We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget for location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saigon Odyssey Hotel
Ranked #84 of 914 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“budget for location.”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

if you are looking for a budget cheap location, probably this the place for you.

I find the bed a bit too hard, but still acceptable. television is a bit 'damaged', and unless you undersand Vietnamese, there is no point to switch it on.

there is only 2 rooms per floor, with a small lift (big enough for 1-2, or 3 if smaller built)

air-con, seems too weak. had to switch on the fan to feel just right... but the room will be still stuffy, for there is a window that cannot be open. probably the rooms by the road will be better, but might be noisy from the traffic.

shower area/toilet is acceptable, if you are not too picky.... just that the sink is a bit low. the height of the sink is about to my thigh.

the 'working desk' has no electrical plug, and I had to use the power socket next to the main door.

wifi is acceptable (as it is free), and is possible to do a bit of gaming - diablo 3 (playing while waiting for friends to be ready)

upon check in, the counter keep you passport for the whole duration of stay. bet it is special security to prevent stolen passport.

before you leave the room, remember to lock the door from the inside before closing the door. otherwise, there is no way you can close the door (not even trying to lock the door using the key from the outside).

The hotel offers breakfast, which I did not try, as the 'dining' area feels too small and cramp (it is actually at the lobby) to 'enjoy' the food, but anyway, there are quite a lot of restaurants/café near the hotel for your meals. me and friends also did not ask for our welcome drinks, as most probably we will be standing around the small lobby drinking the stuff.... or sit by the steps outside the hotel.

main plus point to me is just the hotel location (and the rates offering)

the hotel also helps arrange for places of interest (for visit) etc.... if interested... but there is a lot other places around the hotel also do the same thing..... not sure of the rates and stuff, but personally think, hotel arrangements should have more 'security' etc.....

Room Tip: if you do not mind the (possible) traffic noise, try take the rooms by the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bioproeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    63
    34
    13
    17
See reviews for
16
46
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kunming, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We visited Ho Chi Minh city on January 2014, and stayed for three nightss at Saigon Sports 1 Hotel. I ranked this hotel room for average, however it provides good service including good breakfast, package vietnam tour (Saigon and other cities).It localed near Pham Ngu Lao Street with a lot of restaurants and night club. it also near to main scenic spots of Ho Chi Mich such as Reunification Palace, Central Post Office, Notre-Dame Cathedral etc. the Manager Ms Jenny Pham is kind to us (three families) and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kangsun2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Overall is good, but the wifi inside the room is not strong.Hopefully even though at peak season, the wifi system still can work very well . As a traveller, this hotel is good enough to stay . The staffs are very nice, helpful, honest and sincere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 387lfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel is the backpacker area of HCMC. Room size average, tiny balcony onto the busy street. Fridge, TV, in-room safe, A/c and fan. Great shower. Good clean budget hotel. Tour desk in the lobby manned by Jenny who was ever helpful and with good English. Her tours where reasonably priced. Surrounded by street food stalls, cheap beer outlets and more expensive restaurants. Something for everyone.
Word of warning: If you want photos printed do not use the Camera Centre at No 74 (same street as hotel). We were overcharged exorbitantly and had to wait 2.5 hrs for our prints which were promised in 1 hr not to mention an almost hysterical sales assistant who refused to refund our money after waiting for so long. There is a better printer shop around the corner at 8A Tran Hung Dao.

Room Tip: one on the higher floors may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 29OAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny P, Director of Sales at Saigon Odyssey Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Sir & Madame,

Thank you very much for your valued time to write a lovely comment for us.
We will continue to keep up our good services to contribute the tourists enjoyable trip.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

And we hope you have good trip in Mekong Delta.

Kindly regards,

Ms Jenny Pham & Saigon Sports 1 Hotel Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a perfect spot in the heart of the backpacker district. This does mean that it is quite busy and loud outside but dont let that deter you.
We got a nice refreshing welcoming drink on arrival and the girl at reception had very good english. There is also a desk to help sort out tours which we made good use out of!
Only one thing to keep in mind, the safe in our room did not work and although at first we were told it would be fixed, we were later informed that it was never going to be fixed. We were able to keep our belongings in the reception safe but one evening we found our belongings never quite made it to the safe and were still on the desk when we returned home!!
Make sure you get a room with a working safe!!!!!

all perfect otherwise and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmeloord, Flevoland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

When arriving in the crazy HCM city we got dropped off right in front of this hotel. The staff was very friendly and showed us the different options for the rooms. We chose the cheapest one which was still nice. Nothing flash but for that price in the middle of the city was great. Good airco, tv, clean rooms and very central. And the best thing about this hotel was the staff!!! They were very helpful and just really friendly. We booked a few tours through them and talking to other travellers found out we always got a good deal. Just really helpful people, and we would go and stay here again if we would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yfke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and after arriving from a night bus at 7am, they kindly let us stay check in at 8am even though official check in isn't until the afternoon. Staff were friendly and always said hello and asked how our day was etc. Rooms were ok and we even had a balcony which was nice, the only issue we found were there were a lot of tiny ants in the room, we are used this having travelled Asia for 2 month but there seemed to me more than usual all over. The location was good, on a busy street with lots of restaurants and bars on the street. Overall we would consider staying there again however there are probably cheaper places near by.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom_and_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny P, Director of Sales at Saigon Odyssey Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mr/Ms Dom & Jane,

We would like to thank you for your staying with us and share your experience during your stay with us. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the location.

About your comment we will improve our service and facilities to be worthy with your believe. When you come back to Saigon Sports Hotel in the near future, we make sure that our service will be satisfied with you.

Once more time, thank you so much for taking valuable time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Saigon Europe Hotel
Saigon Europe Hotel
#97 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
#154 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Sunny Hotel
New Sunny Hotel
#24 of 914 in Ho Chi Minh City
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Giang Son 3 Hotel
Giang Son 3 Hotel
#18 of 914 in Ho Chi Minh City
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mai Guest House
Mai Guest House
#31 of 914 in Ho Chi Minh City
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pink Tulip Hotel
Pink Tulip Hotel
#14 of 914 in Ho Chi Minh City
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Odyssey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Odyssey Hotel

Property: Saigon Odyssey Hotel
Address: 38 Bui Vien | Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam (Formerly Saigon Sports Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 914 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saigon Odyssey Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saigon Odyssey Hotel (Old name is Saigon Sports Hotel, located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, right in the central of the commercial and tourist area only a few minutes walk to Ben Thanh Market and overlook the spacious City Park.Further more, the guests will find famous Shopping, Entertainment, Restaurant, Bar, Tour Company on our step door.- Our friendly staff can assist you with any enquiries, from transport to sight-seeing.- We always do the best to satisfy guests .- We can not claim success with out your satisfaction. At the end of the day you can take a short stroll to many local nightspots. Tell us your plan we will help you with best services! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Saigon Odyssey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing