We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, could probably find better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoang Phu Gia Hotel
Ranked #182 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK, could probably find better”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our first impression was not good - we called the hotel a couple of days before to push our itinerary a day back, they confirmed the dates had been changed. However upon arrival we were told that they had no record of the date change and had to pay the $25 no show fee. After much argument the manager came out, said that they had no physical evidence and basically implied that we were lying. To be honest we were more concerned about the principles than the $25, and only after making them call our hotel in Hue confirming that we did make a call 2 days ago did they believe us, and all was well.

Room and reception were trendy and breakfast was good, just a shame that the service isn't quite there to match. We didn't get very helpful advice when asking if there were any recommended restaurants nearby (response was "go that way"). There are in fact lots of good restaurants nearby, but for the main museums and attractions you will have to take a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    37
    29
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
35
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

N10°46'19.57" E106°41'26.21" We stayed several nights in September 2010 in this hotel near the Tao Dan park in District 1. This modern hotel looks fine from the outside. Modern room, good bed, trendy bathroom, good continental and Vietnamese breakfast and free internet in the lobby. Nothing to worry about, until you meet the staff at the reception. Their inexperience and inadequate command of the English language resulted in a big problem: they forgot to give us a fax with new instruction, so we missed our tour guide for the next day. Sorry said the hotel manager after several phone calls to clear up his own mesh. Adding insult to injury, the hotel manager charged us his phone calls. Inadequate service attitude was our verdict.
We left for the Mekong Delta and returned after a week for one night to this hotel before taking the night plane home. Staff immediately greeted us. The next morning we left for the Chu Chi tunnels (the missed tour), which we crawled on our knees. Returning to the hotel we picked up our luggage. We didn’t have a dayroom, but asked for a shower before the 18-hour flight. They offered us a separate shower for free, which we enjoyed very much. And our fellow passengers during the flight home too! Nice recovery, Hoang Phu Gia hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goyourownway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May 2011. We noticed straight away that the hotel was used by large tourgroups as their hotel of choice, so the lobby and breakfast area was always full and noisy. The hotel room itself was nice, we were given a VIP room. The breakfast was not great. The location is not in the centre of town, its about a 10 minute walk to the markets and further to the main Dong Khoi area. The staff were very helpful though, but I would rather stay closer to the main city life. There is a good fish massage place that is super cheap across the road to the left and a large supermarket at the end of the road.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My family and friends stayed here last May 27-31, 2011 and it was very good. I booked our rooms via agoda.com which is cheaper than the hotel offer on the website (which was good). I booked 3 superior rooms and requested twin beds with windows. The rooms we stayed in was 903-905. In addition, I requested for a car from the hotel to pick us up from the airport since we were going to arrive 1:00am, which they provided with additional fee. They were nice to give us a discount. The rooms was spacious for us and it was very clean. I always want to make sure that the bathroom/toilet is clean which is good. What you see on the pictures from their hotel website or from agoda.com is what you get. No fuss. The hotel is located near other hotels which is good and a lot of tall trees. The place is not scary even if you come back late at night.

The staff were very nice and helpful. I didn't have a hard time asking them for directions, or helping us book our tours and so on. We even asked for advice with regards to prices for some novelty and souvenir items. Of course language is still a barrier but we did come to an understanding which was good.

In the morning, we had a buffet breakfast. They serve Vietnamese and Western style food. I enjoyed eating the baguettes provided with butter and jam, the pho, seafood fried rice and shrimp sticks. All in all, the food was good. I'm going to miss it a lot.

For shoppers, Ben Than Market and Saigon Square is a few meters away from the hotel. You can walk from the hotel which is not far away. Just remember to bargain and haggle!

Remember, before you go out, take a calling card from the hotel which shows the location and you can show it to the taxi driver where to bring you back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaszmeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Be very careful if you choose to say here. I was only going to say one night but got told if I stayed 3 that they would give me the room for $10 less a night. When it came to pay, the manager told me that I had never accepted there offer and the details had already been entered into the computer and couldn't be changed. They then wanted to add more to the room price for service fees and the like. All in all very greedy and just dishonest about pretty much everything. The breakfast was also very poort. Stale bread, cold food left lying around for several hours. Just waiting to get sick now! My friend also had mega dramas getting his safety deposit items back. They continued to insist that he need to produce and inventory receipt of the box, but had never issued one. The manager though could never produce a cabon copy of the receipt either though. All in all, just a unnecessary mess around. Aguing back an forth to get back our envelop which clearly had my friends name on it. Just such a hassle. Very unfriendly staff. Moving somewhere else today.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB_145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Havana, Cuba
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We were quite happy booking the hotel. All the staff were helpful and polite. Breakfast buffet was really good. Lots of different choices. Try to have it as early as possible. Things run out quick and the stuff left gets cold. The rooms are a good size and comfortable. Fridge, t.v., free wifi, and lots of hot water. The area is centrally located as well. The main backpacker area is about a 10 minute walk away. Lots of street meat options close by as well. At the far end of the street is a huge supermarket. Also a close walk to all the major attractions.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We stayed here in December 2010 at the beginning and the end of our trip in Vietnam and had a great time.
+
Great location close to Benh Than market and we liked the neighbourhood
Great and friendly staff. We forgot a suit in another hotel on Phu Quoc Island and they went out of their way to get it back to us! They also speak very good English.
Free wifi
Large rooms
-
The breakfast was ok, but don't come too late (actually the most simple breakfast during our trip)
The hotel is quite noisy

The plusses outweigh the negatives by far and I would certainly recommend this place.
If you stay here, also try the Spa in the same street (be careful, because some of the spa's look a bit suspicious). Leave the hotel, cross the street and go left. Within 100 metres you will find a nice family spa (no hair salon). They advertise with fish massage. Great fun. But the Thai massage here was the best we had. Even better than Day Spa in Hoi An, which is also great!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mach02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Asian Ruby Select Hotel
Asian Ruby Select Hotel
#126 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoang Ngan Hotel
Hoang Ngan Hotel
#170 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asian Ruby Central Park Hotel & Spa
Asian Ruby Central Park Hotel & ...
#336 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hoang Lien Hotel
Hoang Lien Hotel
#208 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Little Brick Saigon Hotel
#192 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh
Empress Hotel IMS Ho Chi Minh
#186 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoang Phu Gia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Phu Gia Hotel

Property: Hoang Phu Gia Hotel
Address: 19c-19f Bui Thi Xuan | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoang Phu Gia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoang Phu Gia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing