We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to see the tunnels - better than a coach trip!”

Les Rives - Authentic River Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let us take you on a journey to some of the world's most significant sites. Visit the historical Cu Chi tunnels, the laidback backwaters of the lush Mekong Delta and the UNESCO-listed Can Gio Biosphere Reserve. We offer authentic experiences in areas that can only be accessed via the region's scenic waterways. Cruise between verdant rice paddies and mirror-like pools along the tributaries and canals of the river of nine dragons - the Mekong Delta. Step back into Vietnam's not-too-distant past at the Cu Chi Tunnels to experience wartime life. Cruise mangrove forests off Vietnam's southern coastline and learn about the diverse flora and fauna of captivating Can Gio. Fall into the local rhythm and take time to enjoy the here and now. Connect with Vietnam's landscapes, warm people and perhaps, even yourself.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best way to see the tunnels - better than a coach trip!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We did the Cu Chi Tunnels tour with Saigon River Express and were very impressed. We were picked up from our hotel and taken to the boat which then took us up the river to the tunnels. We were given breakfast on the boat and the trip up the river took just over an hour. The tunnels are a major tourist attraction and there were a few other groups there already however by taking the boat we beat the majority of the crowds. We were then taken on a tour following a set trail with our guide who was great at explaining everything about the place. It seemed really well organised at the tunnels and you can get involved by crawling through some parts, tasting the sort of food they ate whilst underground and seeing the sort of improvised traps and weapons that were used during the war. It was a good tour and was a great way of learning a bit more about the war and the terrible conditions that were endured. The boat trip on the way back included a nice lunch and we were dropped back at our hotel.

It is worth paying a bit more for this tour as it is much more pleasant than sitting on the bus and you beat the rest of the tours there. (On our way back out the car park was filled with coaches and you could see the place was a lot busier)

(Also, take warm clothing for the morning as it is a fast speedboat and there was quite a lot of wind chill on the way there.)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexKate23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear AlexKate23,

Thanks for your review of our Cu Chi trip, we’re very pleased you were so impressed with the speed at which we arrived at the site and that the day was very well organized.
We agree that it’s a much better alternative to enjoy the refreshing scenes from the river then be stuck in traffic there and back and have to contend with all the crowds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,598
    393
    76
    20
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cu Chi Tunnels - Great tour - very enlightening”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was more than a tour to me. The river was very scenic, food was provided both ways, fruit on the way and lunch on the way back. The tour guide was great, very knowledgable. But the tour of the tunnel area of course was the highlight. It was both informative and thought provoking at the same time. It gave me a new appreciation for how resourceful the Vietnamese people were and how they lived in this area. It gave me a new appreciation for what our troops must have dealt with during their time there. I recommend this not only as a tour but also as a step back in time to better understand this part of our history.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank eurotraveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear eurotraveller32,

Thank you for rating our Cu Chi Tunnels tour 5 stars, we do appreciate the positive encouragement.
It appears you have made a real connection with what this historic site means to both the Vietnamese and your fellow countrymen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent river tour”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We're we told by the hotel that there were cheaper tours that involved a 2 hour bus trip first. I was glad we stuck to our guns and went with Saigon river express. Good boat,good staff and good food. Staff were very informative and safety minded. The tour was very interesting and scenic (once out of the city). Everyone we met friendly, with people waving and smiling along the rivers and canals. I hope this trip does not get spoiled in the future with over commercialism! Everyone on the tour (9 on a fast boat) enjoyed the trip

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Stevie14,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us; we’re pleased you enjoyed the speedboat, staff and food.
I can assure you that commercial realities aside, none of the staff or management at Saigon River Express intend our products to evolve into mass commercialism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Very good trip”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked this through our hotel. It was in the "seat-in coach" brochure from Saigontourist Travel Services and was a "full day trip". We had had a very bad experience with this company the previous day with the Cu Chi Tunnel tour so were a bit apprehensive but this tour was great. We were picked up from our hotel for a very short ride to the riverside where we got on the boat and set off down the Saigon River and then onto the Mekjong River and subsequently various canals. The boat was very comfortable and had a 200 HP outboard motor which meant we could travel very fast. Our guide Tam was excellent - very informative and we visited a pagoda, a local market, a rice wine shop and visited two local houses. During the day there were cold drinks provided on the boat all the time plus we were given sticky rice cake, fresh coconut milk and jack fruit to try. We also had an excellent lunch at an orphanage - one of the best meals we had in Vietnam. Beautiful scenenery and very interesting commentary from Tam. A great way to see areas of Saigon and the delta without being stuck in traffic. We saw all the shanty housing along the edge of the river and it was a bit alarming to see all the rubbish thrown in the river but this is reality. The trip was not cheap - 2,340,000 dong but we thought worth it. You get what you pay for. We would definitely recommend this.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Martin C,

Thanks for writing your positive review, I’m pleased to read you enjoyed our tour of the Mekong and will pass on your comments to Tam.
I’m assuming you used Saigontourist for the Cu Chi trip, which is a pity since we’re confident our speedboats are a far superior alternative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Two excellent trips”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Saigon River express run two trips.I went on both. If i could only choose one,i would choose the Mekong Delta one,visiting villages,very good lunch in local village,coconut and home made alcohol drink (like saki) with a lovely rice farmer.good guide ,small group. the other tour did the Cu Chi tunnels.the boat trip was less fun,more a good way of getting to the tunnels.the tunnels were interesting,but spending a half day was ,for me,a few hours too much.
both tours used a similar boat which was fast,fairly comfortable.good staff..all in all a professional outfit and good value.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear dorsetman_10,

Thanks for your excellent endorsement of our tours we appreciate you choosing Saigon River Express for two days of your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Rives - Authentic River Experience also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Les Rives - Authentic River Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing