We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
Ranked #277 of 959 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We loved it! We liked the host, the location, the room... everything in order. Excellent value for money and you get to meet the entire family that run this guesthouse, watch TV with them, chat and they are very friendly and helpful.
A little hard to find, but very charming and nice...
It could only be better if rooms had windows that do not over look a wall...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 128 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Firstly its down an alley by the main bakery so keep your eyes peeled or you'll miss it! The bathroom was ok but the sink leaked and smelt a bit funky. The wifi was good. The staff were maybe a bit too efficient giving a bit of a cold feel. Excellent location!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dexter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

When my girlfriend and me were coming to this place we just did it because the Vy Khanh guesthouse was full and apparently this place is owned by a cousin of Vy so we thought ok, fine. For me the Hostel was clean, safe and calm, the wifi was functioning. So far so good, but the rest around it, I mean the family, the attitude and therefore the whole vibe in this place was for me and my gf pretty uncomfortable.
I had the feeling that everytime you showed up there were rather annoyed to see you, they didn't say hi or bye (in general), I guess you should pay them to get a smile on those faces and the stupidest thing was: the airport taxi at Vy's place is 8$ and here they want to charge you 10$, just because.. Maybe they take the 2 additional $ in the smile donation box or whatever.
So I said to them look your cousin is charging eight and for 10$ it is anyways to expensive so why don't you decrease it.. They didnt care...So all in all this place is like yay we have a nice location, the guests will come, so we don't bother..
You guys should work on that and that is the purpose of my comment. Otherwise guests will not care about your place anymore, so take this as an advice.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kristian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThanhThuong, Manager at Thanh Thuong Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your review of our guesthouse. Firstly, we were surprised to hear that you felt unconfortable while staying with us. As we remember, we did say hello and goodbye with you, but you ignored us; thus we figured you didn't want to be bothered.

We thought we had served you well. Even after check-out, we offered to store you luggage and allowed you to continue to use our computers. We gave you new towels and let you use our private showers to clean up before you left.

Regarding the taxi - I believe our staff explained to you clearly. We go with a private taxi company, thus we do not get to adjust the fee. There is no commission given - it's simply a service we offer. All guesthouses have their own company so the prices may vary. At no point do we ever pressure our customers to buy anything through us.

We hope we have addressed all your questions and concerns. Please feel free to contact us concerning any of the issues addressed. Should you visit Ho Chi Minh City again, we hope you will choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This is one of dozens of guesthouses in the alley. So all you have to do is walk 50 metres and there are many others.
My biggest complaint was the bed. The mattress was not firm and as I have back problems, I've been walking around with stiff joints all day. Also, there's very little sitting space here. The couch downstairs is usually occupied by the many family members who live here so there's never any place to sit besides the very uncomfortable metal stools at the entrance way.
I also found the bathroom to be not properly cleaned from the last guest and I had to complain about this.
So that's all I have to say.
Enjoy your stay in Sai Gon!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank esteban55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanh_Thuong_87, Manager at Thanh Thuong Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for your reply and comments. We were sorry to hear that you didn't have a restful night with us. Honestly, you are the first customers to complain about having too soft of bed. If this issue was brought up during your stay with us, we could have done something to make your stay more comfortable.
As well, since you were traveling alone, the room may have seemed to be more pricy. Honestly, split between two people the room is more than competitive relative to dormitories - and even more so to other private rooms.
Regarding the sitting area downstairs, you are correct. We are not a hotel, we are a guesthouse, meaning our family does live here. To be fair, most customers don't stay around the hotel during the day. When customers do stay in, they often stay in their rooms since we have A/C and TV in every room. And as I recall, you were usually sitting on the couch watch TV or sitting in front of the computer (a free service that we provide).
Nevertheless, I recommend you (and other customers) to bring up any and all issues while you are staying at your location rather than bringing them up after the fact. If brought up, actions can be made. At the very least, you will better understand the culture and people you stay with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The guesthouse is convienently located near the main backpacker area and the big market in HCMC. We were only staying there for two nights, the room was clean and we managed to get a good sleep although it was on Chinese New Year. But the best thing about the guesthouse was its staff - they helped us organise bus tickets even though we were not staying with them any more. And we were welcomed as if we were part of there family. They made us feel like being at home from the beginning. If we're in HCMC again we're definitely going to stay there!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The location is great!! Staff are very friendly! We stayed for just one night but got a good sleep. Beds are a little hard but that is to be expected. Rooms are also small but again that is standard for a big city. We were satisfied with our stay and would return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank v j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Good location,for backpacker areaand for local and opennbus stops / offices. , But it is a bit hard to find,
Clean and tidy, friendly staff and good Wi-Fi. Also to computers you can use for free in reception.
Unfortunately there was a bit of noise from building work next door, from 7am, this should only be temporarily. You can get an English breakfast two doors away.

Room Tip: If your flying in get the 152 bus from either directly outside the domestic terminal or opposite bur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GUESStheGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
3.6 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,718 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,542 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,701 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#37 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,054 reviews
3.9 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Thuong Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Thuong Guesthouse

Address: 241 / 6 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 959 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $14 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned friendly hotel opened 2010; offering clean, comfortable and quiet rooms in the heart of Pham Ngu Lao at excellent rates. We offer a range of services to ensure your stay with us is a happy one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Thanh Thuong Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing