We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding food”
Review of Cuc Gach Quan

Cuc Gach Quan
Ranked #44 of 3,288 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“outstanding food”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

a great setting in what is a quiet and colonial style building. The service is great and the menu is huge. 5 dishes between 2 people i splenty and the food is spectacular. So much flavour and very well prepared...all fresh ingredients. Good selection of wine too. Expect to pay usd20 per ahead but def worth it for this great meal

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ash f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,442
    679
    223
    73
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor Right Again”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

It pays to do your Trip Advisor restaurant research before travelling to Asia, I listed all the restaurants in each place we would be staying, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam. We ate in all 11 restaurants I had listed, all except 1 was exceptional, at the top was Cuc Gach Quan 10 Dang Tat District 1. We were staying at the Caravelle in Ho Chi Minh and even the food and beverage manager there said that it was his favorite restaurant. It didn't disappoint, we had vegetable spring rolls followed by fried Sea Bass covered with a passionfruit sauce. Fried rice with shrimp and egg topped it off. The service was attentive and the beer cold. We ate at the old house which arriving in the dark can be a little off-putting. I wish we had this restaurant back in Melbourne, it is also cheap. We would rightly give this little restaurant top marks for excellence.
Russell and Kerryn Barnes Australia

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We ordered 7 different dishes for dinner - caramel fish, eggrolls, fried tofu,dish that has meat and wrap in some sort of herbs, chicken, pork wrapped in rice paper, and a veggie dish. I have the picture of all the food together but forgot all of the names. The food was very good. The decor is unique. Make sure you check out the upstairs. It has a 4 poster bed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious Vietnamese”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Huge menu with a very do it your way style. Cool ambience. Good service. Best to do family style. Be forewarned, no forks and knives and limited boneless chicken options. Family style is ideal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sbatchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good place good food”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

pretty trendy setup for Vietnam and good food too. lots of locals dining. Menu a bit overwhelming as you can mix and match what you order,so the waiter helped us order and that was very good , a few things we would not have tried .
food was good local Vietnamese. only compliant would be that the food all came out really fast, all in one hit , which did seem a bit strange, as just was too much all at once

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gelvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuc Gach Quan also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Cuc Gach Quan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing