We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap & Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngoc Thao Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 835 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Clean, value for money accommodation. It's a hostel so don't expect too much. We stayed in a Basic Double room with ensuite. The bed was comfortable we had a bar fridge, TV, ceiling fan and air conditioning. We were given clean towels every day. The family running it were very friendly and helpful. Drinks were as cheap as could be bought elsewhere. Changing money there was safe and convenient and at the same rate as the banks. Breakfast was cooked fresh with a choice of 4 egg dishes including pancakes. Wi Fi worked fine. We also stayed at 5 star hotels on our travels but this was fun . We would stay there again.

Room Tip: The laneway was a fantastic insight into the real Vietnam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    123
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
16
90
128
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The hostel is clean and comfortable (including comfortable beds) with a lounge area, all the guidebooks you need, a friendly and helpful staff that speaks English and can help book tours, free coffee and cheap water/beer, free breakfast, and wifi in the rooms as well as free internet stations in the lounge. I would recommend the airport pickup, as it can be a little difficult to find the place initially, but there is plenty going on in the area. The hostel will provide you with a free area map upon arrival. They were very helpful and seem honest. I had laundry done ($1/kilo) and they allowed me to store bags after checkout and offered me the use of the showers and towels free later in the day after I checked out. The rooms have nice balconies and outdoor bathrooms. The shower and bathroom are one, as you might expect around these parts, but the water is hot and everything seemed to be working and in good repair. AC wasn't too powerful but with fans it was cold in the rooms. Comforters are provided, which I liked. Rates were reasonable ($9/night for a dorm) and it is easy to meet people here. I would come again. Protip, if this is your first stopping off point in Vietnam, no need to buy a guidebook. The street vendors sell pirated versions of all the big name guides like Lonely Planet for all Asian countries (suprisingly high quality) for around $4 U.S.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

The location of this hotel is great - down a narrow lane away from the busy road. If fact this way my highlight of our stay in Saigon. Forget the museums and busy main streets. Get lost in the narrow lanes - which at first seem intimidating - but in reality you are far less likely to be hastled and can see a bit more of the authentic way of life in the city. For a great meal go out of the hotel turn right and stop at the ladies stall opposite DIEP ANH ($1). Whilst here you can watch all maner of crazy sights go by.

As for the hotel it was clean, comfortable and very quiet. The bathroom had a warm shower with good pressure. The room had aircon and a ceiling fan. It is basic, but for the price I thought it was very reasonable.

It seems to be run by teenagers (or young adults at best), so dont expect exuberant pleasantries, but actually they were very helpful, booking trips to the mekong, train tickets, and they were very honest. The "lobby" seems to double up as their living room, but it was actually quite nice hanging out with the family.

If your arriving on the bus from Phnom pehn, it stops very close by.

All in all, this is a good choice for saigon and therefore I shall give it excellent considering the price.
There is wifi and 2 computers with webcams to use.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dialallama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Run by a family, this guesthouse exceeded my expectations. This was the first time staying in a guesthouse, and I loved it! I stayed in a 5-person private room. It had 2 bunk beds, and a thin mattress was brought in for the 5th person.

Bathroom was clean -- bring your own shampoo / toiletries, as these are not included.

Free breakfast in the morning -- tasty.

Joined the tours offered by the guesthouse -- convenient.

The owners were very nice, and picked us up from the airport, and kept in contact with us over the phone to ensure we properly met him. He also helped us purchase our Mekong Express bus tickets, for our ride into Siem Riep, Cambodia.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFOHKG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the guesthouse and found the staff to be extremely helpful. Our room was basic but very clean, great breakfast included. Perfect location for seeing the city, any tours booked were picked up directly from the hotel. The airport pickup was convenient although a little over priced.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

This was my 2nd guesthouse during my trip to Saigon. Spent 3 nights there.
Room was definitely smaller than my previous one, but had plenty rooms to choose from.

Good to bring your own shampoo & shower foam over, as it wasn't provided. Not sure if they are supposed to, but staying for such a good price I wouldn't complain. Free breakfast everyday, with a menu to choose from! Will tidy up your room everyday too.

Can arrange for them to pick you up from airport, or even to airport. Be sure to let the locals handle the price for you, otherwise you will get scammed. Typically shouldn't cost more than USD$10 per trip.

Overall was good experience, you can even get a chance to mingle with fellow travelers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arrontan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed in here in Feb 2011 and we very happy with our stay. The location is central and easy to get to District 1 and we actually found some great shopping on Bui Vien. Although as a lot of reviews point out, it is down a small dark alley way (we found it cool), with the noise on the main streets, I don’t know why you would want to sleep overlooking it.

When you arrive the reception area feels more like a family’s living room open onto the street, but you will find the rooms are just what you would expect - clean, tidy, and just enough room. The family that does run it is very friendly and helpful. The only things we felt could be improved were to have safes in the rooms would be nice for passports and stuff and they had the keys to each room hung in the reception room while you were out (where any guest could take them). I would have preferred if the staff controlled these and not a self serve. But we still had a pleasant stay and didn’t have any issues. So overall, good experience and we would stay there again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Balconies are tiny, but let you look down on alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#32 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#3 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saigon Inn Hotel
Saigon Inn Hotel
#6 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
#2 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 519 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoc Thao Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Thao Guesthouse

Property: Ngoc Thao Guesthouse
Address: 4 241, PhamNguLao.st, PhamNguLao.Ward | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 835 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NGOCTHAO Guesthouse was opened in Nowember 2006. It is friendly, bright, clean and hospitable family run.Located in a quiet alley off Pham Ngu Lao street, in the heart of Backpacker area in District 1.We have different kinds of room according to your budget. Every room has air conditioning, ceiling fan, double bed and cable TV with more than 70 channels. Most of the room have a fridge. Our rooms are cleaned and fresh towels is provided daily.Breakfast is included in the price bettwen 6:30 and 10:00 daily. In addition we provide free internet and WiFi in every room is also provided fast internet with cable personal computer.Besides, we're ready to provide many services such as pick up and drop off at the airport by taxi, information about the city and tour, money exchange, laundry, baggage store.Pick up service!Tours desk!We are looking forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ngoc Thao Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngoc Thao Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing