We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable”
Review of Blue Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Diamond Hotel
Ranked #94 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is acceptable for a brief budget overnight stay. We were given a room that only had a window to a noisy corridor. Our pre-arranged airport transfer was not there to greet us when we arrived and the hotel staff claimed to know nothing about it which was very annoying to deal with after a long-haul flight and as we had email confirmation. As it turns out it was lucky that we did not have the pre-arranged transfer as it was cheaper to get a metered taxi.

The toilet roll holder in our en-suite was dirty which made us question how dirty the rest of the room was. If we were there for any longer than 12 hours we would have changed room/hotel.

The location was pretty decent and we had a lovely dinner by the market which made up for the hotel itself!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    357
    132
    40
    20
See reviews for
146
277
67
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Out standing hotel to stay. Clean & well maintained hotel. Breakfast is awesome. Staff is friendly and helpful.if you are business traveller then go for road facing rooms else they will ask to to keep window opened.

Its doesnt have swimming pool

Book this hotel blindly as its outstanding !!!

Room Tip: Road facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panditrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Blue Diamond is a very clean, and comfortable hotel with a great location just a short walk to the central market. My room was beautiful with a very comfortable bed, a large bathroom, and great AC. The breakfast buffet was good with many selections. My favorite part of this hotel was their massages. While in Vietnam I had many foot massages and the ones at the Blue Diamond were by far the best. They are open until midnight, so a great foot massage right before bed was fantastic. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. They can recommend a place to eat, help with directions and even will take group pictures.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine_Seal_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here on two separate occasions with our two teenage sons. We had a double and a twin room next door to each other at the back of the hotel. The rooms were spacious with a bath/shower, big king size bed with crisp, white linen. No problem at all with noise, but being at the back of the hotel, we didn't have a view. I didn't consider this a problem. It is located in district 1 and as others have said, it is very close to Ben Thanh market and plenty of good restaurants. The staff were very helpful and welcomed us back like old friends. A great start to our 3 week holiday.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eightiesgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We arrived at the Blue Diamond early in the morning from the train station. At other hotels we have stayed in Vietnam early check in was accomodated for us as soon as possible and with no problem. Here we were immediately told at reception that early check in policy was that they could not accomodate us until 2pm and that we would have to pay for almost a day's room rate if we wanted to check in earlier. As it was early and we were tired we agreed to this and had to pay immediately, but on reading the hotel guest manual in the room it in fact stated that check in time was 11am and the hotel would do everything possible to accomodate early arrivals - no mention of any payment options!!! Contrary to this they never made any attempt to accomodate us and just wanted to charge the extra money. We had initially booked a basic room but one was not available that day so we agreed to pay an extra $10 a day for the deluxe room, which in no way was anything deluxe, very boring/blah, no pictures on the walls and generally the most uninspiring room we stayed in in Vietnam. There was a huge amount of choice at breakfast but even early on it was pretty dried up! Definitely wouldn't recommend this hotel as against all the other ones we stayed in on our trip it did not measure up..

Room Tip: You would have to pay top price to get a decent room which is very poor value compared to other hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord Howe Island
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Return visit here for 2 nights in a Deluxe Room. By paying for the better rooms you get a very comfortable king bed, windows, this time at the front with a view, with everything you need for a few days stay. Very close to the markets and as it is within district 1 close to many shops and restaurants with a vast array of choices. The hotel itself is 3 star, breakfast is more than adequate, although no egg station now. The Spa was fine for the foot massage we had and no more expensive than others outside. Everything was clean, reception area fine, although they do seem to take "groups" who hog areas but seemed to be a swift changeover of guests quite regularly meaning lots of short time stayers.

Room Tip: Like most Vietnam hotels choose rooms wisely if you can't live without outside windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonieLordHoweIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in a "luxury" room, early april. This is a 3 star property, so the term "luxury" should be interpreted appropriately. What you do get though, is a proper window, and I was on the 8th floor, high up enough for the street noise to disappear.

In line with my other experiences in Vietnam, staying in a top-end room, in a small, local, 3-star hotel is just as comfortable as a standard room in a big, international, 5-star hotel. Plus you get the added benefits of being treated like a premium customer and saving a few bucks at the same time.

The Blue Diamond room was large, with all necessary amenities. Did not have the bath robes that were advertised, but that's the only issue with the description of the room.

Breakfast was included in the rate, as is Wifi. The internet link was fast and efficient, no problems at all. The Breakfast was magnificent. There were plenty of western options, and a few Vietnamese options. In my personal opinion, I'd prefer MORE Vietnamese options rather than less. Plenty of time for bacon and eggs at home, so when in Vietnam, I prefer to try the local options.

Key benefit of the hotel is the location - just a couple of blocks away from all the District 1 attractions, and very convenient for catching taxis. To return to the hotel, if you're having trouble explaining the location to the driver, just ask for Ben Thanh market, and you're close enough.

Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the better rooms, Luxury if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLongWayHome_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#55 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Luxe Hotel
The Luxe Hotel
#84 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon Western Hotel
Alagon Western Hotel
#81 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Signature Saigon Hotel
Signature Saigon Hotel
#88 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#43 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
#46 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Hotel

Property: Blue Diamond Hotel
Address: 48 - 50 Thu Khoa Huan, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Ho Chi Minh City has to offer with Blue Diamond Hotel as a base. This 3-star property offers 84 well-furnished rooms and attentive service. Each guestroom is tastefully appointed with air conditioning, bathrobes, desk, hair dryer, in room safe, television. This Ho Chi Minh City accommodation features on-site facilities such as room service 24hr, elevator, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, meeting facilities, restaurant, safety deposit boxes. Hotel's guests can experience on-site latest leisure and sports facilities such as massage. With elegant facilities and hospitality, guests at this hotel will surely have an impressive stay. Make your reservation at the Blue Diamond Hotel Ho Chi Minh City now by selecting your chosen dates of stay and submitting our secure online booking form. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing