We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngoc Thao Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 986 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at this guesthouse for nearly a month while I looked for my own place. The staff were fantastic, very accomodating to my needs. The room was cleaned everyday and any directions I needed to navigate the city or organisation of transport, they were on hand to help. They also give useful insight into the city of scams to be wary of and how to be safe (priceless knowledge). The location is great Bui Vien (bar street) is a 2 minute walk away but more than enough distance that the hotel is quiet at night. They have both private rooms and dorm style rooms to suit your individual travel needs.

Thanks for the stay Paddy and Kaity

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 427 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a very basic place but in a great location and with super friendly staff. I arranged an airport pickup and someone from the hotel was there to meet the driver at the end of the alleyway and walk to me to the hotel, help with my bags etc. I also got a full overview of the city and recommended places to see and do. No not expect luxury by any means but if you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay in the backpackers area of HCMC, this will fit the bill. As the hotel staff will remind you, do be beware of pickpockets in the area around the hotel (and city in general).

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank JoshCanada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent location. It's close to restaurants, cafes and bars. The owners are welcoming and they are ready to help you out with any of your problems and worries. Whatever you need, they try their best to meet it! It is really good!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weijie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in this hostel for 2 nights. The bedrooms were basic but good for the price. They were clean, no issues with noise (as I know happened to other tourists in the area). It is also very central with a vast choice of bars and restaurants within 1/2 minutes walking distance. Definitely recommend staying here, and would do so myself if I was in the area again. They even allowed us have a shower in the evening before we got a night bus and after us having checked out that morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macmahod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The owners are so welcoming that they make a difference when staying at this place.
Everything is very clean and tidy.
New showers, good pressure, hair dryer. But the best part is that it is really cheap and you are in an alley so everytime you walk around there is so much to see, besides you can get the best fruitshakes and wonderful bread and all this is very close.
Quality of sleep is very good. Beds are comfortable, but then again i sleep anywhere.
Not much noise outside.
Great location, laundry on premises, little english spoken but they try really hard to please their guests and that is enough for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This location is tough to beat... close to food, hot spits, etc. Dorm rooms are well equipped and cool balconies w/bathrooms. Staff friendly and well-organized. Requiring a deposit for towels is kind of cumbersome. Bunk beds were squeeky which made sleeping a bit tough at times. Overall recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thGrassyKnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a mixed 8-bedroom dorm on the top floor. Very basic room. Tiny cubicle washrooms with showers and toilet combined and balcony - it was clean enough but still a bit gross, as people left their dirty socks and used soap lying around. Water pressure wasn't great. People coming and going at night were noisy. Location is good, with several sites accessible by walking and plenty of restaurants in the area. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Fast internet. A bath towel is available for a $3 refundable deposit, which is nice. Room has free lockers which will fit a schoolbag/mid-sized backpack. Honestly if there are at least two of you, you probably wouldn't save much by staying here since it was about $8 a night for a somewhat grungy place. Not sure if I would stay here again, but then again I didn't see the more private rooms.

Room Tip: Top floor dorm room has a balcony, but that means you'll be with smokers, most likely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#102 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#4 of 986 in Ho Chi Minh City
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Inn Hotel
Saigon Inn Hotel
#3 of 986 in Ho Chi Minh City
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SAIGON B&B HOSTEL
SAIGON B&B HOSTEL
#18 of 986 in Ho Chi Minh City
22 reviews
0 mi away
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
#2 of 986 in Ho Chi Minh City
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 731 in Ho Chi Minh City
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoc Thao Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Thao Guesthouse

Address: 4 241, PhamNguLao.st, PhamNguLao.Ward | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 986 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $12 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NGOCTHAO Guesthouse was opened in Nowember 2006. It is friendly, bright, clean and hospitable family run.Located in a quiet alley off Pham Ngu Lao street, in the heart of Backpacker area in District 1.We have different kinds of room according to your budget. Every room has air conditioning, ceiling fan, double bed and cable TV with more than 70 channels. Most of the room have a fridge. Our rooms are cleaned and fresh towels is provided daily.Breakfast is included in the price bettwen 6:30 and 10:00 daily. In addition we provide free internet and WiFi in every room is also provided fast internet with cable personal computer.Besides, we're ready to provide many services such as pick up and drop off at the airport by taxi, information about the city and tour, money exchange, laundry, baggage store.Pick up service!Tours desk!We are looking forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ngoc Thao Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngoc Thao Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing