We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it! Stolen items!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Family Inn Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Family Inn Saigon
Ranked #41 of 822 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don't do it! Stolen items!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed at this location for 2 nights (April 23- 25) and was very dissapointed.

I had booked this hotel on Agoda after reading reasonable reviews on tripadvisor. I paid the extra money for the "better" room. Upon check-in, we were taken to a room on the 10th floor that was small and clearly not a "better" room. The furniture is very old, TV outdated, and the room had an overall unattractive appearance.
I returned to the reception desk and after a brief discussion, was told that they made a mistake and would give us the room we paid for. It was an identical room to the first one however it was slightly larger.
The hotel has only one elevator which is VERY SLOW. We waited at times for 5 + minutes for the elevator (the hotel is only 12 floors).
They still use actual metal keys as opposed to the key cards that every other hotel used during my travels in Southeast Asia.
The Breakfast was very dissapointing. We had a very hard time finding anything to eat during our stay.
The location is also disspointing. It is not close to anything. It was a 20 minute walk to the famed market.

* Upon check out, we asked the staff to store our bags for a few hours prior to heading to the airport. I then learned that they store the bags in an unsecured street level garage that they use to park motor scooters. There is no door and no one guarding it. Of course, no surprise that a $200 Kindle was stolen from the luggage while in their custody. I suppose that is the cost of doing business with subpar hotels.

Room Tip: Book Elsewhere... and do not allow them anywhere near your possessions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FollowMeThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    175
    69
    21
    10
See reviews for
62
109
50
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stuffy slow lift! They need to check cleaners go around the whole room. We found yucky spot far side of room on the floor, despite rest of room and bathroom being very clean .

Room Tip: Make sure you get a window, some do not have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

The room was clean and was the most comfortable bed I slept in in Vietnam. Excellent breakfast, and shower.

Staff were not helpful however.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank englishgirlabr0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We ended up here because the Asian Ruby 3 was booked up, so we had to change to the Family Inn Saigon for a couple of nights. It was just okay. The customer service was decent, but the majority of the staff were men, who were blase' at times. The room was not that spectacular. Most importantly, we didn't really like the location. It was a bit more difficult to find a variety of food options in comparison to where we were staying.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesbeAsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here on our first visit to Ho Chi Minh from the 2nd March 2012 till the 6th March. We cannot tell you how good this hotel is. When we arrived at the hotel the receptionwas busy we sat till they checked us in the room that we got was a huge room compared to most hotels we stayed at it was clean and fresh. Breakfast on the 12th Floor was very good a variety of food the staff are always so pleseant and smiling wanting to help you. The reception staff are always ready if you need directions or help in getting to your destination. "Viet" we did not forget your name how can we your smile and willingness to always help so courteous and respectful. We should see more of staff like this in other hotels. Keep up the good work on providing such a lovely hotel with friendly staff we will stay here again and tell family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We found this hotel well located and comfortable. What really stands out is the service we were offered when reported that our camera had been stolen by a pickpocket. An employee took my husband to the site of the incident, then to the police station to report it. They all then went back to the scene and retrieved the camera from the thief!
Our room was at the front of 11th floor. We had no problems with noise at all, but found the lift very slow.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Arrived at the Family Inn Hotel which is in an ideal central location, the Foyer area is nice and we were booked in efficiently at reception, we were given our key and taken to our room on the 5th floor, which was at the side of the hotel and doesn't really have much of a view, but that could be said of most hotels in this city and in any case it was just a base for 3 days.

The room was clean with a nice firm king size bed, there were 2 free complimentary bottles of water each day, a safe and a kettle but no coffee or tea!! The bathroom was clean and a reasonable size with a shower over the bath but every time I had a shower the floor ended up soaked due to it's layout. The one down side to the room was the air conditioning unit (this may have just been our room) which seemed quite old and noisy, we set it at 16 degrees and it still wasn't that cool at night but each night I woke with a sore throat that I didn't get at any other time on our trip.

Breakfast is served until 9.30 am on the 12th floor and is more than adequate, choice of local food, fresh fruit, yoghurt, bacon, toast, egg station, most days we were up at 8 but on our last day we only arrived at 9.15 and there wasn't as much choice, then at 9.30 on the dot we were asked to get anything else we wanted and within minutes it was cleaned away.

There is wi fi at the hotel which was intermittent in our room however each time we informed reception it was reset and worked again. There are also computers in the reception area that you can use free of charge.

The concierge staff were really lovely and helpful and when we left the hotel for the first time we were stood trying to decide which way to go to get some food. They provided us with a map and indicated to us where we were and the best areas to head to.

This is nothing to do with the hotel but watch your pockets when you are out an about. The drink sellers outside the Royal Palace tried to get us to take their photo with my husband and buy coconuts from them and then as they smiled for the camera they tried to remove his wallet from his shorts pocket. This was the only time anything like this happened but just be aware as it could have ruined the day!!

Ho Chi Minh is a really busy and vibrant city and there is so much to see and do. Even though there were a few small issues with the hotel I would return here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inneedofaholiday66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Asian Ruby Select Hotel
Asian Ruby Select Hotel
#118 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Brick Saigon Hotel
Little Brick Saigon Hotel
#125 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
#89 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel
Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel
#159 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.1 mi away
May Hotel
May Hotel
#157 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
#43 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Inn Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Inn Saigon

Property: Family Inn Saigon
Address: 84A Bui Thi Xuan Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 822 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Family Inn Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Inn Saigon Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing