We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Bubble of Calm in an otherwise bustling District”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngoc Thao Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a fantastic time! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, while always giving you the best price possible (In one tour we paid a whole $10 less). Rooms are cleaned everyday and are nice a quiet while being very close to the nightlife if that's what your after. Thanks guys and good luck for the new addition to the family!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tupachik99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 424 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed in a 4 person dorm room and felt the rooms were aged, bathrooms not particularly clean. The first floor common space was a nice location to meet other travelers. Free wi-fi and 3 computers available, no fee. The guesthouse is located in the main neighborhood of other guest houses and there was nothing particularly special about this place. It is close to main attractions, like the market and walking distance to the War Museum. They did provide a airport pick up service (for $10-12? USD), which was greatly appreciated since I arrived on a very late flight. The driver met me with a sign at the luggage pick up, even though my flight had been delayed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lianelau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

And this may be one of the most relaxing, clean hostels I've stayed at. There are great hot showers and the staff is SUPER friendly.

Thanks Ngoc Thao Guesthouse for offering such a lovely, clean, and relaxing place tor rest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Nice guesthouse with friendly stuff. Bathroom in in the room. Free wifi available even on 4th floor.
10min walk to bus station and market/rondell.
Room is cleaned very day. Lots of bars and restaurants around.
Cheap basic hostel. We enjoyed the stay in a twin room.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Picmasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

By far the best place for backpackers. Friendly and family-like atmosphere.

Service: Staff very helpful, advise you for everything that you need (Tours, flights, City, People...)

Value: Great value for so good Guesthouse

Location: Very close to Ben Thanh Market, 23 September Park, Restaurants, Night Life, in center of district 1.

Rooms: Very Good (Light,comfortable, cleanliness, space, atmosphere, toilet, noise and beads).

Free Water, breakfast, TV, DVDs (movies, series, documentaries) and outside space

Most recommended Guest House in Ho Chi Ming

Artur Rocha
November 2012
Portugal

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I flew into Vietnam and the Guest House arranged for me to be picked up all ran smoothly and I arrived in the bustling heart of Ho Chi Minh to this little santuary.
I booked a double room which was clean and comfortable and had a tv and mini bar which was very reasonably priced.

The staff were so friendly and gave me tips about the whole city along with helping me book my forward travel with no pressure to book. I will stay here again at the end of my trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulu1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A family-run guesthouse in the heart of HCM Citys Backpacker-Area District 1. The biggest plus is the ground floor area where you usually always meet someone since it offers plenty space, computers to use, coffee & tea and a TV showing Movies or National Geographic documentations.

Pros:
- My Dorm in the 5th floor (503) has a really nice balcony and two showers (many hostels just offer 1 shower)
- They offer drinking water, tea & coffee in the living room
- They have a pretty reliable wireless on all floors of the guesthouse
- They offer laundry services for 1 USD / Kilogram

Cons:
- They charge for cleaning/washing the towel
- The handrail of the beds the dorm (503) may need to be fixed very soon. I dont know it that accounts just for the room I stayed in or maybe other rooms too

It is a little less comfortable than Pha Anh Backpackers (not far away from the guesthouse) but offer a more family-like atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#96 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
814 reviews
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#47 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#4 of 960 in Ho Chi Minh City
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saigon Inn Hotel
Saigon Inn Hotel
#3 of 960 in Ho Chi Minh City
268 reviews
0 mi away
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
#2 of 960 in Ho Chi Minh City
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
SAIGON B&B HOSTEL
SAIGON B&B HOSTEL
#21 of 960 in Ho Chi Minh City
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoc Thao Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Thao Guesthouse

Address: 4 241, PhamNguLao.st, PhamNguLao.Ward | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 960 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $12 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NGOCTHAO Guesthouse was opened in Nowember 2006. It is friendly, bright, clean and hospitable family run.Located in a quiet alley off Pham Ngu Lao street, in the heart of Backpacker area in District 1.We have different kinds of room according to your budget. Every room has air conditioning, ceiling fan, double bed and cable TV with more than 70 channels. Most of the room have a fridge. Our rooms are cleaned and fresh towels is provided daily.Breakfast is included in the price bettwen 6:30 and 10:00 daily. In addition we provide free internet and WiFi in every room is also provided fast internet with cable personal computer.Besides, we're ready to provide many services such as pick up and drop off at the airport by taxi, information about the city and tour, money exchange, laundry, baggage store.Pick up service!Tours desk!We are looking forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ngoc Thao Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngoc Thao Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing