We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mekong Delta riverside express” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Rives - Authentic River Experience

Les Rives - Authentic River Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let us take you on a journey to some of the world's most significant sites. Visit the historical Cu Chi tunnels, the laidback backwaters of the lush Mekong Delta and the UNESCO-listed Can Gio Biosphere Reserve. We offer authentic experiences in areas that can only be accessed via the region's scenic waterways. Cruise between verdant rice paddies and mirror-like pools along the tributaries and canals of the river of nine dragons - the Mekong Delta. Step back into Vietnam's not-too-distant past at the Cu Chi Tunnels to experience wartime life. Cruise mangrove forests off Vietnam's southern coastline and learn about the diverse flora and fauna of captivating Can Gio. Fall into the local rhythm and take time to enjoy the here and now. Connect with Vietnam's landscapes, warm people and perhaps, even yourself.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mekong Delta riverside express”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This was worth the money.
We travelled along the river via speedboat stopping at various places..food market, family house for honey wine and coconut drink, orphanage, and a few other places.

Think this tour you won't be able to see via road and was not touristy. You get to see the local life of those in Mekong Delta/vietnam.

Definitely worth the money and lots of refreshments on the boat.

I would wear trainers especially in rainy season. I travelled with elderly about 60+ but they thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,477
    376
    73
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cu chi tunnels option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Instead of travelling by bus we chose to take the river option and it was fab. A bit more expensive but worth it. We were picked up from our hotel at 7.10 am and then joined others for the tour. I loved the river views of Saigon and the rural river views. Breakfast and lunch was provided. There was a small hiccup when half way we had to stop because the army had blocked off the river for manoeuvres. We had to get off the boat and we're told that we would have to proceed by taxi and return by boat. As soon as the taxis arrived there was some scurrying about and we were told to get back on the boat as we had the all clear to proceed by boat. For me this added to the excitement of the trip.
The tunnel tour itself was amazing and our guide Tam was intelligent and had a good sense of humour. I knew about the tunnels but this tour made the determination and resilience of the Viet Cong more real.
We were back in Saigon by 1.30pm

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
414 reviews
289 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Mekong Delta Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were picked up at our Hotel and taken to the Dock at 7.30am. The boat left at 8.00am. We then travelled along the river. Sights along the river were eye opening. There was the driver of the boat, a helper, a guide and another man handing us food, drinks, hand wipes. Breakfast, unlimited drinks, fruit were available all through our trip. We stopped at a local marked, a local village, an orphanage for lunch, a private house for coconut milk, the local alcohol, snake alcohol. Our guide was excellent and very informative. We did not see another tourist all day, which was very welcome. It did rain and the village was muddy, but one of the fellas cleaned all our shoes for us. More expensive than other tours, but well worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mekong Delta Day Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having spent an overnight trip on Halong Bay we were reluctant to do the same with the Mekong (much as we had enjoyed Halong Bay). When we found a day river trip we decided to book that.

We were picked up from our hotel at 7.30 and headed out along the waterway. The views were spectacular, and also enlightening. The standard of housing along the waterways varies greatly and was something that wouldn't normally be easily viewed.

Sights along the way were pointed out and a couple of stops made - these were really informative and made enjoyable by the great sense of humour and the excellent command of English displayed by the tour guides.

One of the more poignant moments on the trip was when we stopped for lunch at an institution that supported homeless/abandoned children. The food here, as on the whole trip, was abundant and enjoyable.

This was a really novel way to tour the Mekong and would be enjoyed by children as well as by adults.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oliverjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cu Chi Tunnel Tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Let's start withe the positive of the tour- the boat ride to the tunnels was nice and I would definitely choose this option again rather than driving by bus. Also the lunch served was really nice. However, the tour was unenthusiastic and the guides seemed to give the bare minimum as far as the tour goes. I've taken many tours in different cities and this was probably my least favorite. When walking around the tunnels the tour felt rushed so we didn't fall behind schedule with the other groups behind us. All in all the tour was very average

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Public Relations Manager at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sarah E,

First of all, on behalf of Saigon River Express' staff, thank you for choosing our service and also apologize for any of your disappointment during the tour! It is anyways nice to know that you enjoy the boat ride, as it is our uniqueness that makes we become different than other service operators. We prioritize the service quality, so we are more than pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the service.

As for the tour guide, we apologize you were not satisfied with him/her. Our tour guides were chosen as they are legal guides, can speak English fluently and have good knowledge. We will work together to improve the guide's hospitality and communication skills so that the guests feel more eased to go with them.

About the fact that the tour became a bit rush, it happened because it is the start of the peak inbound season, there are more and more guests coming to Cu Chi Tunnels everyday, so in the end, all the groups, all the guides collide at some points, so sometimes the guide has to be more rushed to avoid crowd or "traffic jam" of guests. Please understand us for this point!

Thank you very much for your comment!
Saigon River Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Rives - Authentic River Experience also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Les Rives - Authentic River Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing