We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet room, without windows...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Family Inn Saigon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Family Inn Saigon
Ranked #33 of 768 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quiet room, without windows...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here at the end of a two week tour in Vietnam.

Steps leading up to the entrance made getting in slightly more challenging to get in, and the lift was very small, so getting up and down floors at busy times was frustrating.

That said, the rooms were nice, beds comfortable, good sized bathrooms with good showers plus bath and nice products. The type of rooms most of our group were all windowless. That does guarantee a lack of noise from the street, but I find it disconcerting not being able to see outside, it feels like a cell and detracts from the rooms general comfort.

Breakfast was pretty nice with a good selection of western and Asian food, staff were reasonably friendly and the public areas were quite well presented.

Location wise, it wasn't too far to walk to the market area and shopping. It was almost in the area we were warned wasn't a good idea to stray into, but felt safe enough. There is a busy road at the end of the street which is a challenge to cross, but a nice park is positioned there if you wanted to find a bit of calm.

Nice enough hotel, not amazing, but would recommend if the price is right.

Room Tip: ask for a window if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank binniecambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    175
    69
    21
    10
See reviews for
62
109
50
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Location is very good for nightlife.
Rooms are big, equipped with all necessary things, comfortable beds. Furniture, bathrooms and bedlinen are a little bit tired.

Breakfast is OK and panorama is lively.
Free wifi very good over the entire hotel.

Friendly and helpfully staff.

One thing: the staff from the hotel recommended us a traditional Vietnamese restaurant, I think the same owner of the hotel. The restaurant is far away, you have to go by taxi. It is expensive and the food was not very good, especially the duck which was very tough, impossible to eat it. So, we had the most expensive and worst dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Didi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our first trip to Viet Nam and the hotel was exactly as advertised. Front office was extremely helpful answering our many questions and even made calls for us to find out the time of Catholic church services. Clean room, AC works only when the room key is inserted, but it worked perfectly. Ate dinner at hotel all three nights and excellent food. I would highly recommend this hotel. Walked to the Palace, Water Puppet Show, and War Remnants Museum. Only down side was there was only one elevator and had to wait at times. Free internet in the lobby, which was not very busy when we used it. Spa next door was good as well.

Room Tip: We were several floors up to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuRhe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel. Staff were very pleasant, and considerate, always ensured that when we stepped out our bags were secured and we were ok. Walking distance from everything. They were very helpful with taxi's. Room was clean and well air conditioned. Internet was available in the foyer however the wifi in the rooms dropped in and out constantly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deltadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Family Inn S, Guest Relations Manager at Family Inn Saigon, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with FAMILY INN SAIGON and taking thetime to share your valuable experience online.

We greatly appreciate your honest comments regarding to the hotel, its products and serivices that you have received as our guest. Your review on the site is not only make our team feel positively great,but inspire us to improve ourselves better to provide guests the most satisfactory.

We are thankful that you did have a wonderful time in Vietnam and FAMILY INN SAIGON.

As new year is coming, on behalf of the staffs, we wish a good health,happiness and success and a wonderful time with your friends and family at this holiday season.

We look forward to welcoming you again at FAMILY INN SAIGON.

Merry Xmas and Happy New Year !

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel makes a good impression from the moment you walk through the front doors. Lovely reception area, and staff that are attentive and willing to assist help your stay comfortable. It is in a great location, and walking distance to the markets. If you require a taxi, the hotel are more than happy to book a reputable taxi for you (as there are some dodgy taxis operating in Saigon). They make sure the driver knows where you want to go in order to avoid being ripped off.

The first room I was given had no window, and upon asking reception for a different room, they advised there was none available for my first night, however there was the following day. So, the following day I had my bags packed and went out for the day, and upon my return, my belongings had been moved to a lovely room (304) with a window (small, but still better than no window). Great service. This room has 2 beds, and a lovely bathroom with typical shower over bath. Good water pressure and a hairdryer which does the job.

There is a lift that services the hotel, but it is a little slow. However for the enthusiast, there is a handy stairwell next to the lift should you get tired of waiting and don't mind the exercise. Wifi is available throughout the hotel for free, however seemed to be inconsistent with service. One hour you may be able to go online, the next hour, you may not have access. There are 2 computers in the lobby for guests to use free of charge should your wifi reception not be working.

Breakfast is served on the top floor of the hotel, and offers amazing views of the city. The food was great, with ample supply of food. From noodles, rice, cereal, fresh milk, eggs (cooked fresh to your liking), fresh fruits, bread. There is enough variety to satisfy the fussy.

A great hotel, and I would most definitely stay again when in Saigon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window if you are claustrophobic, as not all rooms have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eljay24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Family Inn S, Guest Relations Manager at Family Inn Saigon, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Warmest greetings from FAMILY INN SAIGON !

It is so fantastic to see you take the time to share your experience online at FAMILY INN SAIGON. We are grateful to know that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciate your complimentary comments on the hotel's products and services.

Your review on the site is definitely valuable to us because it will help us improve our reputation online. If there was anythings makes you uncomfortable,please generously forgive us during your stay.

Once again, thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will have a great time with you family and friends back in Brisbane.

Merry Xmas and Happy New Year !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Was there from Nov 29 till Dec 2, 2012. Hotel is at a good location, clean and staff is very helpful. They even provide buffet breakfast in the morning so that the tourist need not search for local food in the early morning. Overall a good hotel to stay with family, no hanky panky

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy8618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Family Inn S, Guest Relations Manager at Family Inn Saigon, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear sir/madam,

Warmest greeting from Family Inn Saigon !

Thank your for your recent stay with us at Family Inn Saigon Hotel and taking your time to share your experience. It is good to know that in general you found a good value for money paid.

We hope that you will have a wonderful time back in Malaysia with your friends and family.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Family Inn Saigon.

Have a nice day !

With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A 3.5 star hotel with 5 star service. A massive Thank You to ALL the staff and in particular Bell Boys.. Truc..Viet...Huy & Brian in dining room. Truc in his own time googled where my husband could buy fishing reels and then again in his own free time took my husband to these shops. My husband came back very excited with his 3 reels. Room had a window facing street & I was surprised @ the lack of noise from traffic. 15min walk to War Museum, Palace, Cathedral & markets or a $2 taxi ride...Use VinaSun taxis. Breakfast was very good. No Pool & only one lift. Great view from 12th floor were u have brekky. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Make sure room has a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Family Inn S, Guest Relations Manager at Family Inn Saigon, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Sandy,

Warmest greetings from Family Inn Saigon !

It's great to see you take the time to share your valuable feedback on Family Inn Saigon Hotel. We are so delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciate your complimentary comments on the hotel's products and services.

We will definitely send your nice your to our staff especially to MR Truc, Viet, Huy and Brian as apart of their appreciation.

If your travel plans bring you back to Ho Chi Minh City in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us for a reservation, we would be happy to assist you and welcome you back to our hotel.

We hope you have a great time back in Australia with your friends and family.

With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Asian Ruby Select Hotel
Asian Ruby Select Hotel
#133 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen Ann Hotel
Queen Ann Hotel
#144 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
EdenStar Saigon Hotel
EdenStar Saigon Hotel
#48 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#96 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#131 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoang Ngan Hotel
Hoang Ngan Hotel
#176 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Inn Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Inn Saigon

Property: Family Inn Saigon
Address: 84A Bui Thi Xuan Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 768 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Family Inn Saigon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Family Inn Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Inn Saigon Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing