We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be avoided” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Can Gio Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Can Gio Resort
Ranked #365 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“To be avoided”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is the first time i am writing a review of a hotel because i felt the need to warn people before coming here!

Positive: rooms big and clean, nice pool, remote location.

Negative: don't be fooled by the pictures they show on line!!! first off rude staff with very poor to no english at all! In the rooms even though they are nice and clean no hot water and little pressure!! tennis court is used for hanging laundry and filled with rubbish and not even a net, beach is a construction site and will take at least 10 years to complete so a concrete wall has been erected, no restaurants close by and the restaurant in the hotel is overpriced! for example spring rolls are priced at 160.000 vnd and a steak dish costs around 490.000 vnd, with extremely poor food if you can call it food at all! breakfast is included but only if the have 30 or more guests the will make a buffet otherwise you choose from a menu that includes soup which is water with some vegetables but no taste at all! eggs not properly coocked, fruit at least 2 or 3 days old!! there is a pool table to relax and play pool but you will have to pay for it! they use vouchers to get breakfast and to go into the swimming pool?? We arrived and booked for 2 nights after breakfast we decided to leave as soon as possible! Resort and people around this resort think that they are ready for tourism so they can charge tourism prices already, i don't mind paying a little extra but i expected more from a supposible 3 star resort, in my opinion this qualifies as a 1 star resort with a possibility to become a 2 star resort if they put in an effort!!!

Result of this message is to warn people who are willing to come to this resort do not go there!

Hope this will give you an insight over this place

Room Tip: No tips for choosing a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Arjen0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed there once but did not have any impresssions of this place. Room was clean, quiet, and pretty well decorated. Staff was Ok. Do not expect much on its location as well as its scenery cos it was built in an isolated estuary. A fair distance to Saigon (50 km or so.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kien2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I can understand if people who pay $30 for a standard room and get service like this without complain anything , but unfortunately we paid $100 for a Executive suite, what we have is only disappoint.

Check -in : We asked whether room have wifi and got yes answer from a manager upon check in, but unfortunately the room don't have wifi at all and when we check with her again after several hours and she replied by some excuse and don't give us any option(no change room), just suggest us use the wifi in the lobby , please consider you will try to reply some working email in the lobby full of drunk people and next table is pool tables full of people also , and keeping playing loud Vietnamese TV-serial above your head.

Room: 1)The curtains are so thin and we woke up at 06:00A.M by the light, and this suite is full of window around.
2) The kettle is unbelievable dirty
3)Clock is so noisy then we have to remove the battery before we sleep

Restaurant: 1) Quite expensive maybe that's the reason it's almost empty and portion is very small.
2) When we settle the bill, the bill showed us beer is more expensive than the menu price, after we questioned them, they replied: sorry, we gave you the wrong menu.!!!! so, they have two different menu with different price???!!! later, when we try to get beer again in the late evening, they kindly inform us don't have this beer any more? why? because can't charge us extra money any more???

Spa: 1) Be careful because they will "force" you to pay the tips for the girls, and the amount not delight them, they will show you a porker face immediately.

Upon check out, the lady who did check-in for us gave us 5% discount and this is the way they showed apologized for the whole terrible experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaraMia820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

When were arrived, we had a little problem with the reception. I booked a double superior thinking it would be okay for two people- I didn't realize the person icon when booking on agoda. Anyway, we had to pay more at reception. No biggie. The place was nice, beautiful pool and gardens, nice outdoor facility for eating breakfast- although the breakfast wasn't great. The room was comfortable, with clean sheets. The hot water worked part of the time, cold showers at night. We had termites in our bed's headboard, which was a little unpleasant. Otherwise, a nice stay. My biggest problem that makes this place hard to recommend are the Sea turtles that are squished in a tiny algae-covered pool. Three turtles in a tiny space! Sad!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Can Gio Resort is perfect for travellers-perhaps not so much for tourists. I found it to be charming.Staff trying their utmost to please and the facilities adequate and comfortable - but not luxurious. My bungalow was certainly all I needed and convenient to the pool the restaurant and the beach. The resort provided a vehicle and driver to visit the mangrove forest and kept me safe from the monkeys.

For travellers who prefer their experiences not to be based around self pampering, this is a find. I recommend it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice place to go to get out of the city but don't rely on it to be quiet nor peaceful. There was very early morning construction on a Saturday. Plus beyond the costs of your room you have to pay to use the pool tables and glasses of ice. Breakfast finishes at 9:00, a bit early to me for the weekend. Then they don't like you sitting at the restaurant after you are finished so they shoo you on your way. The beach is dirty and polluted. We even saw a dead dog on it. It was fun to go out and eat yummy shrimp and crab at night, but that is really your only option not a lot of variety. Not sure if I will return or not as a foreigner living in Saigon.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank planck23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed there for two nights in January 2012. The resort is approximately 50 km south of HCMC and we went there by motorbike (however, there should also be a regular bus service). The resort is situated next to the beach in a beautiful garden that is well maintained. Our room was not in a bungalow but in a two storey house and featured everything that one would expect for a 3-star resort. Everything was clean and well kept. Worth mentioning is the really nice pool (especially since the beach is quite littered). The breakfast is average.
Although the setting is nice and "technically" everything is very good, the staff seems a bit desinterested (this may be caused by the fact that this place is state-owned).
However, compared to the other resorts that are in this area (based on a quick drive-by with the motorbike) Can Gio Resort is well worth the money and a nice and relaxing place to escape the saigon traffic for a couple of days.

Room Tip: More expensive rates apply during the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
58.5 mi away
Les Hameaux de l'Orient
Les Hameaux de l'Orient
#108 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
33.6 mi away
Hoa Phat Hotel & Apartment
Hoa Phat Hotel & Apartment
#275 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
30.8 mi away
Sabah Saigon Boutique Hotel
Sabah Saigon Boutique Hotel
#361 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 mi away
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#353 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
32.5 mi away
Princess Resort and Spa
Princess Resort and Spa
#380 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
30.5 mi away
Kim Hotel
Kim Hotel
#129 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can Gio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Gio Resort

Property: Can Gio Resort
Address: Thanh Thoi Street, Long Hoa Village, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Can Gio Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Can Gio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing