in the hallway as the door was not particularly sound-proof.
Nice pool area where you can relax. The spa was closed due to renovation when we were there.
The breakfast had a good selection, but that did not matter as it all tasted horrible...since we stayed there four nights, we tried out a lot off different things, but it all tasted equally bad.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ielise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed for 1 night on November 2012 and would rate this nice hotel as very good, due to clean, wide room, good breakfast, nice, helpful staff at the recepetion.
Plus, the location is very convenient and central (2 min walk to Ben Thanh market), but in a calm, non noisy street and the view from the restaurant is fantastic.
If you want to have dinner nearby, try ID Cafe, a very nice cafe/restaurant, mainly used by locals, with excellent food.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luisito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

In the hotel the room was good, staff friendly, helpfull and there is a pool on tho rooftop. Location is exxellent, just a block from the famous Cho Ben Thanh-market. And be sure to wisit also the ewening market around the building. Best owevievs you get from the Saigon Skydeck, but on the steets be carefull and secure your belongings. A city to see !.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PenttiOlavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#29 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Centre Ho...
#54 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#31 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bay Hotel Ho Chi Minh
Bay Hotel Ho Chi Minh
#93 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Boutique Hotel
Millennium Boutique Hotel
#41 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#16 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Central Hotel

Address: 140 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $63 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing