We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mekong Delta/Cu Chi Tunnel - Great way to see it”

Les Rives - Authentic River Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Cu Chi Tunnels and Countryside Tour by Luxury Speedboat
More Info
$107.00*
and up
Can Gio Biosphere Reserve Tour by Luxury Speed Boat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let us take you on a journey to some of the world's most significant sites. Visit the historical Cu Chi tunnels, the laidback backwaters of the lush Mekong Delta and the UNESCO-listed Can Gio Biosphere Reserve. We offer authentic experiences in areas that can only be accessed via the region's scenic waterways. Cruise between verdant rice paddies and mirror-like pools along the tributaries and canals of the river of nine dragons - the Mekong Delta. Step back into Vietnam's not-too-distant past at the Cu Chi Tunnels to experience wartime life. Cruise mangrove forests off Vietnam's southern coastline and learn about the diverse flora and fauna of captivating Can Gio. Fall into the local rhythm and take time to enjoy the here and now. Connect with Vietnam's landscapes, warm people and perhaps, even yourself.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mekong Delta/Cu Chi Tunnel - Great way to see it”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

These tours can be done by bus but we chose to do it by boat to get a better idea of what it's like living on the Mekong. It was most definitely an eye opener.

We were met at the hotel and taken to the wharf where we were greeted by our guides, they were great, although we seem to only have one person with us at all times during the Cu Chi Tunnel whilst the others remained on the boat.

We arrived to the pagoda and there was a traditional wedding taking place which was nice to see, the local market was the highlight, it's a completely different way of seeing things compared to how things are done at home! From there we visited a village and met an 106 year old woman with her 82 year old daughter, amazing people but it was a little hot to be walking around none the less it was great to see. We ended up at another home drinking coconut water and drinking banana whiskey before heading to the orphanage for lunch. Lunch was perfect just the right amount of food and really good food at that.

There was also a game of football (soccer) to be had between the boys at the orphanage and the men from the tour, it was quite funny to watch everyone interact as they came up with a rule that if you miss a goal you have to do a set of push ups.

Overall it was a lot of fun, great day out and well worth the trip.

The Cu Chi Tunnels were also great, bear in mind it's a little earlier and it is best to take a cardigan around this time of the year as it did get a little chilly on the boat.

It's an eye opener as you cruise along, you really do get to see how the rich live in comparison to the poor as you make your way to the tunnels.

It's amazing to hear the stories and see these tunnels and how they lived within them. Not to mention the different traps that were in place etc It was an interesting history lesson.

Lunch was then served on the boat as we headed back to the wharf which was nice as it didn't drag on too long and we got back and had the afternoon to do what we wanted.

It's a great way to see these sites, yes a little costly but worth it we thought.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mare0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear mare0104,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and for taking part in two of our tours.
Just to clarify we have a guide/host who remains with the group, one service staff who provides refreshments and meals throughout the day, a Captain (quite essential!) and the mechanic who is required by Vietnamese Authorities to be on-board.
Yes it can get cooler this time of year early morning (Dec-Feb Av. Low 22 °C / 71 °F) and you will hear the locals referring to it as ‘winter’ which is slightly amusing for most foreigners from colder climes …
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,755
    425
    84
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great way to visit the Cu Chi tunnels”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We wanted to visit the tunnels without spending hours in a bus and this was a great alternative! The breakfast on board was good, lots of cold drinks available. Our tour guide was interesting and we got there early enough to avoid horrendous queues. The only slight disappointment was lunch afterwards, which was very average.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank fbparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear fbparis,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive recommendations of our tour on the Saigon River and Cu Chi tunnels. It’s disappointing to read your comments re: lunch however we’re reviewing all our food and beverage service across the tours in preparation for our new product launch; I’m sure with our regionally inspired selection, we’ll be able to exceed our guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good tour but should be condensed to half day”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Booked this trip based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were reasonably happy with the day, however felt that it was padded out with stops that were unneccessary making it a very long day on a boat. The light breakfast and snacks/drinks on the boat were great and the crew and guide were professeional and organised. The stops included a visit to a pagoda, a local market, a family home/farm for a drink of coconut milk, and a 20 minute walk to a bonsai farm, with the last stop being to an orphanage for lunch. The home visit for a drink of cocunut milk and the bonsai farm visit could have been missed without taking anything away from the day and felt like they were a way to take up time. The lunch was lovely and was in the grounds of an orphanage - however it could just have well been prepared and served in a restaurant as there was no interaction with the place, monks, teachers or children. Likewise there seemed to be very little connection with any of the places we visited. An informative talk or demonstration etc at any of these locations would have added to the appeal. As with other tours in Vietnam that take in lunch time, lunch was several courses and quite a large meal. I appreciate that this is quite normal for Vietnamese, however the tours are mainly made up of Westerners who generally apreciate a smaller meal at lunch, particularly in the heat. A cold lunch served on the boat whilst in transit could take up to 2 hours off the trip. The river scenes and travel on the boat were pleasant and interesting, but again there was little attempt to connect us to where we were and the lenght of time actually getting to and from the areas we visited was excessive. It would be ideal for this tour to be reduced to not include lunch and to perhaps not go such a distance and to less locations. The cost was $92 USD per person, which was steep and again could be reduced for a shorter cruise. If you haven't seen a pagoda, market, or rural area, then this cruise may suit, but if you have already seen Vietnam outside of Saigon then it can be repetative. I would encourage the organisers to do a review of the program for this tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrissylou62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Chrissylou62,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed account of your impressions, we do value feedback and it is discussed internally.
Great you were happy with the tour, professional crew, scenes from the speedboat and the food and drinks offered throughout the day (not often we’re told there was too much food!)
I understand your comments regarding the length of the day however once arrived we’re striving to create a genuine, immersive ‘local’ experience at a leisurely pace, not least because we don’t want to quickly shepherd our guests from one point to another in the humidity in buses like so many of our competitors.
We are in fact in the process of reviewing all our tours and shortly announcing new exclusive destinations.
I regret you felt the guides/hosts were not interactive however they all speak very good English, have expert local knowledge and would have been only too happy to answer any of your questions.
I note your comments regarding the tour being repetitive (which is in sharp contrast to the majority of our guests) and I see from your profile that you joined us after a month long sojourn through Vietnam so perhaps in this instance one of our other tours would have been more engaging for you.

Once again thanks for your comments and for choosing Saigon River Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The tour guides were abit of a touch and go- I had a great one for the Mekong Delta cruise, but an ok-ok only one for the Cu Chi tunnels. otherwise, it was a great way to see Saigon from a different angle, away from all the pollution and the motorcycles and traffic.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank raygondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear raygondra,

Thanks for your review and for choosing (2) of our authentic river tours, we do appreciate it.
I can’t really provide a direct response to your comment about our guides since you haven’t mentioned any names and the staff rotate between the tours; I have however observed first hand that they tend to react to the group i.e. some guests are very inquisitive, outgoing etc. whilst others more subdued and content to let the experience wash over them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mekong Delta 1-day speed boat tour”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We just came back and I wanted to write about my experience while the memories are still fresh. We are staying at the Huong Sen Hotel, barely a 5 minute walk and a guide came on time to pick us up for the walk to the pier. There were total of 10 + 4 staff members (captain, engineer, assist guide and guide.) Miss Tam was our guide. I highly recommend this way to travel since there is no bus ride. Although I haven't taken the bus ride, so I can't provide the comparison.

On this trip, we stopped at a pagoda, a village market (life stock and all), walk in rural area - to visit farm, drank coconut juice and rice whiskey. Stopped for lunch at a orphanage. I would suppose pretty close to home cooking.

Saw all the iconic river images. Very relaxing on the boat. We were served a light breakfast - croissant with ham and cold coffee. The entire trip there was fresh fruit and drinks - water, cola, ice tea.

The cost was $112 USD per person. That is steep but I think worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Owner at Les Rives - Authentic River Experience, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Ruth L,

We appreciate you choosing Saigon River Express and your positive feedback.
You are spot on with your observations about iconic images of authentic river life; yes we acknowledge some guests initially find the price steep however we’re working hard to ensure all our guests are receiving value for money and return to their Hotels satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Rives - Authentic River Experience also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Les Rives - Authentic River Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing