We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Diamond Hotel
Ranked #78 of 435 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Mackay Qld
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Nice little boutique hotel in District 1 Saigon. Only 5 minutes from Ben Thanh Markets, not far from the Renunification Palace.

Staff friendly throughout my stay, helped me to organise a tour and gave me a city map with a few walking suggestions.

My room was very small, it was what I ordered, if you like a view, order a larger room, as the small rooms dont have windows.

Breakfast has a varied selection and very fresh.
I really enjoyed my time in HCMC, and the Blue Diamond didnt let me down. Comfortable beds, friendly staff, next door on both sides of the hotel you can get a foot massage for around $7. Great after a long day of walking around the city.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room, no windows in the small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MackayAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    328
    121
    34
    17
See reviews for
131
261
57
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

our deluxe room was spacious, hardwood floors were nice, bed was comfy. Bathroom was roomy, but it seemed that the floors didn't dry well even several hours after we showered. One thing was there was a damp smell when we first arrived, but after turning on the air con it disappeared. The power went out for 30 minutes early one day. Those are a few downsides, dont let it turn you away because overall we were very comfortable in our room and enjoyed our stay very much. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of authentic viet food that take time to make, so I really enjoyed their selection. They also had western dishes as well. Staff was very helpful. Location excellent. Taxi from airport was 140,000. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cupid1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

The room we had, facing the front street, was pretty massive, even by North American standards. The Blue Diamond is clean and modern, even the lobby is air conditioned (never underrate instantaneous relief from the oppressive heat of Saigon) and there were a good variety of items at the breakfast buffet. The location is convenient as well - just down the road from Ben Thanh market. One caveat: it's about a fifteen minute walk to the posh area (Rex hotel, Gucci and Chanel) which also happens to be where most of the Western restaurants are; fifteen minutes ends up feeling a lot longer when it's forty degrees. After over a week of just Vietnamese food we were craving something different, and there aren't really any non-Vietnamese restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesci99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Checked out of the premium deluxe room yesterday.

Pros:
Bathroom - Love the spacious and modern bathroom. Seems that there was careful consideration put in the layout of the bathroom and positioning of the accessories for the easy convenience of guests.

Internet Access - Free wifi available in the rooms.

Location - Landmarks, shopping centres, nice restaurants all within walking distance

Breakfast venue - Swanky restaurant. Not quite thrilled by the spread though, then again could be just a matter of personal preference. Only omelettes available in the buffet section, you've to order your scramble and sunny side up at the 'cashier' counter.

Staff - Friendly, helpful and responsive pple!

Con:
Hot shower wasn't consistent. Either became too hot or cold and had to keep adjusting the tap.


Overall a lovely peaceful haven from the chaotic streets.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wentripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

What a great value hotel!
We stayed here only 1 night before we went to Mekong Delta and then stayed in a 5 star hotel for a few nights. I was worried about staying in a 3 star hotel in Ho Chi Minh City as I thought it might not be of a very good standard - I needn't have worried. I thought it was much more like a 4 star hotel.

The room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom. There was free wireless internet, excellent buffet breakfast included and very friendly staff. It is in a great location in district 1, walking distance to most things you would want to see.

We would definately recommend anyone to stay here at such great value. The only thing it needs is a pool as Ho Chi Minh is VERY hot! Other than that, it has everything you need!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night during our trip to SE Asia.

We booked the cheapest room, which means no view, or even window, to speak of. Also the room was rather small, albeit clean and pretty nicely decorated. Facilities were pretty standard as such, WiFi everywhere, TV, coffee facilicities, etc.

The location of the hotel is pretty good, just on the edge of District 1, so most of the sights are within walking distance. It may be due to us not liking HCMC much, but we felt the staff wasn't quite as extremely attentative as elsewhere in Vietnam.

For instance, We booked a tour to the Cu Chi tunnels through the hotel reception but were told that we'd have to get a taxi in addition to paying for the tour as they wouldn't come to pick us up from the hotel, everywhere else this wasn't the case.

The breakfest buffet included in the price was really rather good, plenty of choice and tasty, also the restaurant and lounge are stylishly decorated, albeit rather empty.

Overall it was pretty good value for money, but we'd probably try a different hotel next time we'd go to HCMC

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotter4989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

I stayed here based on reviews and was not disappointed. The staff were polite and friendly, the hotel clean and clean smelling, modern amenities, breakfast selection adequate. Could not fault this place. Someone mentioned threadbare towels but we had nice fluffy towels. Good central location near Ben Thanh markets.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#46 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
#45 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lan Lan Hotel 1
Lan Lan Hotel 1
#83 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#36 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#41 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Luxe Hotel
The Luxe Hotel
#86 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Hotel

Property: Blue Diamond Hotel
Address: 48 - 50 Thu Khoa Huan, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 435 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Ho Chi Minh City has to offer with Blue Diamond Hotel as a base. This 3-star property offers 84 well-furnished rooms and attentive service. Each guestroom is tastefully appointed with air conditioning, bathrobes, desk, hair dryer, in room safe, television. This Ho Chi Minh City accommodation features on-site facilities such as room service 24hr, elevator, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, meeting facilities, restaurant, safety deposit boxes. Hotel's guests can experience on-site latest leisure and sports facilities such as massage. With elegant facilities and hospitality, guests at this hotel will surely have an impressive stay. Make your reservation at the Blue Diamond Hotel Ho Chi Minh City now by selecting your chosen dates of stay and submitting our secure online booking form. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing