We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some animals never seen anywhere else”
Review of Dai Nam Zoo

Dai Nam Zoo
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Some animals never seen anywhere else”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Completely empty, there were about 5 staff for every guest there. Very weird. It was clean and the animals seemed like the were content. If anything they looked bored. Didnt witness any cruelty or inhumane treatment. White tigers looked cool

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    17
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Animal cruelty”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Shocking: live rabbits fed to the tigers so that the visitors could gain enjoyment from watching them being ripped apart. Filthy, run down and depressing. I seen a boy punch an ostrich in the head when it was close up to the wire mesh of its cage while he laughed with his friends.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank acupuncturistuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Saigon Zoo”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The reviews of Saigon Zoo were rather mixed, from cruel to magnificent. As zoo's in Asian countries are usually comparable to the level of European zoo's, I was prepared for the worst. Yet, things were not as bad as I expected. Reading from the other reviews, there has been a lot of upgrading going on in Saigon Zoo and at some places was still continuing.
Saigon Zoo was clean and well kept. I have my doubts about the nutrition of some of the animals. Some elephants looked rather thin, but the (white) tigers and lions looked sufficiently nurished.
It was rather hot when we visited the zoo, but the shade of the trees offered some protection.
Probably not a place to go on Sunday, as half of Saigon will visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Egbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Watch out!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

there was a time the tiger escape and kill some people at the Zoo and another time some people was sunk at the pool. Horrible!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a little ghetto”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

it was a little disturbing seeing the poor conditions the animals are kept in, beautiful creatures but not given good quality of life :(

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jonah_358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dai Nam Zoo also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Dai Nam Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing