We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Authentic and very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuc Gach Quan

Cuc Gach Quan
Ranked #21 of 2,537 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
345 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Authentic and very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were taken to Cuc Gach Quan by our friend a Viet Kieu. He promised food that his mother cooked when he was a child. It was delicious. The caramelised fish outstanding, as was the courgette flower dish. Beef and pork dishes, and the Vietnamese rolls excellent. Freshly made fruit juices, try the pomelo. Good wine list too. The restored building is lovely. Make sure you come to this address as there are other restaurants similarily named nearby.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spark41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,247
    570
    175
    52
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

a great setting in what is a quiet and colonial style building. The service is great and the menu is huge. 5 dishes between 2 people i splenty and the food is spectacular. So much flavour and very well prepared...all fresh ingredients. Good selection of wine too. Expect to pay usd20 per ahead but def worth it for this great meal

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ash f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor Right Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It pays to do your Trip Advisor restaurant research before travelling to Asia, I listed all the restaurants in each place we would be staying, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam. We ate in all 11 restaurants I had listed, all except 1 was exceptional, at the top was Cuc Gach Quan 10 Dang Tat District 1. We were staying at the Caravelle in Ho Chi Minh and even the food and beverage manager there said that it was his favorite restaurant. It didn't disappoint, we had vegetable spring rolls followed by fried Sea Bass covered with a passionfruit sauce. Fried rice with shrimp and egg topped it off. The service was attentive and the beer cold. We ate at the old house which arriving in the dark can be a little off-putting. I wish we had this restaurant back in Melbourne, it is also cheap. We would rightly give this little restaurant top marks for excellence.
Russell and Kerryn Barnes Australia

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We ordered 7 different dishes for dinner - caramel fish, eggrolls, fried tofu,dish that has meat and wrap in some sort of herbs, chicken, pork wrapped in rice paper, and a veggie dish. I have the picture of all the food together but forgot all of the names. The food was very good. The decor is unique. Make sure you check out the upstairs. It has a 4 poster bed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic and delicious Vietnamese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Huge menu with a very do it your way style. Cool ambience. Good service. Best to do family style. Be forewarned, no forks and knives and limited boneless chicken options. Family style is ideal.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sbatchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuc Gach Quan also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Cuc Gach Quan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing