We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel with excellent attention to detail!”
Review of Blue Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Diamond Hotel
Ranked #84 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Richmond, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean hotel with excellent attention to detail!”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

My sister and I spent 2 nights here in December and would recommend it to anyone. Our room was clean and quiet, the breakfast was delicious, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. My sister and I were waiting in the lobby one morning to be picked up by a tour guide. The lobby was filled with people, and a guide approached us to ask if we were going on a Mekong Delta trip. We said we were and went outside with the guide and got into a van. Somehow, the front desk clerk saw us leave the crowded lobby and ran outside to tell us we were getting into the wrong van. She was right; that tour was for two days, and ours was a one day tour. We probably wouldn't have known until well into the tour. The doorman was equally helpful. We felt very safe in the hotel, which was a terrific location. The service was outstanding!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbhuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    353
    130
    40
    19
See reviews for
143
276
67
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2011

The front desk staff were super helpful and we got a free upgrade in rooms but the room faced straight onto the street and it was very noisy. The buffet breakfast was not very good, only ate a piece of toast...Location was pretty good though, nice and close to the main tourist sites.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeechE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice during our Vietnam trip, after being so impressed the first time.

We stayed in a luxury and a premium room, both with large windows facing out to the street at the front of the hotel, so see if you can get this side if you need a window (some prefer not too in Saigon, as the streets are very noisy!). The hotel is rated 3 star, but is easily better than a lot of 4 stars I've stayed in. The staff were brilliant and spoke very good, clear English, which isn't always the case in Vietnam. We had several requests and they went out of their way to fulfill everything for us.

Breakfast varied slightly each day, with everything labelled, so you knew what you were eating and there was free Internet in the breakfast/ restaurant room.

There's also free wi-fi in the rooms, a safe in some and good sized, comfortable beds. The bathroom had both a bath and large rain shower.

The location must also be mentioned, as it was in the centre of district 1 near the large market, shops and restaurants, so we could walk almost everywhere.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We booked a Superior room and were very disapointed to find that it doesn't have an external window, only a window into the hallway with no blind to block the light. In most countries this wouldn't even be allowed to be called a 'room'. Aside from the obvious lack of natural light the room was actually ok, clean and decent. The breakfast was a bit disapointing as well, most of the food was covered in oil or had been sitting there for a long time and not refreshed. The staff were very friendly though and the hotel was in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uktoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed in the hotel twice. At first, we had a superior room with no windows so we upgraded to a deluxe room. The rooms are very neat and clean but quite small. Both rooms we had were directly looking at another house. The windows were very small and darkened, so the rooms were very dark. During our first stay, the electricity went off several times. The hotel has an emergency diesel generator that was located under the windows so that was noisy and smelled of exhaust fumes. Additionally, several air cons were located at the window so it basically had to stay shut. For our second stay, I requested a better room; but when we arrived, we got a room that was even smaller than the first - and next to the kitchen exhausts. They said that they were fully booked so we sticked with the room, but our sleep came to an end when at 5.40 the kitchen started to work and the noise and smells started.
During our first stay, some of the reception staff had some issues with friendliness.

Taking aside the issues, the hotel is in a good location, quite new and meticulously clean. It features a gym room and has a good breakfast.

Overall, we would not go there again, after two sleepless nights. There are quite a few hotels around that offer more for less money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineFaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

This was the first hotel I stayed at in Vietnam and booked it purely on the strength of the trip advisor reviews. I wish I wrote this review earlier as I can not remember the front counter staff who served us, but they must be commended as nothing was a problem for them whether that be arranging tours, changing fixed tours etc. Their add on charges was miminal unlike other hotels I later stayed at during my trip. Service aside the hotel rooms are very basic and small. Be warned. The rooms themselves were well appointed, clean and is only intended for sleep/shower. Those looking for luxury are advised to look elsewhere but for those who have minimal requirements you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BG_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We stayed at the Blue Diamond hotel for 2 nights in a twin room in December 2010. The hotel is fairly new and so the standard of decor is very high. The room was modern and clean. The only strange thing was that our room didn't have a window which didn't impact our stay but it just felt somwhat strange.
The location is good, walking distance to the market and palace. The staff were excellent, very helpful & efficient. Internet access is available and whilst using it the staff brought us complimentary drinks. Very attentive - Overall a super hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDebsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#52 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Luxe Hotel
The Luxe Hotel
#86 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Signature Saigon Hotel
Signature Saigon Hotel
#87 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#55 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruby River Hotel
Ruby River Hotel
#58 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
#44 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Hotel

Property: Blue Diamond Hotel
Address: 48 - 50 Thu Khoa Huan, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Ho Chi Minh City has to offer with Blue Diamond Hotel as a base. This 3-star property offers 84 well-furnished rooms and attentive service. Each guestroom is tastefully appointed with air conditioning, bathrobes, desk, hair dryer, in room safe, television. This Ho Chi Minh City accommodation features on-site facilities such as room service 24hr, elevator, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, meeting facilities, restaurant, safety deposit boxes. Hotel's guests can experience on-site latest leisure and sports facilities such as massage. With elegant facilities and hospitality, guests at this hotel will surely have an impressive stay. Make your reservation at the Blue Diamond Hotel Ho Chi Minh City now by selecting your chosen dates of stay and submitting our secure online booking form. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Blue Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing