We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent way to experience river life and Cu Chi”

Les Rives - Authentic River Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let us take you on a journey to some of the world's most significant sites. Visit the historical Cu Chi tunnels, the laidback backwaters of the lush Mekong Delta and the UNESCO-listed Can Gio Biosphere Reserve. We offer authentic experiences in areas that can only be accessed via the region's scenic waterways. Cruise between verdant rice paddies and mirror-like pools along the tributaries and canals of the river of nine dragons - the Mekong Delta. Step back into Vietnam's not-too-distant past at the Cu Chi Tunnels to experience wartime life. Cruise mangrove forests off Vietnam's southern coastline and learn about the diverse flora and fauna of captivating Can Gio. Fall into the local rhythm and take time to enjoy the here and now. Connect with Vietnam's landscapes, warm people and perhaps, even yourself.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1,372 reviews
286 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Excellent way to experience river life and Cu Chi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband, 5 kids and I went on Les Rives to Cu Chi. The entire day was a great experience. Well organized and efficient. They picked us up at our apartment and dropped us off. I highly recommend the entire experience!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank misopiso88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,555
    387
    74
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful way to see the Cu Chi Tunnels! Our guide Tam picked us up in time from our hotel, our boat left on schedule & we were well cared for the entire trip. The boat ride was a blast, even the frequent stops to clear water hyacinth from the propeller proved to be a bit of fun as we overtook & were overtaken by other boats heading up the river, a bit of competition, it was great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

A chance meeting in an elevator with some Brits' (thanks Lawrence and Megan) lead to us booking Les Rives 'jet boat' to explore the Mekong Delta. The very thought of enduring three or four hours on a bus from Saigon, with the obligatory 'factory visits' to sell overpriced trinkets, was leaving me completely cold.
The only bus ride was 10 minutes to the Saigon River and onto the boat. Our group numbered around twelve plus two guides and the captain and we were allowed a incredible perspective of life on the rivers. Instead of factory tours, we stopped at local markets and villages.
All brilliantly narrated by the amazing guides.
Lunch in the orphanage was incredible, as was our visit to Mr Number Six and his Honey Whiskey complete with hive and bees! Plenty of food and drink on the boat and the chance to try some unusual fruits of the region.
Don't worry about getting wet, the worst that will happen is a bit of wind in your hair which is far less dangerous than the possibility of dying of 'bus boredom'!

Rather than exploit this magnificent area and it's local peoples,Les Rives see themselves as a partner with the communities along the route distributing much needed funds.

Overall a truly wonderful experience with far too many highlights to mention here. A little more expensive but well worth every cent. Definitely one of our highlights of Vietnam and not to be missed..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheRoadAgainAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best trip of Vietnam visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Travelling down the river on a speed boat is a great way of staying cool in the heat of HCM. Excellent service with water , cold drinks and fruit served throughout the trip for your convenience. I was travelling in April and the river had been consumed with a floating mass of live and growing vegetation and flowers, it was amazing to see, especially when sitting eating the delicious lunch that is included when you have a surreal feeling that you are moving (not the river as the river of vegetation) as it flows past you as you sit on the restaurant deck on the riverbank. The tour guide (
Chau) was good and kept us well informed and helped out looking after 'bags' as we took the opportunity to go through the tunnels. The best thing was our party arrived first so was able to avoid the crowds that subsequently appeared throughout the morning. A great trip

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jueh442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We travelled for the day trip to Cu Chi tunnels using the "speedboat". We were prepared to pay the relatively high cost of travelling with Les Rives to arrive at the tunnels before the big bus tours had arrived. Indeed, this is one of their main pros compared to taking the bus. However, the river was full of lotus plants which made the trip last nearly twice as long as the advertised time as plants kept on getting stuck to the outboard motor. While I cannot blame Les Rives for a natural phenomenon, they should have informed us of the issue as this is seasonal and made it clear the "speedboat" becomes a slow boat in these conditions.

The overall experience would have been good to excellent but for this issue. And yes we arrived after the tour buses which meant that we were stuck behind large groups during the visit. Tan the guide was however very friendly and knew how to entertain the group.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vinny_C1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Public Relations Manager at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for your feedback!
We apologize for the inconvenience that you had during the time you spent with Les Rives. The water hyacinth problem is worse this year, and it changes from day to day, depending on the water level and flow. Hence, we could not precisely know how is the water hyacinth situation on the river on certain day. Anyways, we are at fault that made our speedboat trip became not so much like that, we again apologize to you.

We are glad that you enjoyed the tour. Please continue to give us the support, we will indeed improve the service quality and system to serve the guests better and better.

Thanks again!
Best regards,
Les Rives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Rives - Authentic River Experience also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Les Rives - Authentic River Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing