We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mekong cycle - amazing time!”

SinhBalo Adventure Travel
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Mekong Delta Cycling Trip Including Cai Be
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Cu Chi Tunnels Tour - a journey to fierce battlefield in the Vietnam war
More Info
$88.00*
and up
Mekong Delta Tour Including Cai Be Floating Markets from Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #51 of 382 Tours in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get out of the city to discover the Mekong Delta on a bicycle tour.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mekong cycle - amazing time!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We booked the two day Cat Tien trek followed by the four day Mekong cycle tour ending in Ha Tien. We paid a little extra in order to choose the 'luxury' hotels. Everything about the experience was excellent. Replies to emails during the booking process were prompt and helpful. The tours were amazing - our guide, Ut, was so friendly, knowledgable and helpful. He is also an excellent cyclist. Our driver, Kiet, was quietly efficient - always providing us with water and assisting us with the bikes.
The cycling tour is a great mix of cycling and activities including visits to local plantations (rice, fruit etc), religious sites, minority communities, a crocodile farm, a fish farm, a frog farm, the floating market, boat trips, and manufacturers including candy and brick etc. The amount of cycling can vary depending on ability but we cycled about 30-60km each day. Most of the cycling is through local communities and it is amazing to see how the locals live - they are all so friendly. Our guide gave us insightful bits of history along the way. The bikes are of a good quality. The 'luxury' hotels were decent but please don't expect them to be western luxury.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    33
    11
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2-day trekking Cat Tien National Park”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked a two-day trip to Cat Tien National Park with Sinhbalo Travel, trip SBL15A.

The trip was a great success! We made two treks through the jungle. The giant trees are truly magnificent. The most impressive to me was the sound and the smell of the jungle. Don't expect to see lots of wildlife though. We heard, but did not see, monkeys. During the night safari on a truck we saw deer and gaurs.

The treks are not extremely physically demanding, but please be prepared for leeches and other insects. You are provided with long socks and leech repellent, but it would be advisable to bring some more repellent of your own.

The overnight accommodation is very basic - as advised in advance. It was reasonably clean, and equipped with mosquito net and air-conditioning.

The trip to and from Ho Chi Minh City is painfully slow, 5-6 hours, but beautiful.

Our guide was very professional. The only point for improvement would be communication in advance to set expectations for the trip. For example, we had to cross a couple of rivers (shoes off...) and did not return from one trek before dust. Some surprises there, although the on-the-spot discovery of every next step of the trip had its charm.

Overall, this trip may not be a default choice for every Vietnam traveller, it is certainly a great adventure to experience the jungle from up close.

Helpful?
Thank AnneW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent service - excellent guide/driver”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked two tours with Sinhbalo having been "let down" financially by another travel company in Vietnam who took our money but did not deliver the tour. We were understandably worried about paying another depost but we were soon put at ease by the excellent communication and reassuring arrangements made for us. We chose the Cu Chi Tunnels and City Tour on one day and the cycling in the Mekong Delta the next day.

Nigh, our guide, was extremely informative and offered so much first hand information about the tunnels it was captivating to listen to him and his enthusiasm was evident when showing us around Cu Chi and the city tour. We were not rushed, we felt very much at ease and very relaxed with the itinerary. We felt so fortunate to have him as our Guide.

The next day we went cycling in Mekong Delta and it was lovely to get away from the hustle and bustle of Saigon. The tour was at relaxed pace cycling through villages and paddy fields and taking a boat to a home stay location for an excellent lunch where the hosts went of their way to provide a first class lunch. We even had the opportunity to chill out in a hammock before more cycling, again at a very relaxed pace.

If you fancy getting away from the crowds of Saigon and you want a reliable company, I would recommend Sinhbalo.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, very professional company, highly recommended.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We took the 3 day tour of the Mekong finishing in Phnom Phen. I was traveling with my mother and our tour guide 'ngih' was amazing. He was very attentive to my mothers needs (e.g organizing a motor bike for walks in the heat of the day). The accommodation organized was very nice too. Our guide was very informative, his English was great and we felt he was genuinely interested in our well-being. I thought the trip was excellent value and I would highly reccomend to other travelers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank hayley58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good choice!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We did the 3 days/2 nights Mekong delta tour and went on to Cambodia. Saw the same offer on the street much cheaper, but those had groups of 25 people. We got the private tour. Our our guide was very nice. His name pronounces like "knee". He brought us to spots which were away from the main tourist spots. He is recommendable. It was a good choice, no doubt!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hansi1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SinhBalo Adventure Travel also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to SinhBalo Adventure Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing