We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to go to Chu Chi Tunnels”

Les Rives - Authentic River Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let us take you on a journey to some of the world's most significant sites. Visit the historical Cu Chi tunnels, the laidback backwaters of the lush Mekong Delta and the UNESCO-listed Can Gio Biosphere Reserve. We offer authentic experiences in areas that can only be accessed via the region's scenic waterways. Cruise between verdant rice paddies and mirror-like pools along the tributaries and canals of the river of nine dragons - the Mekong Delta. Step back into Vietnam's not-too-distant past at the Cu Chi Tunnels to experience wartime life. Cruise mangrove forests off Vietnam's southern coastline and learn about the diverse flora and fauna of captivating Can Gio. Fall into the local rhythm and take time to enjoy the here and now. Connect with Vietnam's landscapes, warm people and perhaps, even yourself.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great way to go to Chu Chi Tunnels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had booked this trip directly on their website , pay on arrival is unusual but convenient.
Our Guide picked us up from the Huong Sen hotel for short walk to pier for speedboat trip to Chu Chi tunnels. Crossing the very busy road in front of the pier is an experience in itself !, our guide just stepped out into it and somehow all the motor scooters found a way around us. There was only 11 on our boat for the 1.hr 20 trip up the Saigon River.
As we left a very nice breakfast of fruit and croissants was served It was quite cool in the wind at top speed. A fruit platter was continually filled up and water and soft drinks available. The river is so clogged with water plants the driver had to reverse a couple of times to clear it from the propeller. We arrived there before all the tour buses so our small group were in front of all the large bus groups, Our guide, Mr VU, spoke very good English and was very informative In our small group we could easily listen to his explanation.
I was surprised at how extensive the tunnel system was and that one of the entry point was under water in the river.We had 30 minutes at the firing range which is is nearby and my grandson, 15, and granddaughter ,17 bought some AK 47 bullets and had great fun firing them off.
It was getting crowded by the time we left as the buses had arrived and the passengers were struggling to keep up with their guides
We had an excellent Vietnamese lunch on board before the boat picked up top speed on the way back. Arrived back at 1.30, allowing time for further exploration of the enchanting city of Saigon.
I highly recommend this as the best way to see the Chu Chi tunnels

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank rodjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear rodjenks,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your photos and feedback of our Cu Chi trip; great to hear (3) generations all enjoyed themselves thoroughly.
We’re very flexible in our booking options; you can pay on the day or to ensure you reserve a seat in advance I would recommend using the BOOK NOW button on this page which allows you to make a secure payment instantly.
Once again thank you for choosing Saigon River Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,550
    385
    74
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mekong trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a wonderful trip today to the Mekong, Duc and his team were brilliant- helpful, knowledgeable and attentive. Every stop we made was interesting and at no point were we pressured into buying anything. Lunch at the orphanage was delicious and there was plenty of cold drinks and fruit throughout the day. We wouldn't usually spend this much on a trip but it was worth every penny. Fantastic !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Buick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Buick H,

Thank you for choosing Saigon River Express when visiting Ho Chi Minh; we’re pleased to hear that you felt the tour was value for money and the guide and crew brilliant, will definitely pass on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Traveled to HCMC in Febuary, 2013 with friends. At first we were concerned about the price but stuck to it because of the recommendations on TripAdvisor.

It was worth every penny.

We did the Mekong Delta tour and it was the most incredible tour I've ever been on. The guide picked us up at our hotel at 7:30 and took us to the docks. We boarded the boat, where we were pleasently surprised with a selection of local fruits. The boat had 13 tourists and 4 crew on it, and the crew were on top of everything. Immediately after my friend picked up a mango to peel it, a crew member offered to peel it for her- and wound up doing the whole tray for us! There were pastries for a snack in the morning as we cruised along magnificent sights along the Saigon River. We stopped first at a local pagoda, where our guide explained the local customs- we were there during Chinese New Year so it was crowded- and then the monks came over so we could take pictures. They presented us with oranges (good luck at this time of year) and traditional rice cakes. We got back on the boat and then stopped at the home of a local rice farmer, where we sampled coconuts, rice liquor and spring rolls. The next stop was a lotus plantation, and then we stopped at a village where we had lunch. The lunch was the best meal we had in HCMC, and the guide even went and bought us rice pancakes he noticed a local woman making on another street in the village. We visited a Cao Dai temple, and then it was time to return (3:30 arrival). Overall it was the highlight of our trip to HCMC, and I highly recommend this service!

One tip- make sure you have plenty of bug spray with DEET and trail shoes. The trip is in the delta and there are only dirt paths. The guide provides you with wipes every time you return to the boat so don't worry about the DEET in the bug spray.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mpRT61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear mpRT61,

Many thanks for your glowing review of our Mekong trip, which we appreciate and very good fortune for you and your friends to be presented oranges and rice cakes for Tet (Vietnamese New Year)!
Yes we do get off the beaten path and comfortable walking shoes are recommended however all our crew carry anti-insect repellant if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very well run tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We did the Mekong Delta tour today. After being picked up at our hotel we were driven to the dock where we met up with the rest of our tour group (14 in total consisting of Brits, Aussies, Hawaiians and a couple from Hong Kong).

Breakfast consisted of a croissant, and during the course of the tour we were all invited to try a number of local fruits. Drinks were plentiful all day. We visited a number of temples, and the homes of some rural Vietnamese families. A traditional (and delicious) lunch was served at an orphanage.

The tour was very well run and very informative. The local Vietnamese families were very welcoming. I can not get over the friendliness of the Vietnamese people.

The Mekong River is very polluted, which is a shame. But the tour showed Vietnamese life living on the river truthfully.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank squizzi1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear squizzi1969,

We appreciate your positive comments regarding the lunch and the professionalism of the tour, yes the Vietnamese are very welcoming, even more so once you venture into the countryside.
The waterway you referred to is actually a tributary of Saigon River and not the Mekong; Ho Chi Minh City was built around thousands of natural and man made channels now supporting in excess of 10 million inhabitants.
For practical purposes it allows us very quick access to the lusher, scenic areas of our tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Speed boat trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

For once during the trip in HCMC, we din have to stop for any traffic jam and hear car honking. The service provided is excellent. It might be pricy but definitely worth it to get yourself to Chu Chi quicker before the bulk of the tourist arrived later in the morning.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank r0gerpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear r0gerpak,

Thanks for choosing Saigon River Express for your Cu Chi adventure and your comments about our excellent service, we hope to welcome you or your friends again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Rives - Authentic River Experience also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Les Rives - Authentic River Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing