We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet little guest house in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
Ranked #277 of 959 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked a double room with a window for 18 USD per night. Initially we only planned to stay in the city for 3 nights but because of the public holidays, we ended staying a total of six nights (plus a night on our return journey to catch a flight to Bangkok).

The guesthouse is family run. It is in a great little alley way just off the main strip of the backpackers area. On our arrival, we phoned them and they sent someone to meet us from the bus and escort us back to the guesthouse (we'd have had difficulty in finding it ourselves). Through out our stay all of the staff were exceedingly helpful and polite.

Our room (101) was luckily on the first floor and at the rear of the property. We had a comfortable bed, TV, fridge and small bedside table. It would have been nice to have somewhere to hang our clothes (a small rail perhaps), although not everyone probably stays as long as we did. There was a ensuite bathroom with shower. The rooms were cleaned daily and we were supplied with fresh towels also.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return.

There is a good roof top bar on the main strip called The View (it's on the sixth floor of a large hotel, called something like Du Vong). They have a happy hour (half price cocktail of the day) and cheapish beer. It has great views and is nice to watch the hustle and bustle down below.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the-marmite-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 128 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at Thanh Thuong Guesthouse in a double private. Our guesthouse and room was nothing special but equally we had nothing to complain about either, apart from the ant infestation! The guesthouse was in a great location, situated on an alleyway adjacent to the main backpacker road with just about everything you could need or want within a few minutes walk. However there are literally hundreds of small guesthouses and hostels to choose from within a few blocks, with so much choice availability is unlikely to be a problem if you want to have a peek before you part with your cash. A great location with okay facilities and service.

Find out more about our big adventure at www.chipofftheoldblog.com and follow our blog ‘RTW by land (where practical!)’

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ross_and_Sonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Loved this guesthouse! I couldn't fault it. It's in a great location - 5 minute walk from the bus station, 2 minutes to the main street and 10 minutes (max) to the market. Friendly and helpful staff! Sat down with us when we arrived to give us a cold drink, map and information but were available for help whenever we needed it. There's a good restaurant a couple of doors down and loads more on the main street. There are reading and information books available and two computers. I spent ages backing up photos using a computer, it was really hot and one of the staff noticed and brought me a cold drink, so nice! The room was great, comfy, clean bed, good to channels for when you need to chill, nice bathroom, fridge, clean towels... We extended our stay a few days but were so comfortable here we could have stayed for ages!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eejohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Small rooms but the price was right & it's a good location. Located about a 20 minute walk to the Ben Thanh Market & 30 minutes from the War Rememberance Museum. It's down an alley that's across the street from the September 23 Park which was nice to walk through. There's an ABC bakery very close by which is a good place to get some snacks to take w/ you if you're going on any day trips. Their banana cake/bread is delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The staff in this guesthouse are really what makes it. Upon check-in, a member of staff, Tim (who is Vietnamese but was raised in the US and therefore speaks native English and Vietnamese - such a useful person to know!), runs guests through a map of the local area, recommended activities and suggested pricing for taxis and so on. Throughout our 3 night stay, Tim and his wife really helped us a lot and provided us with loads of ideas and information for things to do. The room was very clean and well equipped, we had a tiny balcony and a private bathroom. The fridge was fully stocked with drinks - the only hotel I've ever stayed at in Vietnam with anything in the fridge at all - and the prices are reasonable. I've stayed at three guesthouses on this street - Thanh Thuong will be the one that gets my repeat business. Well done to all involved, and thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window, worth it in my opinion for stays of over one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unterwegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed here a couple of nights during our visit in Saigon. When we checked in, Tim explained the layout of the city center, main attractions, etc.. Their map, though simple, was very helpful.

We were given twin room #402, which was nice, with a small balcony. Got everything we needed there. Except for the beds, which kinda hurt our backs and we didn't sleep well. The one star taken off is for the beds, also a bit of small ants running along the bottom of the wall.

Everybody here was very friendly, and very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovingindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Thanh Thuong is run by Tim and his lovely new wife. Tim was born in Vietnam but raised in the US, so his English is perfect. He made sure to explain the layout of the city and gave us tips on what to see). The couple offer private rooms, mostly catering to traveling couples and companions wishing to avoid dorm accommodation.

Although the guesthouse is located in the hectic Pham Ngu Lao (backpacker district) right beside the popular Bui Vien shopping/restaurant street, it's situated in a residential alley. So we were conveniently located yet blissfully removed from most of the chaos. Our en suite room ($21 USD) on the third floor, was amazingly quiet. Inside, there was a queen bed (with a comforter), a TV and a mini fridge.

All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CompassWhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
3.6 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,718 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,542 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,701 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#37 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,054 reviews
3.9 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Thuong Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Thuong Guesthouse

Address: 241 / 6 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 959 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $14 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned friendly hotel opened 2010; offering clean, comfortable and quiet rooms in the heart of Pham Ngu Lao at excellent rates. We offer a range of services to ensure your stay with us is a happy one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Thanh Thuong Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing