We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little cafe”
Review of Pao Cafe

Pao Cafe
Ranked #1,929 of 3,246 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Description: Located in Bui Vien Backpacker district, just down from De Tham to Saigon Mini Hotel 5, excellent decor, service, and food. We offer truly authentic Vietnamese cuisine. English speaking staff.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in Bui Vien Backpacker district, just down from De Tham to Saigon Mini Hotel 5, excellent decor, service, and food. We offer truly authentic Vietnamese cuisine. English speaking staff.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Good chicken noodle soup
Nice spring rolls, fresh herbs?
Good service with a smile, and went here after seeing good reviews on tripadvisor

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CazzaSazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good spring roll”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We ordered spring roll (fried), fresh spring roll and beef pho. The two types of spring roll were great! The beef pho was average. I thought Pho Quah (along De Tham Rd) tasted better.
Anyway if you are there, should not miss getting the two types of spring roll. They are fresh and tasty!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank emel_mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in HCMC for 6 nights in the backpacker district and Pao cafe became or local.Situated on a street packed with bars,cafes and restaurants this place is the best bar none.The staff are so friendly and helpful.As for the food the pork and chicken in claypots are excellent.The veg spring rolls are fresh,tasty and delicious.And the "pho" I had was the best in vietnam.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu-watp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberglasslyn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Enjoyed by locals & torists alike. Its always busy & so cheap. The food is fantasic.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roscoe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
413 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Our “Go to” place in HCMC”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We ate here several times during our stain in HCMC. The location is great and can’t be beat. Ms. Dong, our regular waitress, always greeted us with a warm genuine smile and always provided us with first class service each time. All of her food recommendations were spot on and she even let us order and arranged custom fresh rolls that weren’t on the menu, to fit our dietary needs. How fantastic!

The food was always fresh, tasty and well-priced. We recommend the vegetarian spring rolls, shrimp with satay sauce and “shaken” shrimp if you like it a bit spicy.

This place is worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fancytravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pao Cafe also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Pao Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing