We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Vietnam”
Review of Can Gio Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Can Gio Resort
Ranked #407 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Can Gio Resort is perfect for travellers-perhaps not so much for tourists. I found it to be charming.Staff trying their utmost to please and the facilities adequate and comfortable - but not luxurious. My bungalow was certainly all I needed and convenient to the pool the restaurant and the beach. The resort provided a vehicle and driver to visit the mangrove forest and kept me safe from the monkeys.

For travellers who prefer their experiences not to be based around self pampering, this is a find. I recommend it.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Bill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a nice place to go to get out of the city but don't rely on it to be quiet nor peaceful. There was very early morning construction on a Saturday. Plus beyond the costs of your room you have to pay to use the pool tables and glasses of ice. Breakfast finishes at 9:00, a bit early to me for the weekend. Then they don't like you sitting at the restaurant after you are finished so they shoo you on your way. The beach is dirty and polluted. We even saw a dead dog on it. It was fun to go out and eat yummy shrimp and crab at night, but that is really your only option not a lot of variety. Not sure if I will return or not as a foreigner living in Saigon.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank planck23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed there for two nights in January 2012. The resort is approximately 50 km south of HCMC and we went there by motorbike (however, there should also be a regular bus service). The resort is situated next to the beach in a beautiful garden that is well maintained. Our room was not in a bungalow but in a two storey house and featured everything that one would expect for a 3-star resort. Everything was clean and well kept. Worth mentioning is the really nice pool (especially since the beach is quite littered). The breakfast is average.
Although the setting is nice and "technically" everything is very good, the staff seems a bit desinterested (this may be caused by the fact that this place is state-owned).
However, compared to the other resorts that are in this area (based on a quick drive-by with the motorbike) Can Gio Resort is well worth the money and a nice and relaxing place to escape the saigon traffic for a couple of days.

Room Tip: More expensive rates apply during the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The resort is very nice, over my expectation for a 3* resort. Room is clean with acceptable facilities. I love the swimming pool, it is totally better than one of a 5* hotel in Hanoi I used to stay at. The restaurant is quite expensive; however, there is a good place to enjoy seafood just opposite the resort with affordable price. It's very nice to group gathering for picnic or team building.
Will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeritageSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Huy-Cuong D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Thu Thảo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramses75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
33.3 mi away
Hoa Phat Hotel & Apartment
Hoa Phat Hotel & Apartment
#157 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
43 reviews
58.3 mi away
Les Hameaux de l'Orient
Les Hameaux de l'Orient
#118 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
38 reviews
30.2 mi away
Thien Tung Hotel
Thien Tung Hotel
#360 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
#63 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,214 reviews
30.2 mi away
AHA Boutique Hotel
AHA Boutique Hotel
#357 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
27 reviews
30.6 mi away
Bay Hotel Ho Chi Minh
Bay Hotel Ho Chi Minh
#88 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can Gio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Gio Resort

Address: Thanh Thoi Street, Long Hoa Village, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #407 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $24 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Can Gio Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Can Gio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing