We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star in every aspect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Star in every aspect!”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Fantastic location, spotlessly clean and well equipped rooms and very well priced. However, the best thing about here is Vy and her parents, and the joy and pride they take in ensuring you have the best possible stay.
Gave us some great recommendations for restaurants, and things to see and do in the city, and also helped us move (physically) to a guesthouse around the corner when we wanted to stay longer but they were fully booked!

Would recommend to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    100
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
287
93
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulverstone, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Vy made us feel incredibly welcome (at 5am) There was some dragonfruit waiting in the room for us which we didn't have to wait until midday for and she recommended fabulous near by restaurants and a good travel agent who helped us map our journey even though we did not book a thing with her (we travelledd by motobike from HCM to Hanoi and back)

The rooms are imaculately clean and tidy, set back from the main roads so there was no traffic noise.

My parents stayed recently and nothing has changed still the most welcoming "home" in HCM!

Room Tip: we stayed in 2 room types both were lovely. so assume any would be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ches81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I share the sentiments of the other reviewers in saying this hostel is exceptional value for money! It is clean and modern, though you are asked to remove your shoes on entry. The location is in the alleyway but if you take the usual precautions when you travel, I think it's fine for anyone. It is a turn into the alleyway then another turn to your left.
Ms Vy spoke great English and provided a map with attractions. She also made me an iced coffee when I left the hostel. I did not receive a welcome drink when I arrived, as indicated in earlier reviews, but it's so cheap you just go to Pham Ngu Lao for everything you could need. The hostel is locked around 10:30pm, but if you ring the bell, her mum or dad came to the front. I liked this from a security perspective.
I did find when the laundry came back, that the clothes were quite heavily creased and had fluff on them, perhaps when mixed with towels or whites? However for $1 a kilogram it's still a good deal.
Note there are plenty of ATM's around and I found them safe to use for accessing money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italia1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Chez Vy Khanh Gusethouse is one of the best of many guesthouses in the Pham Ngu Lao backpacker area of Saigon. The rooms are clean and comfortable and a good value. Ms. Vy is a great hostess and looked after my Mom while she was visiting. They are very informative, supplying us with city maps showing the highlights of Saigon with the best restaurants and local tour companies.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samoa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We arranged for airport pickup which was prompt and without problem. I had read that the hotel was a bit hard to find the first time (Very true) as it is located in a little alley (way too narrow for a car to drive down) behind the Elios hotel. It is family run and very clean. Air conditioning was perfect, no problem with Wi Fi and TV had many channels with English. The rooms were quiet because you are not on a street. The location is perfect, right in the middle of the tourist area. The owner is very friendly with great English. She gave us a wonderful map with all of the popular attracts clearly marked. It was only a few minutes walk to the market and easy access to the bus station to get around Saigon. We booked our 2 day tour through the hotel. The owner was very upfront about which tour was more popular with travelers and we were happy with her recommendations. Very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whataryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was our first hotel in Vietnam and what a gem,we were delayed for one day in Doha thanks to Qatar Airways but we still got free airport pick up (there was an offer on,stay two days or more and you get free airport pick up) and we were ok for the additional day at no extra cost,it's a decent cheap hotel in the heart of the action.We booked Halong Bay from the hotel,it's a lottery whether you get a good boat or bad,we left our baga there while we went on the trip,we then shipped out to Nihn Bhin again arranged by the hotel,all went to plan with no problems,great pavement food outside the hotel.

Room Tip: On a buget but worried it's a bit to cheap to be good,don't worry you will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim-on-the-run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

A great little family run place, where you are looked after and helped every step of the way. It is split across two sides of an alleyway - you will need help first time to find it, but they are very efficient in picking you up from the airport at a good price, or meeting you from any number of nearby drop off points. It is in the heart of the backpacker/hotel district, and a short walk away from most of the key sites.

They have plenty of tours, packages and so on, but will only offer advice on these when asked for them. Otherwise, other than being very friendly and helpful, they leave you to enjoy your holiday.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoumoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vykhanhhotel, Owner at Vy Khanh Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Our Guests,

Thank you for your comment.
We love to see you again.

Warm regards from Vy Khanh Guesthouse,
Ms Vy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#30 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,559 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,592 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#37 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vy Khanh Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vy Khanh Guesthouse

Property: Vy Khanh Guesthouse
Address: 241/11/6 Pham Ngu Lao street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's located (safe place)at pack backer's area (district 1) walking distance to all activities,( walking 7 minutes to Ben Thanh market), near bank, park,museums, zoo, coffee shops yet it's quiet enough since it situated in an alley. All rooms are equipped with air conditioners, portable fan, private bath with heated water, mini fridge, cable TV, wifi internet (free). Friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere, and home stay at a reasonable price. You will be comfortable and safe staying at our place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vy Khanh Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vy Khanh Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing