We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ngoc Thao Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Felix Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elios Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Spring House Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Dragon Palace II Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saigon Smile Hostel(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Vien Dong Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 211(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
Ocean Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ngoc Minh Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveler rating
252
131
38
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
131
38
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dorma private double roomfree breakfastair conmeet other travellersnight buscu chi tunnels and mekong deltasmall alleyrooms are cleanstayed here for nightsbanana pancakescommon roombackpacker areacheap pricephnom penhpolice stationquiet at night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 438 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The guesthouse is situated on a good spot (a nice little alley) from which you can discover the city. The family who runs it is very very helpful and speaks very well English. The rooms are very clean and the beds are great! There is ac and a fan. In the lobby three computers with fast internet. We stayed three nights here and I would recommend it everyone going HCMC!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a 4 bed dorm. Owner is very friendly and helpful. Room was a bit warm, think aircon was not really working and there was plaster leaking from the 5th floor into room 403 which landed straight on my bed.
Other than that I had a very good stay here. Met loads of friendly travelers.
The communal area is small but good enough for a quick chat. Very close to all the nice bars etc. And still very quiet at night.
Can recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid 403-2b, leaking above the bed, try to take a low level floor since there is no lift
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdewildt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This guesthouse is one of the best guesthouses I stayed in during my 3 month trip.
The rooms were clean and smelled fresh every day. No complaints about that, but I think there are more guesthouses that provide good rooms.
What made the difference for me was the very pleasant "common area" where you could hang out. There are 3 computers with internet free to use. There is tea/coffee/chocolate milk which you can drink.
And above all the very friendly and good-english speaking staff makes you really feel home.
They are very helpful and can provide you with information on almost everything.
Next time I will definitely come back here!
They are pretty full most of the time, so it pays to make a reservation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very well run hostel in a great location. Friendly, informative staff, happy to assist you above and beyond normal expectations. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bus from Mui Ne/Nha Trang drops you off 50m from the hostel.

Free tea, coffee and drinking water. Good internet. 24 hour reception.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Walking to the guesthouse, i wanted to not go on. Felt i had made a mistake booking here.
Luckily once you settle in, its a great place.
The alley also does not seem so dodgy after all :)

I stayed in a AC single room and was happy overall.

The tour they booked for Chi Chi tunnels was fabulous. Our guide was a hoot.
I know there are soo many options to choose from while you are there and I was so glad i chose this.

Couple of things preventing me from giving it a 5 star rating

1. Very small common area. Not great to meet other solo travellers like me.
2. No breakfast. Paid or otherwise.
3. have to keep shoes outside the lobby, almost on the street. Hate it when they stack up shoes at night, and dirtying my shoe with other soles staked on mine. I'm not OCD but like my shoes clean , as i left them.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank sohil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews